University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo

Latin American and Iberian Resources (LAIR)

Latin American Cinema - Pathfinder
Dictionaries

La Casa del Angel [pathfinder contents]

Introduction
Web Resources
LC Subject Headings
Browsing Areas
Encyclopedias & Guides
Dictionaries
Bibliographies, Filmographies & Indexes
Journals
Latin American Films at UNC-Chapel Hill

Dictionaries

All of the resources listed are available in Davis Library.
Search the UNC Libraries Catalog to find location and availability.

South American Cinema: Dictionary of Film Makers (1989)
Trelles Plazaola, Luis

Davis Reference PN1998.2 .T7413 1989

As the title indicates, this resource is arranged alphabetically by film maker. Entries are relatively short, usually only a paragraph. Entries have a very brief bio and filmography. Bibliographies are included for some film makers.


Handbook of International Film, Television and Video Acronyms (1993)
Stevens, Mathew (ed.)

Davis Reference PN1993.45 .S76 1993B

Not really exciting reading but acronyms are hard enough to remember when they relate to something in your first language. A useful resource if you are doing more in-depth research and don't know what an acronym stands for.


Online Film Dictionary

This website provides translations of film-related terms in twenty-one languages, including Spanish and Brazilian Portuguese. Be aware that terms and translations are contributed by users rather than scholarly editors, and so should not be taken as difinitive. Still, this site is very useful for looking up specific terms or for browsing terms relating to various film-related categories.


Diccionario del cine mexicano, 1970-2000 (2005)
Quesada, Mario A.

Davis Reference PN1993.5.M6 D53 2005

This resource lists alphabetically by title every film made in Mexico from 1970 to 2000. Information provided for each film includes director, year, genre, and usually screenwriter, principal actors, and a brief synopsis. Some entries contain additional information, such as locations, music credits, and bibliographic references. At the back of the book there are two useful indexes, one chronological and one by director.


Diccionario de directores del cine mexicano (2000)
Ciuk, Perla

Davis Reference PN1998.2 .D485 2000

This resource consists of page-long entries containing biographies and filmographies, arranged alphabetically by director. Also included is a detailed, year by year list of the winners of the Mexican film awards Diosas de Plata and Arieles.


Diccionario de directores del cine argentino: de comienzos del sonoro a nuestros días (2004)
Martínez, Adolfo C.

Davis PN1998.2 .M37 2004

Like the above title, this resource also contains biographies and filmographies of each director, arranged alphabetically. Each entry generally fills about half a page.


Diccionario de realizadores (1997)
Kriger, Clara and Alejandra Portela

Davis PN1998.2 .D49 1997

This resource covers film makers from several Latin American countries. Within each country section, entries are arranged alphabetically by film maker. The entries are generally one to five pages long, and contain bigraphical information as well as filmographies.

 

Questions or comments? email LAIR
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/latin/pathfinder/cinema/dictionaries.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, February 13, 2007.