Spanish and Latin American Newspaper Pathfinder
| Search tips | Current newspapers | Older newspapers |
| Print guides | Online archives | Newspaper collections | More help |
Tips for looking for Latin American and Iberian newspapers:
If you know the title, you can search WorldCat to see which libraries have
it. The link to WorldCat is on the UNC Libraries homepage,
just below the main
search box. The main record will give the dates the newspaper was published.
Since each library is unlikely to have the complete run, you can find which
dates/issues each library holds by looking at their online catalog. On the results
page, click on “Libraries worldwide that own item” to see the list
of institutions, then click on the name of an institution to go directly to
their catalog’s entry for that item.
If you don’t know specific titles, you can look for guides, directories,
or bibliographies which might help you identify what was published in a given
place at a given time. You can search the online catalog or WorldCat by these
LC Subject Headings:
- Latin America -- periodicals -- bibliography
- Latin American periodicals -- bibliography
- Latin American newspapers -- bibliography
- Argentine newspapers -- bibliography
- Spanish newspapers -- bibliography
- etc.
In each case “bibliography” could be replaced with “directories” or “catalogs” or “union lists.” (A union list is the combined listing of holdings of several institutions; WorldCat is actually a union list for thousands of libraries, including the Library of Congress, that submit their catalog records to the database.)
Many of these guides are found in the following LC Call numbers:
|
|
Resources for identifying current newspapers from Latin America and Iberia:
LANIC - Newspapers
http://lanic.utexas.edu/la/region/news/
This website provides direct links to regional news agencies as well as national and local newspapers from Latin America and the Caribbean. It also gives links to Spanish-language US newspapers and international news services, as well as to various online media guides and newspaper listings.
ABYZ News Links –Newspapers and News Media Guide
http://www.abyznewslinks.com
This website provides links to the websites of thousands of news sources from around the world. Choose a country to find links to national and local newspapers, magazines, television stations, and internet news services.
Willing's Press Guide London : Willing Service, 1928-
Z6956.E5 W5 current volume in Davis Reference
This yearly publication provides information about newspapers, as well as some broadcast media, for various countries. Spain and Portugal are found in vol. 2: Western Europe, and Latin American countries are found in vol. 3: The World. The newspaper index gives the publication address, date established, frequency, and sometimes other information such as editor, circulation, audience, etc, for currently published newspapers and some magazines.
Resources for identifying newspapers from earlier time periods:
Print guides:
Newspapers in microform. Foreign countries. Washington :
Library of Congress.
Z6945 .N748 Davis Library Reference Desk
This is the compilation of various studies conducted by the Library of Congress between 1948 and 1983 as to which libraries and institutions hold microfilm copies of foreign newspapers from all time periods. The guide is organized by country, then by city.
Foreign newspapers held by the Center for Research Libraries.
Chicago : CRL, 1992.
Z6945 .C468 1992 Davis Library Stacks
This lists, both alphabetically and geographically, the complete microform holdings of CRL, which all can be obtained through Inter Library Loan. While holding information is also available through CRL’s searchable online database (see below), this print guide also lists the complete dates of publication for each title, as well as any previous or subsequent name changes.
English language newspapers abroad; a guide to daily newspapers in
56 non-English-speaking countries, by Dennis L. Wilcox. Detroit : Gale
Research Co. [1967]
Z6941 .W5 Davis Library Stacks
This guide provides the name, address, circulation and founding date for over 200 newspapers, as well as information about the format and focus and news agencies used.
Willing's Press Guide London : Willing Service, 1928-
Z6956.E5 W5 Davis Library Stacks
This yearly publication provides information about currently published newspapers, as well as some magazines and broadcast media, worldwide (see above). Previous issues of this guide, which UNC holds from 1929 onwards, can be used to identify which newspapers were in print at that time.
Latin American newspapers in United States libraries: a union list
compiled in the Serial Division, Library of Congress, by Steven M.
Charno. Austin, Published for the Conference on Latin American History by the
University of Texas Press [1969, c1968]
Z6954.S8 C5 Davis Library Reference and Stacks
This listing, organized by country, then title, gives the specific issues of each newspaper that are held by each library. Although the guide is quite old, (more accurate holding information can be found by searching WorldCat), it does give an idea of the variety of titles that existed for a given country, and an indication of when they were published.
Online archives:
International News Archives on the Web
http://www.ibiblio.org/slanews/internet/intarchives.htm
The Special Libraries Association News Division maintains this list of links to newspapers which have their archives available on the internet. The list is organized by region, then country. There is also a helpful list of Other Sources for News Archives on the Web.
The News Directory
http://www.ecola.com/
This site provides direct links to current publications and allows you to search the online archives of a small number of Latin America and Iberian newspapers and magazines.
Collections of newspapers or microfilm:
LAIR Microforms Database
http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/latin/microforms/index.php
This searchable database includes all newspapers and other major microform sets collected by the Latin American and Iberian Resources Bibliographer here at UNC. You can search by country, historical period, or subject, among other factors.
UNC Microforms Newspaper List
http://www.lib.unc.edu/reference/microforms/newsort.html
This is an alphabetical list of all newspapers held in the Microforms Collection in Davis Library. For help in finding newspapers for specific time periods, ask to see the “decades list” at the Davis Library Reference Desk.
CRL Foreign Newspapers on Microfilm
http://www.crl.edu/content.asp?l1=5&l2=23&l3=44&l4=27
This is a searchable database of the extensive collection of non-US newspapers held on microfilm by the Center for Research Libraries. All of these materials are available through interlibrary loan.
LASER Newspaper Union List
http://www.lib.unc.edu/LASER/newspapers.htm
This is a listing, sorted by country, of all the Latin American and Caribbean newspapers held in paper or microform by the libraries of the Latin America South East Region Consortium. Members include UNC, Duke, and the University of Texas at Austin, among others.
LANE Microform Sets and Current Newspapers
http://www.lanelibraries.org/index.htm
The Latin America North East Libraries Consortium also provides a union list of currently received newspapers, and links to each member institution’s individual newspaper and microform collections. Members include Harvard, Princeton, and the University of Pittsburgh, among others.
Newspapers at the Library of Congress
http://www.loc.gov/rr/news/lcnewsp.html
This page provides links to lists, databases, and guides to the vast newspaper collections, both current and historical, paper and microfilmed, US and foreign, of the Library of Congress. LC generally does not lend its materials, but its holdings can help you identify what titles existed at what time.
Revolutionary Mexico in Newspapers 1900-1929
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/benson/revolutionarymexico/
This is a microfilm collection of 560 Mexican newspaper titles from the time of the Revolution, compiled by the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin. Newspapers are arranged by state and then city, with an index listing titles alphabetically.
For more help in finding newspapers from Latin America, Spain or Portugal, please contact:
Teresa Chapa
Latin American & Iberian Resources Bibliographer
(919) 962-3948
Last updated: 3/27/07
Questions or comments? email LAIR
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/latin/pathfinder/newspaper_pathfinder.html
This page was last updated Thursday, May 17, 2007.
