University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo

Latin American and Iberian Resources (LAIR)

Spanish Film Pathfinder

Browsing Areas :: Guides :: Frequently Cited Works :: Dictionaries :: Bibliographies
Periodicals :: Web Resources :: Find a Film at UNC

Guides

These titles, referred to as Guides, may also be categorized as directories, dictionaries, almanacs, or encyclopedias. However, these works all contain extensive information on the field of Spanish film study, cited works, and current topics in the field. As mentioned, many of these works refer to a particular time period or only to the era when Spain was ruled by the dictator Francisco Franco (1936-1975). Be sure to check the title's preface to see if it either stays with or strays away from your topic.

PN1993.5.S7 D68 1997 (Davis Reference)
D'Lugo, M. (1997). Guide to the Cinema of Spain. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press.

Includes an overview of aesthetics, films, directors, actors, and awards won by Spanish films.
Preface refers “Behind the Spanish Lens”, “Blood Cinema”,“Challenges to Authority: Fiction and Film in Contemporary Spain”
3 important or renowned figures exist in Spanish cinema: Luis Buñuel, Carlos Saura, Pedro Almodóvar.

PN1993.5.S7 C38 1996 (Davis Reference)
Cebollada, Pascual. (1996). Enciclopedia del cine español: cronología, tomo 1-2. Barcelona: Ediciones del Serbal.

Tomo 1: Introduction and chronological explanation of events in Spanish film history.
Tomo 2: Alphabetical listing of films with producers, directors, actors, year made, subject, title.
There is also an interesting section on Spanish films made outside of Spain.

PN1993.5.S7 S635 1999 (Davis Stacks)
Evans, Peter W. (ed.). (1999). Spanish Cinema: The Auteurist Tradition. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

From the prologue: “The work of Peter Evans and his informed group will be required reading for anyone interested in studying the surprising changes in its history brought about by its auteurs, a history that could well eventually be called, maintaining the imagery of conquest, the long march of the Spanish Cinema towards itself, or what really amounts to the same thing: towards a cinema free of non-cinematic constraints, one that can be truly said to be independent.” (p.xxii)
Guide to the most studied topics within post-Franco film in Spanish Film Studies. It includes a listing of the photographs in the work, as well as a list of the auteurs that it lists.

PN1993.5.S7 H56 1997 (Davis Stacks)
Yraola, Aitor (1997). Historia contemporánea de España y cine. Madrid: Ediciones de la Universidad Autónoma de Madrid.

This is a collection of essays on issues in Spanish film arranged by chronological period.

PN1993.5.S7 J673 1998 (Davis Stacks)
Jordan, Barry and Morgan-Tamasunas, Rikki. (1998). Contemporary Spanish Cinema. New York: Manchester University Press.

This starts with an interesting introduction to the study of recent cinema in Spain (e.g. 1980's - 1990's). There is also a brief look at the current market for film in Spain, and trends within the film network.
Mostly centered on the study of film following Franco's death.

PN1993.5.S7 G46 2000 (Davis Stacks)
Sociedad Estatal España Neuvo Milenio. (2000). Los generaciones del cine español. Madrid: España Neuvo Milenio.

This guide takes a look at the full spectrum of film chronology in Spain, complete with full, glossy photographs. Topics covered are an overview of Spanish film history, the several generations covered, and the types of film genres and aesthetics common in Spanish film over the years. This is more of an interesting overview than an actual in-depth guide to analysis of film.

PN1993.5.S7 H67 1986 (Davis and Undergrad Stacks)
Hopewell, John. (1986). Out of the Past: Spanish Cinema after Franco. London: British Film Institute.

John Hopewell is referenced in Marsha Kinder's work, Blood Cinema, as being one of the foremost scholars on Spanish film. This work is a flowing narrative on the topic of Spanish film and its history following Franco's rule. A dictionary of post-Franco filmmakers is included in the Appendices.

PN1993.5.S7 H59 1995 (Davis Stacks)
Gubern, Román, et al. (1995). Historia del cine español. Madrid: Ediciones Cátedra.

This text takes a look at the full history of Spanish film, covering the topic with photographs from events and films of the period. Included are topical indexes and a bibliography.

PN1993.5.S7 S76 2002 (Davis Stacks)
Stone, Rob. (2002). Spanish Cinema. New York: Longman.

Illustrated collection of essays in English on Spanish film through the ages. The extensive Appendices provide an excellent guide to further reading, including: a bibliography of print resources, web sites, bookshops that sell Spanish film resources, film institute information, and serial publications featuring Spanish film.

PN1993.5.S7 G35 2002 (Davis Stacks)
García Fernández, Emilio C. (2002). El cine español entre 1896 y 1939: Historia, industria, filmografía y documentos. Barcelona: Ariel.

The first part of this work covers the history of Spanish film, with the second part containing a filmography and analysis of the different eras of Spanish film. This is an all-around resource for practically any approach to the study of Spanish film, including statistical analysis.

Back to Main


 

Questions or comments? email LAIR
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/latin/pathfinder/spanish_cinema/guides.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, February 20, 2007.