Browsing Areas :: Guides
:: Frequently Cited Works :: Dictionaries
:: Bibliographies
Periodicals :: Web
Resources :: Find a Film at UNC
Dictionaries
The titles listed below could be considered alternatively as guides in tabular format, or guides that disguise themselves as dictionaries. These are not necessarily dictionaries, but rather collections of names, people, and events in Spanish film. These, along with a good Spanish dictionary, can provide concise, factual information for specific terms.
PN1993.5.S7 E83 1994b (Davis Stacks)
España, Rafael de (ed.). (1994). Directory of Spanish and Portuguese
Film-Makers and Films. Trowbridge, England: Flicks Books.
Contents include an introduction, listing of filmmakers in Spain and Portugal, a film title index, a general index, and a comprehensive bibliography. This covers all the historical periods of Spanish film, from 1896-1994 and is a comprehensive guide to modern names in Spanish film. There are 215 people listed in this directory, with biographical information given for each.
PN1993.5.S7 T67 1994 (Davis Stacks)
Torres, Augusto M. (1994). Diccionario del cine español. Madrid:
Espasa Calpe.
When looking for a text that has a wide variety of topics covering all the historical periods of Spanish film to contemporary film, this dictionary is one of those titles. It covers a wide breadth of film topics from throughout the history of Spanish film, 1896-1993. Entitled a dictionary, Augusto M. Torres has compiled a large list of filmmakers, events, films, and people that shape and define Spanish film.
PN1993.5.S7 D54 1998 (Davis Reference)
Academia de las Artes y las Ciencias Cinematográficas de España.
(1998). Diccionario del cine español. Madrid: Alianza Editorial:
Sociedad General de Autores y Editores: Fundación Autor.
This dictionary is complete with a full prologue, list of abbreviations, and directions for its usage. Most interesting are the full, glossy photographs. This is an example of a Spanish primary text, one that gives a good overview of films, people, and events in the history of Spanish film.
Questions or comments? email LAIR
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/latin/pathfinder/spanish_cinema/dictionaries.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, February 13, 2007.
