University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo

Latin American and Iberian Resources (LAIR)

Latin American Cinema - Pathfinder Web Resources

Central Station [pathfinder contents]

Introduction
Web Resources
LC Subject Headings
Browsing Areas
Encyclopedias & Guides
Dictionaries
Bibliographies, Filmographies & Indexes
Journals
Latin American Films at UNC-Chapel Hill

Web Resources

SALALM | the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials

This is the most important organization of librarians who work with Latin American materials. Anyone researching a Latin American topic should investigate the SALALM pages.

Two SALALM publications are specifically related to Latin American cinema.

LANIC | Latin American Network Information Center

This site is a directory (similar to Yahoo or the Google Directory) of resources related to Latin America. It is a very extensive directory and deserves to be investigated for any topic related to Latin America.

  • The specific directory for cinema and video can be found at: http://lanic.utexas.edu/la/region/cinema/
    This page lists websites grouped by country as well as by topic such as festivals or educational and distribution resources. Many of these links lead to sites published in Spanish or Portuguese.

LAVA | The Latin American Video Archive

The related sites link will take you to an incredible list of websites grouped either by country or category such as archives or festivals. You can also suggest a link be added to the site.

Internet Movie Database

The Internet Movie Database is a useful tool for finding information about films such as director, cast, location, trivia and distributor. According to the site, the majority of available information is submitted by users. The database currently claims to hold "over 380,000 titles and 1.6 million names."

Cinema Brasil

As with many resources on Brazilian cinema, this site is in Portuguese. There is an English version of the page, but the translation is less than perfect.

Cinemando

This site in Portuguese is a free online journal of Brazilian Cinema. Each edition is centered around a particular topic and includes interviews, film critiques, and articles. Examples of previous topics include "Festivais Brasileiros", "Documentários", and "O Negro no Cinema."

First Run Icarus Films

This is a site for a distributor of documentary films on Latin American studies. Films are listed alphabetically with a short synopsis. While the site is intended for the sale of the films, it is a good place to find out about the available documentaries.

Cine Nacional

This site in Spanish is a complete database of Argentine Cinema, searchable either by film or by person. The homepage also features new releases and a "Weblog de Información" containing short articles with links on relevant topics such as upcoming film festivals. The site is affiliated with the Instituto Nacional de Cine y Artes Audiovisuales.

 

Questions or comments? email LAIR
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/latin/pathfinder/cinema/webresources.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, August 14, 2007.