University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo

Latin American and Iberian Resources (LAIR)

Latin American Cinema - Pathfinder
Bibliographies, Filmographies & Indexes

Pueblerina [pathfinder contents]

Introduction
Web Resources
LC Subject Headings
Browsing Areas
Encyclopedias & Guides
Dictionaries
Bibliographies | Filmographies | Indexes
Journals
Latin American Films at UNC-Chapel Hill

Bibliographies

Traditionally, a bibliography is a print or electronic resource that lists citations of other books (or other formats) about a certain topic or by a particular author. The citations included in a bibliography will generally consist of the title, author, dates, and publisher of the particular resource. An annotated bibliography will include comments about the resource cited. A bibliography does NOT contain full text articles.

Handbook of Latin American Studies - HLAS
electronic access

This is an essential resource for anyone doing research on any topic related to Latin America.
Here's what its creators have to say:

"The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1935, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources."

The New Latin American Cinema : an annotated bibliography of sources in English, Spanish, and Portuguese, 1960-1980
Burton, Julianne

Davis Reference Z5784.M9 B93 1983

The author writes that this title expands an earlier edition published by the journal Cineaste which the library subscribes to in both print and electronic formats. This resource is obviously limited by its coverage of only the years between 1960 and 1980 an era that encompasses what is referred to as the "New Latin American Cinema." (see title) However, it appears to be the only print bibliography specifically related to Latin American cinema in Davis library. It is made up of four main sections: bibliographies, filmographies, books, and articles. Each section is then subdivided by country. There is also a section on Hispanic cinema in the U.S. as well as a short bibliography of cinema related periodicals.


Filmographies

A filmography is similar to a bibliography except that the information included relates to films as opposed to books. Often, information about directors and actors will also be included in a filmography.

South American Cinema: A Critical Filmography 1915-1994 (1996)
Barnard, Timothy and Rist, Peter (eds.)

Davis Reference PN1993.5 .S63 S68 1998

This little book is an excellent resource for South American films of the 20th century up to 1994. The book is divided alphabetically by country and each film is given a one to two page critical review. In the editors' view, the entries reflect the masterworks of each country beginning with the silent era and continuing through the century. Most of the films are of feature length whether documentary or fictional. Also included are several indexes of directors and subjects (both of cinema and South American society). There is also a glossary of film terms and Brazilian terms.


Indexes

An index is another resource (print or electronic) used to find other resources. In most cases, an index is used to find journal or magazine articles. Like bibliographies and filmographies, an index often does not contain full text. Instead, it will contain a citation that will point you to the article.

Film Index International
On campus access through UNC Libraries Article Databases & More.
Off campus access only to current UNC students, faculty, and staff.

"The Film Index International database provides in-depth indexing of over 100,000 films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and biographical information for over 40,000 personalities. Film Index International includes records on films from over 170 countries and has extensive coverage of international film awards. Its rich content also includes searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists, as well as references to periodical articles on film and filmmakers." (Source: UNC Libraries)

Film Literature Index
Davis Reference Row 17

This index is printed quarterly with annual cumulative volumes. It indexes many film-specific periodicals as well as select non-film periodicals. Volumes are divided into two sections: Section One-Film and Section Two-Television and Video. Like the above title, this index is a good place to look if you know a person's name or the title of a film.

HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index
electronic access

Like the Handbook of Latin American Studies, HAPI is an essential resource for Latin American related research. "HAPI Online is the searchable Web version of the Hispanic American Periodicals Index. HAPI is your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world." (Source: vendor website.)

International Index to Film Periodicals
Davis Reference Row 17

This title indexes many well known international film periodicals. The index goes back to 1972 with a new volume for each year. It is arranged by General Subjects, Individual Films, Biographies, and Director Index. Looking for a term, film, director's name, etc will point you to articles for that year from the periodicals indexed.

The International Film Index 1895-1990 (2 vols.)
Goble, Alan (ed.)

Davis Reference PN1998 .I52 1991 v.1-2

Volume one is a title index of approx. 232,000 film titles. The title, director, type of film and country of origin are listed. Volume two is the directors' filmography index. This volume does have an index of directors by country. For the study of Latin American film, this means that unless you know the title of a film, you should start with volume two and search by director.

 

Questions or comments? email LAIR
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/latin/pathfinder/cinema/bibliographies.html
This page was last updated Monday, September 11, 2006.