University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo

Latin American and Iberian Resources (LAIR)

Spanish Film Pathfinder

Browsing Areas :: Guides :: Frequently Cited Works :: Dictionaries :: Bibliographies
Periodicals :: Web Resources :: Find a Film at UNC

Bibliographies

Bibliographies can contain citations to full collections of works on a particular subject, including Film Studies. These works range from tabular information for cited works to in-depth guides on where and how to obtain materials on a particular topic.

Z5784.M9 R59 (Davis Stacks)
Aragon, M.R. (1956). Bibliografía cinematográfica española. Madrid: Dirección General de Archivos y Bibliotecas.

Cites articles with a short descriptive abstract for each. This may be useful for citing resources written before and shortly after World War II. It is divided into two parts, the first covering authored works and the second covering anonymous works.

Z5784.M9 D37 1993 (Davis Stacks)
Delgado Casado, Juan. (1993). La bibliografía cinematográfica española: Aproximación histórica. Madrid: Arco/Libros.

Introduces important texts and resources on each era of Spanish film. This is good for covering more recent material. Citations of films and articles are made using the classification scheme of the Fédération Internationale des Archives du Film (FIAF).
See: Moulds, Michael. (1980). FIAF Classification Scheme for literature on films and television. London: Aclib.

Z5784.M9 R42 (Davis Stacks and Davis Reference)
Rehrauer, George. (1972). Cinema Booklist. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press.

Presents information for a general audience on the interest of film and film topics. This shorter work includes resources on where to find scripts, filmmakers, film periodicals, and includes an index for authors and subjects found in the bibliography. Two supplemental volumes were published in 1974 and 1977. This may provide information on some older works that may not be cited in recent publications.

Z5784.M9 M34 1990 (Davis Stacks)
Manchel, Frank. (1990). Film Study: An Analytical Bibliography. Rutherford: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press. 

This is an update from Frank Manchel's previous work from 1973 of the same title. It covers a broader spectrum of material than the former work, spread out through four volumes. Volume three contains country-by-country information. This resource is also handy for such topics as documentary films on the Spanish Civil War. 

PN1993 .C5177 (Davis Stacks) [Also available via the E-Journal Finder]
West, Dennis. (Winter, 2003). “Contemporary Spanish Cinema: A Guide to Resources”. Cinéaste. p.65-66.

This work comes from a special edition of Cinéaste covering the contemporary Spanish film scene. It includes most of the titles covered in this pathfinder, as well as film festivals, exhibits, magazines, and websites.

Back to Main


 

Questions or comments? email LAIR
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/latin/pathfinder/spanish_cinema/bibliographies.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, February 13, 2007.