University Libraries banner
 
Click here to skip header navigation.
Finding Information on Edible, Medicinal, Poisonous, or Injurous Plants and Mushrooms

Contents

Resources of the Southern Fields and Forests, Medical, Economical, and Agricultural. Francis Peyre Porcher, 1825-1895
Dr. Duke's Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical Databases
Guide to Medicinal and Aromatic Plants
Mrs. Grieve's Herbal
Herbmed
Native American Ethnobotany Database
Poisonous Plants

The Facts on File dictionary of botany / Stephen Blackmore, consultant editor; Elizabeth Tootill, general editor. [New York, N.Y.] : Facts on File, 1984.
Botany Section Library Ref. QK9 .F33 1984.

Human poisoning from native and cultivated plants / Hardin, James W. (James Walker. Durham, N.C., Duke University Press, 1974.
Botany Section Library QK100.N6 H3 1974

Poisonous plants of eastern North America / by Randy G. Westbrooks, James W. Preacher. Columbia, S.C.: University of South Carolina Press, c1986.
Botany Section Library QK100.U6 W47 1986 c.2

Toxic plants of North America / George E. Burrows, Ronald J. Tyrl. Author : Burrows, George E. (George Edward), 1935- Ames : Iowa State University Press, 2001.
Botany Section Library Ref QK100.N6 B87 2000

Common poisonous plants and mushrooms of North America / Nancy J. Turner and Adam F. Szczawinski. Portland, Or. : Timber Press, c1991.
Botany Section Library QK100.A1 T87 1991

Mushrooms: Poisons and panaceas: A handbook for naturalists, mycologists, and physicians / Denis R. Benjamin. New York : W. H. Freeman and Company, 1995.
Botany Section Library Ref. RA1242 .M9 B46 1995.

Toxic and hallucinogenic mushroom poisoning: A handbook for physicians and mushroom hunters / Gary Lincoff and D. H. Mitchel. New York : Van Nostrand Reinhold Company, 1977.
Botany Section Library Ref. RA1242 .M9 L56

CRC Handbook of medicinal herbs / author, James A. Duke. Duke, James A., 1929- Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press, 1985.
Botany Section Library QK99.A1 D83 1985

The cross name index to medicinal plants / Anthony R. Torkelson. Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, c1996.
Botany Section Library QK99.A1 T65 1996 v.1-4

A field guide to medicinal plants : eastern and central North America / text by Steven Foster and James A. Duke ; line drawings by Roger Tory Peterson, Jim Blackfeather Rose, and Lee Allen Peterson ; photographs by Steven Foster. Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 1990. (Peterson field guide series ; 40)
Botany Section Library QK99.U6 F68 1990

The illustrated encyclopedia of herbs : their medicinal and culinary uses / edited by Sarah Bunney from a text by Jirí Stodola and Jan Volák ; illustrated by Frantisek Severa. New York : Barnes & Noble Books, 1996, c1990.
Botany Section Library Folio QK99.A1 I458 1996

Magic and medicine of plants / Readers Digest. Pleasantville, N.Y. : Reader's Digest Association, c1986.
Botany Section Library QK99.A1 M325 1986

A modern herbal : the medicinal, culinary, cosmetic and economic properties, cultivation and folk-lore of herbs, grasses, fungi, shrubs, & trees with all their modern scientific uses / by Mrs. M. Grieve ; with an introd. by the editor, Mrs. C.F. Leyel. New York : Dover Publications, [1982]. Also available online.
Botany Section Library QK99.A1 G72 1982 v.1-2

An instant guide to edible plants : the most familiar edible wild plants of North America described and illustrated in full color / Pamela.Forey. New York : Crescent Books, [1997?]
Botany Section Library QK98.5.N67 F67 1997.

Edible wild plants of eastern North America / Merritt Lyndon Fernald and Alfred Charles Kinsey. Revised by Reed C. Rollins. New York : Harper & Row, 1958.
Botany Section Library QK98.5 .F4 1958 c. 2.

Field guide to edible wild plants / Bradford Angier. Harrisburg, PA : Stackpole Books, 1974.
Botany Section LibraryQK98.5 .A1 A53

Field guide to North American edible wild plants / by Thomas S. Elias and Peter A. Dykeman. New York : Outdoor Life Books : Distributed to the trade by V.N. Reinhold, c1982.
Botany Section Library QK98.5.U6 E44 1982 c.3

Herb Society of America New Encyclopedia of Herbs & Their Uses / by Deni Brown. London: Dorling Kindersley Ltd., 2001.
Botany Section Library SB351.H5 B6464 2001 c. 2

160 edible plants commonly found in the Eastern USA / [by Joe Freitus]. Lexington, Mass. : Stone Wall Press, [1975]
Botany Section Library QK98.5.N57 F73

Rodale's illustrated encyclopedia of herbs / Claire Kowalchil & William H. Hylton, editors ; writers, Anna Carr ... [et al.]. Emmaus, Pa. : Rodale Press, c1998.
Botany Section Library SB351.H5 R58 1998

Tanaka's Cyclopedia of edible plants of the world / by Tyôzaburô Tanaka ; edited by Sasuke Nakao. 1st ed. Tokyo : Yugaku-sha : distributed by Keigaku Pub. Co., 1976.
Botany Section Library Ref. QK98.5 .A1 T36.

The encyclopedia of edible plants of North America / Frangois Couplan ; [foreword by James A. Duke]. New Canaan, Conn. : Keats Pub., c1998.
Botany Section Library QK98.5.N57 C68 1998

 

Website comments or questions: email Biology Staff
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/biology/guides/plants.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, July 11, 2007.