University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo

Latin American and Iberian Resources (LAIR)

Pathfinder for Spanish Literature Reference Sources

| Introduction | Browsing Areas | Encyclopedias |
| Dictionaries | Social Sciences | Atlases | Statistics | Internet Resources



Introduction

A pathfinder is a tool for finding the way. It is not meant to be a comprehensive, all inclusive bibliography, but instead a starting point for students with little idea where to begin research. The ideal pathfinder is one that leads to other places of learning and discovery. For those who seek to learn more about Spain and its culture, this pathfinder offers fundamental resources to begin investigation. Upon consulting these works one will have a much better grasp of the subject matter and ideas about where to proceed next.

Back to the top


Browsing Areas

The Library of Congress classifies Spanish resources in a couple of general areas. It is useful to know these call numbers in order to browse works that may be of great help in research. Some other useful materials are located in other places based upon the predominant subject content, so don't rely solely on these areas but instead think broadly. For example, there are books about education or economics that have substantial information relevant to Spain but they located in the areas for their respective disciplines instead of the general area for Spain. Think interdisciplinary and look around in order to achieve the most effective results in your research.

Spanish History: DP1 - DP402

Spanish Literature: PQ6001 - PQ8929

Gale Literary Series Reference Rows 3 - 4

The titles Literary Criticism from 1400-1800, Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Contemporary Authors are all wonderful tools for locating information. These should be among the first sources consulted by students beginning research on Hispanic Literature. On top of the shelves there is a cumulative index for all of these volumes published by Gale. The entries are authoritative, critical, bibliographic, and often have illustrations.

Back to the top


Encyclopedias

Enciclopedia de historia de España
DP12 .E53 1988

This is a seven volume set published by Alianza-Editorial, one of the most notable publishers in Spain. Each volume treats, in chronological order, certain aspects of Spain's history within economic, societal, religious, and cultural contexts. In volume three there is a lengthy section on literature. Volumes five and six are biographical and thematic dictionaries respectively. In the final volume of the set under the heading "Bibliotecas y libros" there are great sections for information on the history of libraries, the book, and encyclopedias and dictionaries specifically. It also contains a section dealing with journalism as a fountain for history.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture
DP233.5 .E63 1999

This publication has a "Thematic Entry List" and under the heading "Literature" there are 25 entries. There are also the topics "intellectual life", "media", "cultural institutions", "critical theory", and "writers". This is an excellent resource, very rich and up-to-date in its analysis.

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
CB361 .E52 1999

The Golden Age of Spain corresponded roughly to the same time as the Renaissance, so it makes sense that there is much information found in this volume relating to Spanish literature. Under the heading "Spanish Literature and Language" there is a good survey of issues concerning the poetry, drama, prose, and spiritual writings that occurred in the peninsula during the fifteenth to seventeenth centuries. Of particular value is the "See also" section at the end of the article that directs students to other entries in the work such as "Picaresque Novel", "Pastoral", and "Romance of Chivalry". renaissance

Enciclopedia universal ilustrada
AE61 .E6 1908a

This is a seventy-volume set whose strength is not necessarily in the core work, which in itself has good information on pre-twentieth century works, but in the annual supplements appearing about every two or three years right up to the 2000 publication. In these supplements, there is a wealth of information on the current state of literature in Spain. Especially since the death of Franco in 1975, the annual entries under "Literatura" have grown every year and now even include dust jacket images, portraits, and pullout timelines. It is a yearbook of sorts that is great for gaining a view from a particular time period beginning with the Spanish Civil War to the present.

Back to the top


Dictionaries

Historical Dictionary of Modern Spain 1700-1988.
DP192 .H57 1990

This is a good resource for brief descriptions of major literary figures and movements. It has special treatment of the Spanish Civil War and a "wide sweep" of the past three centuries. Its scope is a "quick reference for a broad range of material for those interested in basic information." Seventy scholars contributed information so the content is very authoritative. One of the most interesting sections is the list of journals published in and outside of Spain. From this list a student can get an idea of what are the major outlets for literature and criticism in the country. If brief, authoritative information is the goal, this volume is very useful.

Diccionario de filosofía
B45 .F4 1994

Although Spain does not have the philosophical tradition of other countries such as Germany and France, the literature of Spain is often very closely linked to the discipline of philosophy. Miguel de Unamuno and Jose Ortega y Gassett, while more widely known for their literary talents, are just two examples of writers who were profoundly affected by the study of philosophy and whose literary production invariably shows deep traces of this type of dedication. This four volume set has a classic dictionary format with entries of many literary figures as well as under such topics as "Expresion" and "Obra literaria". There are also bibliographical references and a handy chronological guide to the entries. It offers a unique perspective to the study of literature showcasing its connections with the field of philosophy and metaphysical thought.

Diccionario del cine español
PN1993.5 S7 D54 1998

Those seeking information about literature as it relates to the big screen, or vice-versa, will find this to be an important work. Especially in the silent film era, many movie productions were based upon popular literary works. Here you can find information about the most important ones, as well as entries exploring the connections of the literary generations of '27 and '98 to film. This volume is best utilized together with the other volumes shelved adjacent to it (Guide to the Cinema of Spain, Enciclopedia del cine espanol) as a cross-reference for titles, chronology, cinematic serials, etc. Used in this way, the especially good features from particular volumes can be combined with the other strong features from other volumes. cine_espanol

Diccionario de agudezas, dichos y ocurrencias
PN 6095 .S5 D49 1989

Much like Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, this book is a directory of famous and not so famous quotations in Spanish. It is also a little more difficult to use since there is no index for author, only subject, but it is important nonetheless. There are quotes from international figures but the emphasis is on the ones from Spain, especially Unamuno and Cervantes to name but a few. Here you can find their opinions and observations on topics ranging from abagado (lawyer) to zanahoria (carrot).

Back to the top


Social Sciences

Handbook of Spanish Popular Culture
DP48 .S68 1999

If one takes a liberal perspective of what constitutes literature, this is a key resource. Chapter nine concerns the press and has a colloquial tone in its examination of Spanish journalism. Chapter ten, Popular Literature, is particularly interesting. It looks at the oral tradition, the sentimental novel, comics, and thrillers in detail. Also there is some discussion of spy, pornographic, and horror literature but not much since, in the words of the author, they "don't tell much about Spain". It has a good analysis of the general plot structure of the respective genres and their connections found in Spanish life.

Countries and Their Cultures
GN307 .C68 2001

Like the Cultural Atlas of Spain and Portugal, this 4 volume set richly depicts the culture of Spain focusing on aspects such as social stratification, politics, kinship, economy, food and many others, including literature. It is very up-to-date and good for getting a broad overview of what factors have contributed to the creation of its literature. countries_cultures

Back to the top


Atlases

Cultural Atlas of Spain and Portugal
DP17 .V56 1994

As far as specific literary topics, "Federico Garcia Lorca" and the "Spanish Mystics" are treated with full color sections. But the real strength of this work is the way that it integrates the literature of Spain within the context of Spanish political, social, and religious cultural phenomena. Marvelous illustrations and succinct analysis make this a valuable resource. Also included are a gazetteer, bibliography, glossary, maps, and an excellent paella recipe. Included in the index under "Literature" are also the terms Generation of 1898 and 1927, the picaresque novel, realism, and the regional novel.

Back to the top


Statistics

Anuario estadistico de España.
HA1543 .A52

This work is an incredible resource for statistics on practically every imaginable topic. The statistics are broadly grouped into chapters such as the environment, transportation, communication, health, education, and politics just to name but a few. anuario estadistica de España

Back to the top

Internet Resources

Follow this link to the UNC-Chapel Hill Latin American and Iberian Resources page of Internet resources. However, don't rely solely on electronic sources for information because much fundamental knowledge in Latin American studies can only be gained from print sources. Finally, and this goes without saying, if the Latin American / Iberian Resources and/or Reference department can help you anyway with your research, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us.

Back to the top
 

Questions or comments? email LAIR
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/latin/pathfinder/spanish_pathfinder.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, January 30, 2007.