University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo

Latin American and Iberian Resources (LAIR)


Pathfinder for Latin American Statistical Resources

| Introduction | Understanding Statistics | Finding Statistics |
| General Data Sources | Data Sources by Subject |




Introduction

A pathfinder is a tool for finding the way. It is not meant to be a comprehensive, all-inclusive bibliography, but instead a starting point for students with little idea where to begin research. This pathfinder will present some fundamental resources to begin the statistical study of Latin America (here used to refer to all lands south of the United States), as well as some general resources on how to find and understand statistical data in general. Upon consulting these works you will have a much better grasp of the scope and nature of statistical information available, and will have a good idea about where to proceed next.

All resources described in this pathfinder are available through the Academic Libraries of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Both print and online resources are included in this pathfinder. Although electronic sources can be more convenient and easily manipulated than print sources, be aware that much information on Latin America is only available in print. Finally, if the Latin American and Iberian Resources and/or Davis Library Reference department can help you any way with your research, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us.

Back to the top



Understanding Statistics

If you have never worked with statistical data before, here are some general resources that will help you interpret and use the data that you find.

| Encyclopedias | Dictionaries | Textbooks |

Encyclopedias
 

Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences.
Samuel Kotz and Norman L. Johnson, eds. New York : Wiley, c1981-c1989.
Math/Physics Library Reference QA276.14 .E5

This 10-volume work is the most authoritative reference on statistical concepts, methods, and applications available. It is meant to be used by both experts and non-experts, although many of the most basic concepts are given rather cursory treatment. Entries generally include the history of the concept, the equations used to calculate it, an explanation of its interpretation, often including examples and graphs, as well as a bibliography.

Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences

 
International Encyclopedia of Statistics.
William H. Kruskal and Judith M. Tanur, eds. New York : Free Press, c1978.
Davis Library Reference HA17 .I63

This 2-volume work is still a standard reference in the field, despite its age. The language might be a little hard to follow for the complete beginner, even though its stated audience includes not only students, teachers, statisticians, and research scientists, but also "journalists, librarians, philosophers, and poets."

Back to the top


Dictionaries
 

The Oxford Dictionary of Statistical Terms. 6th ed.
Yadolah Dodge, ed. Oxford and New York : Oxford University Press, 2003.
Undergrad Library Reference HA17 .K4 2003

This volume updates the classic reference from the International Statistical Institute (the 5th edition is held in Davis Reference HA17 .K4 1990). It provides concise explanations, including the associated equations, for over 3,500 terms. Meant more for practitioners and serious students of statistics or economics, the language assumes a certain amount of facility with advanced mathematics on the part of the reader. The 2nd edition (Davis Stacks HA17 .K4 1960) includes glossaries to find the Spanish translation of English terms and vice versa. (It also includes French, German and Italian glossaries.)

The Oxford Dictionary of Statistical Terms

 
Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology: A Nontechnical Guide for the Social Sciences. 3rd ed.
W. Paul Vogt. Thousand Oaks : Sage Publications, c2005.
Davis Library HA17 .V64 2005

Aimed at consumers of research, or students who may one day conduct research of their own, this work is written in less technical language. Elementary concepts are given full treatment, as well as more advanced terms. Less emphasis is placed on how to calculate certain values, and more is placed on how to interpret figures given. Warnings about common errors are also given. Concepts are often illustrated, such as two scatter-plots showing a weak or strong correlation between two variables.

 
English-French-Spanish-Russian Systematic Glossary of the Terminology of Statistical Methods.
Isaac Paenson. Oxford and New York: Pergamon Press, 1970.
Davis Library HA17 .P34 1970

As well as providing alphabetical indexes in each language, this work gives the full explanation of each concept in each of the languages. That is, each entry is divided into four columns, so that the full explanation in English can be compared directly to the full explanation in Spanish two columns over.
 

ISI Multilingual Glossary of Statistical Terms

This glossary from the International Statistical Institute contains over 3,500 statistical terms in 26 languages including Spanish and Portuguese. It allows you to look up a word in any language and see the corresponding term in all of the other languages. No definitions are given, however, only translations. To find the meaning of the term, you would need to consult one of the print dictionaries listed above.

ISI Multilingual Glossary of Statistical Terms

Back to the top


Textbooks and Handbooks
 

First Steps in Statistics.
Daniel B. Wright. London and Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE, 2002.
Davis Library Reference QA276.12 .W73 2002

This text begins with quite simple examples to introduce complete novices to statistical concepts, then gets into pretty advanced language later on. For example, the task of calculating the average height of a group of school children is used to introduce the full mathematical representation of summation, complete with greek symbols.

First Steps in Statistics

 
Computational Handbook of Statistics. 4th ed.
James L. Bruning and B.L. Kintz. New York : Longman, c1997.
Davis Library HA29 .B835 1997

Meant to address statistics from an applied, not a theoretical point of view, this text concentrates on verbal explanations rather than advanced mathematical formulas (although these are included as well). The format is a series of practical examples, worked out step by step. The stated audience includes undergraduate students beginning statistical studies as well as graduate assistants needing to get up to speed to work on a project.
 

Figuring Figures: An Introduction to Data Analysis.
Jon Mulberg. Harlow : Prentice Hall, 2002.
Davis Library QA276.12 .M85 2002

Written for the intelligent layperson, this text explains statistical concepts with an emphasis on the interpretation of data, while equations and calculation methods are covered in appendices. With chapter titles like "How to see if two tables are linked" rather than the technical term "Rank correlation," the language is quite accessible and practical.

Figuring Figures

Back to the top



Finding Statistics

There are many resources that will help you to identify and locate data on various subjects and countries. Here are a few of the most important ones.

| Bibliographies | Directories | Indexes | Web Portals | Browsing Areas |

Bibliographies
 

Bibliography of Official Statistical Yearbooks and Bulletins.
Gloria Westfall. Alexandria, VA : Chadwyck-Healey, 1986.
Davis Library Reference Z7551 .W47 1986

This bibliography lists the title, publication information, years covered, as well as any change in title or originating agency through the years, of all regularly issued official statistical documents. It also states what sort of data the yearbook provides in each of five subject areas: 1. the physical environment, 2. demography, 3. economic affairs, 4. political affairs, and 5. social and cultural affairs. The bibliography is organized by world region, then alphabetically by country.
 

Global Data Locator.
George Thomas Kurian. Lanham, MD : Bernan Press, c1997.
Davis Library Reference Desk HA36 .K87 1997

According to the introduction, “Global Data Locator is a user’s guide and road map to global statistical information sources. It provides annotated and descriptive reviews as well as tables of contents for 240 statistical publications published by both official and commercial organizations.” The first sections cover general sources, then sources are listed for individual subject areas, such as accidents or agriculture. Very few of the sources are specific to Latin America, but many of the global resources will contain some Latin American data. Both print and electronic sources are covered. The tables of contents are often quite detailed, even listing individual charts.

Global Data Locator

 
Statistics - America : Sources for Social, Economic and Market Research (North, Central & South America). 2d ed.
Joan M. Harvey. Beckenham, England : CBD Research ; Detroit : Gale Research Co., 1980.
Davis Library Reference Z7554.A5 H37 1980

Organized by country, this resource gives the name, contact information, and some basic information about the official statistical bureau of each country. It then lists the main libraries in the country and abroad that house their publications, as well as listing any bibliographies or buying lists for statistical data that exist for the country. It then gives the title, address, years, and topics covered (main sections) for all statistical publications produced by various agencies, beginning with the general, then by subject area.

Back to the top


Directories
 

Directory of Official Statistical Agencies & Societies
from the International Statistical Institute

Using the "select a country" menu, you can find the name, director, address, telephone, fax, email address and website of the official statistical bureau, as well as any national statistical society that may exist. Similar contact information is given for various statistical divisions of the United Nations, as well as Other Organizations such as the International Monetary Fund or the World Health Organization.

Directory of Official Statistical Agencies & Societies

 
Statistical Agencies (International)
from the U.S. Census Bureau

This site provides direct links to the websites of the principal statistical agency for every country in the world which has one. However, there may be other government agencies producing statistics in these countries as well. To find links to these other agencies, use ECLAC's "Links to Social Indicators Produced by Latin American and Caribbean Countries," under General Data Sources - Latin America (below).

Back to the top


Indexes
 

LexisNexis Statistical (UNC only)

LexisNexis Statistical provides indexing and abstracts from three databases: American Statistics Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS). The Index to International Statistics (1983-present) covers approximately 2000 English language statistical publications of 100 major international intergovernmental organizations. The print version of The Index to International Statistics and the accompanying microfiche collection with the full text of the documents indexed in IIS beginning in 1983 can be found in the Davis Library Reference Department. Many indexed items are also held in print form in Davis Library.
 

Statistics Sources.
Paul Wasserman, ed. Detroit : Gale Research Co., 1960-
Davis Library Reference Desk Z7551 .S84 (2001)

This yearly publication contains a selected bibliography of key statistical sources, both print and online, some of which are international. The main part of this 3,000-page work, however, is a “Dictionary of Statistics Sources,” with all topics, including countries, given in one alphabetical listing. So for example, the heading for “Brazil – zoos and botanical gardens” is followed directly by “Bread,” “Breastfeeding,” then “British Honduras (see Belize).” Appendices give full citaions for all sources cited, both published and unpublished. Earlier volumes are held in Davis stacks.

Statistics Sources

 
Instat: International Statistics Sources: Subject Guide to Sources of International Comparative Statistics.
Michael C. Fleming and Joseph G. Nellis. London : Routledge, 1995.
Davis Library Reference Desk Z7551 .I428 1995

This 2-volume work lists data sources from over 400 publications in 46 subject areas, including such topics as health, Education, Drugs, and Tourism. While there is no way to search only for Latin American data, if you know you are interested in a particular variable, such as corn prices, you can find which charts in which publications contain that data and what countries are covered. This resource even indicates how the data is broken down (by country, by year, etc.), what units of measurement are used, and whether time series are available.

Back to the top


Web Portals and Pathfinders
 

Stats DataFinder

Stats DataFinder is a unique tool that allows you to locate statistics and data sets available through the UNC-Chapel Hill University Library as well as via the Internet. These items were selected by subject specialists in the Reference Department of Davis Library. Accessed from the library's homepage, the site can be searched, or browsed by the following topics: Crime, Economics, Education, Energy, Environment, Government, Health, Housing, Military, Politics and Elections, Population/Demographics, Public Opinion, and Social Statistics. Many of these categories have a sub-section on international sources, as well as on general "metasites" which often include international data as well.
 

LANIC - Statistics

The Latin American Network Information Center, based at the University of Texas at Austin, has as its mission to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. LANIC's various web directories constitute a major gateway to Latin American information for researchers, students, and others both within the region and beyond. The Statistics section provides links to 86 international, regional, and country-specific resources that provide statistics on Latin America and the Caribbean.

Back to the top


Browsing Areas
 

The Library of Congress classifies Latin American statistical resources in one main area: the HAs. However, many other useful materials are located in other places based upon the predominant subject content, so don't rely solely on this area, but instead think broadly. For example, there are books about medicine or economics that have substantial statistical information relevant to Latin America but they are located in the areas for their respective disciplines instead of the general area for Latin American statistics. Think interdisciplinary and look around in order to achieve the most effective results in your research.

General American Statistical Data: HA175

Latin American Statistical Data: HA751 - HA756

Mexican Statistical Data: HA761 - HA768

Central American Statistical Data: HA781 - HA855

Caribbean Area Statistical Data: HA855.5 - HA928

South American Statistical Data: HA931 - HA1098

Back to the top



General Data Sources

Here are some of the most important general print and electronic resources which provide data on a variety of subjects and countries.

| Global Sources | Latin American Sources |

Global Sources
 

Statistical Abstract of the World
New York : Gale Research, Inc., c1994-
Davis Library Reference Desk HA154 .S83

This yearly publication contains statistical indicators, arranged alphabetically by country, for over 185 nations. Topics covered include geography, demographics, health, education, science and technology, government and law, labor force, production sectors, manufacturing sector, finance, economics, and trade.
 

Statistical Yearbook (United Nations)
Lake Success, N.Y. : Statistical Office of the United Nations, 1949-
Davis Library Reference HA12.5 .U63 & CD-ROM

Population, social, and economic statistics collected by the Statistics Division of the UN and other international and national sources. Data is arranged alphabetically by country. Some tables are subdivided by region with an alphabetical country listing within each region.
 

Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (United Nations Statistical Office)
Lake Success, N.Y. : Statistical Office of the United Nations, 1947-
Davis Library Reference Desk HC57 .U66

Current economic and social statistic updates to supplement the Statistical Yearbook for most countries and world areas. Also includes quarterly world and regional aggregates.
 

World Development Report

The World Bank's annual World Development Report (WDR) is an invaluable guide to the economic, social and environmental state of the world today. Each year the WDR provides in depth analysis of a specific aspect of development. Past reports have considered such topics as the role of the state, transition economies, labor, infrastructure, health, the environment, and poverty. The print version is also held in Davis Reference, with the most recent volume kept at the Davis Library Reference Desk (HC59.7 .W659).

World Development Indicators Online (UNC only)

WDI Online is a major source for data on the global economy and other matters, offering statistics on over 550 development indicators from over 200 countries and 18 country groups. The data cover national economies, population, natural resources, financial matters, environmental variables, and much more, from 1960 to date. You can also export the data in formats such as Excel, and while in the database, perform such functions as view by percentage change and even chart the figures.

International Statistical Yearbook (UNC only)

International Statistical Yearbook contains a wealth of economic, social, and demographic data from most countries in the world, though the United States and Europe are best represented. Over 1,800,000 time series are available, some from as far back as 1960. Data include statistics on industry, national accounts, communications, transport, and demographics. Sources include the Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development, the International Monetary Fund, the United Nations Industrial Development Organization, and national statistical offices. This resource is also available in Davis Reference as a CD-ROM, which is actually easier to use than the online version. You can choose countries, indicators, and years and it will produce a custom spreadsheet.

United Nations Common Database (Davis Library only)

The UN Common Database gathers in one place over 300 statistical series of country and area data collected by the United Nations Statistics Division. Drawing on 30 international data sources, it covers trade, national accounts, population, energy, production, and status of women, among other subjects. You can select a single series for up to 10 countries over 20 years, or profile a specific country by twelve different subjects, and download the data into Excel or ASCII formats. Ask for help logging in at the Davis Reference Desk.

Back to the top


Latin American Sources

International Historical Statistics: the Americas, 1750-2000. 5th ed.
B.R. Mitchell. Palgrave Macmillan, 2003.
Davis Library Reference HA175 .M55 2003

This work presents data gathered from various national and international data sources to create as comprehensive, comparable, and long-run data series as possible. The topics covered are population and vital statistics, labor force, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport and communications, finance, prices, education, and national accounts. Data are generally aggregated at the national level, but some statistics are offered at the regional and sub-national levels.
 

Statistical Abstract of Latin America.
UCLA Latin American Center Publications, 1955-
Davis Library Reference HA935 .S8 (2001)

This annual work is an incredible resource for statistics on practically every conceivable topic. The statistics come from over 250 national and international sources and are broadly grouped into chapters such as the environment, transportation, communication, health, education, and politics just to name a few. Earlier volumes are held in Davis stacks.
Statistical Abstract of Latin America

Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean = Anuario estadístico de América Latina y el Caribe
U.N. Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean, 1986-
Davis Library Reference HA755 .A68

This resource contains data on a wide variety of topics, such as social welfare, trade, agriculture, education, and employment, among others. The full content is also available in PDF format from the ECLAC website (see below).
Statistical Yearbook of Latin America and Caribbean

Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean - Statistical Information

ECLAC -the Spanish acronym is CEPAL- is one of the five regional commissions of the United Nations. It was founded for the purposes of contributing to the development of Latin America. The website provides access to downloadable PDFs of various ECLAC publications, including the Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean. The CEPALSTAT interface allows you to select specific indicators under various subjects, choose countries, years, and other parameters to compare, and it will create custom charts and graphs in either HTML or Excel format. The databases available on the site include Base de Estadísticas e Indicadores Sociales (BADEINSO), Base de Datos de Comercio Exterior (BADECEL), Sistema de Información Agropecuario (SIAGRO), and Balance de Pagos (BADEPAG).

USAID: Development Statistics for Latin America and the Caribbean

This website from the United States Agency for International Development provides manipulable data sets on various topics such as economics, health, education, democracy, and poverty. Sources of data include the World Bank's World Development Indicators, as well as various IMF, UNESCO, and US Government publications. Also included is a PDF version of the latest LAC Databook, "Latin America and the Caribbean: Selected Economic and Social Data 2006."

Back to the top



Data Sources by Subject

Remember to also consult the global and regional sources listed in the General Data Sources section above for data in the following categories.

| Economics | Politics & Elections | Population/Demographics |
| Health | Education | Public Opinion | Social Indicators |

Economics
 

International Financial Statistics Yearbook.
Washington, D.C. : International Monetary Fund, 1979-.
Davis Library Reference International Documents

Published by the International Monetary Fund, this publication includes financial and economic data arranged by world tables and country tables. There is also a monthly update issued betwen annual editions. An electronic version is also available at the Davis Reference desk as part of the International Statistical Yearbook CD-ROM (choose "IMF- International Financial Statistics" from the databases menu). You can choose countries, indicators, and years and it will produce a spreadsheet. It is also available online and in Datastream International (see below), but the CD-Rom is probably the easiest to use.
 

Datastream International
Davis Library Reference CD-ROM

This electronic source provides international economic and financial data in time series format. Series are acquired from national governments and banks, the Federal Reserve, the IMF, the OECD, the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) and other international agencies. Additional features include commodity prices, debt and equity information, exchange rates, interest rates, stock market indices, futures, options, and much more. Time coverage varies, but many series are available in daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, or annual intervals for up to 10 years or longer.
 

Economic Survey of Latin America and the Caribbean
U.N. Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean, 1984-
Davis Library Reference HC121 .U525

The first part of this annual publication, issued seperately in English and Spanish, gives an overview of the regional economy, noting general trends and selected issues of macroeconomics. The second part has individual country chapters, with narrative, including current figures, about current trends and policies, as well as graphs and charts of various economic indicators over time. A statistical appendix offers some more aggregate data, in addition to the figures embedded throughout the text. The full content (since 1987), in English and Spanish, is also available in PDF format from the ECLAC website.
 
Economic Survey Of Latin America And Caribbean

Oxford Latin American Economic History Database (OxLAD)

The Oxford Latin American Economic History Database contains statistical series for a wide range of economic and social indicators covering twenty countries in the region for the period 1900-2000. Its purpose is to provide economic and social historians worldwide with a systematic recompilation of available statistical information in as comprehensive, consistent, and comparable a manner as possible. Data series include indicators as specific as cement production, fuel imports, and coffee price indices.

Back to the top


Politics & Elections
 

World Bank Governance Data

Among the many data sets linked from this page is the World Governance Research Indicators database, a compilation of data for 213 countries for 1996–2005 on the following governance factors: Voice and Accountability, Political Stability and Absence of Violence, Government Effectiveness, Regulatory Quality, Rule of Law, and Control of Corruption.

Lijphart Elections Archive

The Lijphart Elections Archive, housed at the University of California, San Diego campus, is a research collection of district level election results for approximately 350 national legislative elections in 26 countries, including Belize, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, and Venezuela. Both actual data and bibliographies of publications containing data are included. The site also provides useful Election Links, leading to more data sets or to other guides to political data.

Political Database of the Americas

A non-governmental Internet-based project from Georgetown University that provides political reference materials, primary documents, comparative studies and statistical data for all countries in the Western Hemisphere. It contains an extensive collection of presidential, legislative, and sometimes local election results (under Electoral Systems and Data), as well as data on political participation (under Indigenous Peoples and Democracy).

Latin American Election Statistics: A Guide to Sources

This site from the University of California, San Diego is a valuable resource for finding sources of Latin American election statistics. Despite the fact that only nine countries are currently represented and although the statistics are not reproduced here, the bibliography for locating them is indeed comprehensive. Indexed by year, coverage begins at independence and continues to the end of the twentieth century. A glossary of Spanish electoral terms is also part of the site.

Back to the top


Population/Demographics
 

A Guide to Latin American and Caribbean Census Material: A Bibliography and Union List.
Carole Travis, ed. Boston, MA : G.K. Hall, 1990.
Davis Library Reference Z7553.C3 G85 1990

Organized by country, this resource lists chronologically the titles of all censuses, be they general or subject-specific (such as Censo de Vivienda, Censo Agropecuario, etc.), ever taken in the given country. It then gives full citations for all publications that report these findings, based on the combined holdings of the 30 British libraries which compiled the list.
 

Demographic Yearbook = Annuaire démographique.
New York : Dept. of Economic and Social Affairs, United Nations Statistical Office, 1948-
Davis Library Reference HA17 .D45

Prepared by the Statistical Division of the United Nations, the Demographic Yearbook contains a comprehensive collection of international demographic statistics divided into two parts: basic tables and tables centered around special issues such as mortality, fertility, nuptiality and divorce. A Historical Supplement to the Demographic Yearbook covering the period 1948-1997 is also available as a CD-ROM.
 
Demographic Yearbook

International Data Base (US Census Bureau)

The International Data Base (IDB) is a computerized source of demographic and socioeconomic statistics for 228 countries and areas of the world. The IDB combines data from country sources (especially censuses and surveys) with IPC's estimates and projections to provide information dating back as far as 1950 and as far ahead as 2050. Data include population by age and sex, vital rates, infant mortality, and life tables, fertility and child survivorship, migration, marital status, family planning, ethnicity, religion, language, literacy, labor force, employment, and income.

Population Database (United Nations Population Division)

Based on United Nations data sources and publications, this database allows you to calculate and display world, regional, and country population statistics beginning in 1950 and projected up to 2050. Available data variables include population density, urban and rural percentages, as well as such detailed variables as age, sex, birth and death rates, net migration, and dependency ratios.

Back to the top


Health
 

World Health Organization Statistical Information System (WHOSIS)

Guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from the World Health Organization. Data sets include Core Health Indicators, Disease Statistics, Health System Statistics, and Iniquities in Health. WHO statistical publications can also be searched using the WHO Library database, WHOLIS.

Health Data from the Pan American Health Organization.

The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) provides epidemiological, statistical, and analytical information on the health situation of the countries of the Region of the Americas. The Web site includes an online table generator (multidimensional query tool) that offers a collection of 108 indicators for 48 states and territories of the Americas. Also included are country health profiles, a GIS atlas of basic health indicators, and a glossary of relevant terms. A PDF version of the PAHO publication "Health Situation in the Americas: Basic Indicators 2006" is also available.

Back to the top


Education
 

Education Statistics from the Unesco Institute for Statistics

UIS statistical tables and graphs presenting global data on education and literacy may be found here. You can also build your own custom tables to download in Excel or CSV format by using the Database Access link. You can also access various UNESCO statistical publications on education, such as Education for All and World Education Indicators.

EdStats (World Bank)

"EdStats - the World Bank’s comprehensive Database of education statistics: Makes a variety of national and international data sources (such as UIS and OECD) available in one location; Compiles World Bank data on pertinent education topics; Adopts an analysis-friendly format that enables flexible access and custom-tailored reports; Provides links to a large number of education websites worldwide."

Global Education Database Online (USAID)

The GED includes data from the UNESCO Institute of Statistics and USAID's Demographic & Health Surveys. UNESCO data (1970 to present, about 200 countries) includes three levels of education, educational outcomes (e.g. literacy), life expectancy and population data. USAID data (1984 to present, 60 developing countries) includes attendance, gender equity, and educational attainment. Data can be combined to create a country profile, or a single variable can be compared across various countries. Data can be downloaded as html, Excel spreadsheet or Word table.

Back to the top


Public Opinion
 

Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)
[Nashville, TN] : The Project, Vanderbilt University, [2006].
Davis Library Reference CD-ROM

LAPOP, based at Vanderbilt University, has produced over 60 surveys analyzing major topics of great interest to political and social scientists, Latin Americanists, government officials, and interested citizens. LAPOP surveys analyzing citizen views on system support, political tolerance, citizen participation, local government, corruption, and authoritarianism have been conducted and archived on this CD-ROM for: Bolivia, Colombia, Costa Rica, The Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, and Peru.

Latin American Databank at the Roper Center

The Latin American Databank at the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research provides access to public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America, including universities, institutes, individual scholars, private polling and public opinion research firms. The LAD collection holds nearly one thousand studies from 16 countries, with the largest contributions coming from Argentina, Chile, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela. The site includes a search function that can be limited to Latin America as a whole or to individual countries.

Polling the Nations (UNC only)

A compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries from 1986 to the present. Each of the nearly 350,000 records reports a question asked and the responses given. Also included in each record is the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and the total population.

Back to the top


Social Indicators
 

Economic and Social Progress in Latin America: Annual Report.
Washington, D.C. : Inter-American Development Bank, 1972-
Davis Library Reference International Documents

Annual reports of recent social and economic developments in Latin America from the Inter-American Development Bank. Each report has statistical data and a topical focus. Provides a regional overview and country summaries that survey economic policies, trends, and outlooks in each country. Statistical appendix included.
 
Economic And Social Progressin LA

Links to Social Indicators Produced by Latin American and Caribbean Countries
from the UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean

This handy site gives direct links to the data sites of the many government bodies producing data of various kinds in each of the countries of Latin America, disaggregated by type of data. So, for example, clicking the Employment link under the Ministerio de Trabajo, Empleo y Seguridad Social in Argentina takes you right to the page of that agency’s website where you can view PDFs or Excel spreadsheets of their statistical publication "Informe: Dinámica del empleo y rotación de empresas." (Click on "English Version," then "Links.")

Social Indicators from the United Nations Statistics Division

Selected social indicators compiled by the Statistics Division, Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat on child-bearing, contraceptive use, education, health, housing, human settlements, illiteracy, income and economic activity, population, unemployment, water supply and sanitation, and youth and elderly populations.

Back to the top



 

Questions or comments? email LAIR
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/latin/pathfinder/statistics/pathfinder.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, August 14, 2007.