University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo

Latin American and Iberian Resources (LAIR)

Latin American Cinema - Pathfinder
Latin American Films at UNC-Chapel Hill

Vidas Secas by Nelson Pereira dos Santos [pathfinder contents]

Introduction
Web Resources
LC Subject Headings
Browsing Areas
Encyclopedias & Guides
Dictionaries
Bibliographies, Filmographies & Indexes
Journals
Latin American Films at UNC-Chapel Hill

Latin American Films at UNC-Chapel Hill

There are two main sources at UNC-Chapel Hill to find and view Latin American films as well as an annual Latin American Film and Video Festival.

Film Finder @ House Library

The FilmFinder is a searchable database of the more than 10,000 film titles available in the Undergraduate Library's Media Resources Center. Many of the films do not circulate out of the library but viewing stations are available.

The Institute of Latin American Studies at UNC - Film and Video Collection

The Institute of Latin American Studies (ILAS) at UNC maintains an extensive Latin American film and video collection that is made available free of charge. You can search their database of films by documentaries, feature films, or by country of origin. ILAS has many programs to offer those interested in Latin American studies. Visit the ILAS homepage to learn more.

Latin American Film and Video Festival

This excellent, annual Latin American film and video festival is put on each November by the
Consortium in Latin American Studies at UNC-Chapel Hill and Duke with several other area institutions. The festival is an excellent opportunity to see films on the big screen that might never make it to the commercial theaters.

 

Questions or comments? email LAIR
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/latin/pathfinder/cinema/filmoncampus.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, October 24, 2006.