Contents
Introductory information about rare and endangered plants can be found in these resources:
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity. Botany Library QH 41.15
.B56 E53 2001
Look for the entry, "Endangered Plants," which includes an extensive bibliography.
Endangered Species: Opposing Viewpoints. Botany Library
QH 75. E66 2001
This book is a compilation of short articles discussing diverse opinions
about issues surrounding endangered species. It includes a list of
organizations to contact and a useful bibliography.
Massey, Jim. An Atlas and Illustrated Guide to the Threatened and
Endangered Vascular Plants of the Mountains of NC and VA. Botany
Library Ref QK86 .N8 A84 1983
This is a great resource to find basic information about a rare or endangered
plant found in the mountains of Virginia and North Carolina. Each entry provides
detailed description, a bibliography, illustrations of the plant, and distribution
maps. The atlas includes a glossary of technical terms.
ISI Citation Databases (Web of Science)
This database makes the Science Citation Index Expanded available. It can be
searched using a number of different techniques. Among them are the Cited
Reference Search in which you can trace scholarly citations through
searching an article's bibliography. Keyword, author, and title
searches are also possible.
BIOSIS Previews
Can't find what you are looking for in BasicBIOSIS? Try looking here, the
full version of the BIOSIS database. This is useful for graduate level
and research study.
NatureServe Explorer
This database is available through the NatureServe website (see below). NatureServe
Explorer provides information about more than 65,000 plants, animals, and
ecosystems.
NatureServe
"A network connecting Science with Conservation." This website provides links
to natural heritage programs in all fifty states, most Canadian provinces,
several Latin American countries, the NatureServe Explorer database (see above),
and much more.
US Fish and Wildlife Service
Endangered Species Program
Official website for the Endangered Species Program in the United States.
Here you can find information on endangered species currently in the news,
the list of Threatened and Endangered Species, and more.
Center for Plant Conservation
This organization promotes
conserving rare native plants of the United States. The National Collection
of Endangered Plants (a collection of cuttings, seeds, and other plant
materials) is maintained by the Center for Plant Conservation. Information
about over 600 plants that compose this collection is available on this website.
North Carolina Natural Heritage
Program
On this website, you can find GIS information
pertinent to the study of endangered and rare plants, information about
species, and access to the Natural Heritage Program's free online publications.
Endangered Species Bulletin
This journal is distributed by the US Fish and Wildlife Service and is
available online, 1997–present. Its full run is available in print in
the Botany Library and is indexed in Energy
Information Abstracts and Environment
Abstracts.
Endangered Species Update
This journal is also distributed by the US Fish and Wildlife Service and is
available online 1992–present (the Botany Library print holdings go
back to 1987). It publishes longer, more scholarly articles than Endangered Species Bulletin, and includes
the Endangered Species Technical Bulletin
.
Natural Heritage Program List of the Rare Plant Species of North
Carolina.
This book lists North Carolina rare plant species. The most current edition
can be found online through the North Carolina Natural Heritage Program
website in pdf format. Other editions of this book are available in the
Botany Library Office (Call numbers are in the QK86.U6 N39's by year).
Flora of North America.
This online book is a list of vascular plants and mosses in
North America. Information on the characteristics, relationships,
distribution, and biology of these species is included; the flora is
searchable by volume. Note: this flora is still in the process of being
compiled.
Endangered and Threatened Plants of the United States.
Botany Library QK86.U6 A93 1978
A "classic" in the literature of endangered species of the United States,
this book includes introductory material about endangered and rare plants.
Maps, information about the origins of the lists of endangered species, and a
history of the Endangered Species Act is included.
The resources listed above give a broad overview of endangered and rare plants. There are many more books, journals, online resources, and other materials available about more specialized subjects within this topic. Ways to access these resources include (but are not limited to):
- Browse the Couch Biology Library—Botany Section physically or online through the call numbers within the QK86's in the Library of Congress Classification system. To find books specifically on rare plants within the United States, browse in the QK86.U6's.
- To find more specific titles, search the online catalog for books and journals. Library of Congress Subject Headings related to endangered and rare plants include:
- Endangered Plants
- Ecological Integrity
- Environmental Responsibility
- Plant Conservation
- Plant Diversity Conservation
- Plant Reintroduction
- Rare Plants
- If you have more specific questions about this topic, there are many people available to help you on the UNC campus. Contact:
Website comments or questions: email Biology Staff
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/biology/guides/end_plants.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, November 28, 2007.
