-
AVISTA [computer file] : Automated Visual
Information System for Territorial Analysis for
Russia and former Soviet Union / developed by Yuri
R. Liebkind [et al.] ; Central Economics
Mathematical Institute (TsEMI) of the Russian
Academy of Sciences. [Moscow] : Support S&D,
Ltd., c1994. Version 1.2.
LOCATION: Davis Ref Electronic Resource Computer
Disk 3 1/2"
CALL NUMBER: 10-30
-
The Battle of Kursk Collection=Bitva pod Kurskom, 1943 goda.. Minneapolis,
MN : East View Publications, c2004.
A unique collection of practically unknown sources on a major battle of WWII. It includes a detailed 2-volume description of the Kursk battle by the General Staff of the USSR published in 1946-1947 and supplemented with two further volumes of maps and charts. Other materials in the collection come from two famous Russian military academies, Zhukovsky Air Force Academy and Voroshilov Higher Military Academy.
LOCATION: Davis Ref Electronic Resource
CALL NUMBER: 10-106
-
Ceská národní bibliografie=Czech national bibliography. . [CD-ROM serial]./ Národní knihovna v Praze.Praha : Albertina icome, 1994-
LOCATION: Davis Ref Electronic Archive CD-ROM
CALL NUMBER: 10-148
-
Collection of Materials for Studies of the World War II Experience=Sbornik materialov po izucheniiu opyta voiny.
Minneapolis, MN : East View Publications, c2004.
The 26-volume set on this CD served as the cornerstone of modern Soviet military art. Prepared by the Military History Section [Directorate] of the Red Army's General Staff during and immediately after the Great Patriotic War, this series of analyses was the single most important vehicle for imparting the emerging lessons of the war to Soviet officers. Editors included the biggest names in Soviet military science at the time, such as P. P. Yechnyi and E. A. Shilovskii. Probably no other series looks at strategy and operational art in such a fresh and critical light as does this one. Descriptions, commentary and analyses are straightforward and untainted by ideology. Most volumes are richly illustrated with maps and tables, and usually also contain a bibliography section in which other secret and top-secret books and periodicals are reviewed and described. Every fifth issue contains a detailed subject index to the preceding five volumes. Save for a few copies which were captured by the Germans in 1943 and later recaptured by the Allies, most of these volumes have never before been available to Western researchers.
LOCATION: Davis Ref Electronic Archive:
CALL NUMBER: 10-607
-
Collection of Military Operational Documents of the Great Patriotic War, 1941-1945=Sbornik boevykh dokumentov Velikoi Otechestvennoi voiny 1941-1945.
Minneapolis, MN : East View Publications, c2004. 2 CDs.
This collection contains the most critical directives and orders from Stavka, the USSR's Supreme Command during the war, as well as combat documents detailing the activities of all branches and types of Soviet forces. It is arranged according to subject (i.e., artillery, mechanized forces), battle and period of the war. The 43-volume set is primarily an archival collection with little analysis or commentary, and was assembled by the Archive of the Ministry of Defense under the direction of the General Staff's Directorate on the Study of the War Experience (and later, the Military Science Directorate). Most of the more than 8,000 documents are classified secret or top secret. It is by far the largest and most comprehensive Soviet documentary series on the war, and continues to be widely used by military analysts and planners in Russia. Volume 5, one of the most cited sources in contemporary Soviet military writings on the use of armored forces, contains a number of top-secret Stavka materials.
LOCATION: Davis Ref Electronic Archive
CALL NUMBER: 10-596
-
Military Personnel of the Soviet State during the Great Patriotic War, 1941-1945=Voennye kadry Sovetskogo gosudarstva v Velikoi Otechestvennoi voine, 1941-1945.
Minneapolis, MN : East View Publications, c2004.
This is the most comprehensive collection of statistical information on the role of the CPSU Main Cadre Administration in educating and appointing military commanders to the Soviet armed forces during the Great Patriotic War.
LOCATION: Davis Ref Electronic Archive
CALL NUMBER: 10-606
-
Rossiiskaia natsional'naia bibliografiia=Russian national bibliography.
München, [Germany] : K.G. Saur, c1996.
LOCATION: Davis Ref Electronic Resource CD-ROM
CALL NUMBER: 10-132
-
RusLan [computer file]. Russko-angliiskii, anglo-russkii slovar : V 1.0 for Windows / [redaktory L. Robaten', M. Sizykh, S. Shkunaeva].
200,000 slov. [Moskva] : Izdatel'stvo "Russkii iazyk ; [Berkeley, CA] : SovLit Project, c1995. Russian-English English-Russian dictionary.
LOCATION: Davis Ref Electronic Archive CD-ROM
CALL NUMBER: 10-412
-
The Siege of Leningrad=Blokada Leningrada.
Minneapolis, MN : East View Publications, c2004.
The 900-day siege of Leningrad by the Germans, from September 8,
1941 to January 27, 1944, was one of the most dramatic episodes of
World War II and certainly the most tragic period in the history of this city.
The CD collection includes four unique, formerly classified books describing
various stages of the battle for Leningrad. These books, published between
1943 and 1953, were unknown to military historians.
LOCATION: Ref Electronic Archive
CALL NUMBER: 10-601
-
SovLit. [computer file]. Series I. Soviet literature & literary criticism.
Berkeley, CA: SovLit Project Inc., 1995.
LOCATION: Davis Ref Electronic Archive CD-ROM
CALL NUMBER: 10-105
Note:BY APPOINTMENT ONLY
-
SovLit. [computer file]. Series II. Soviet history.
Berkeley, CA: SovLit Project Inc., 1995.
LOCATION: Davis Ref Electronic Archive CD-ROM
CALL NUMBER: 10-106
Note:BY APPOINTMENT ONLY
-
Spanish Civil War (1936-1939)=Grazhdanskaia voina v Ispanii (1936-1939).
Minneapolis, MN : East View Publications, c2004
This CD collection (9 books totalling 1,290 pages) includes
exceptionally valuable analytical publications by Soviet military
devoted to the Civil War in Spain. Soviet involvement in this war
on the side of the Republicans was very substantial and Moscow
advisers had direct access to the most sensitive political and
military information. This information and its analytical evaluation
are presented in the books from this collection, which were published
from 1937 to 1940 during the course of the war. All but two of them
were until recently classified. The bulk of this collection is
the three-volume edition "The War in Spain" published by the
USSR People's Commissariat of Defense. Two books were prepared
by the Intelligence Directorate of the General Staff of the Red Army.
A monograph on the capture of Catalonia by Franco's army was published
by the Academy of the General Staff. The battle for Madrid and the
Guadalahara victory of the Republican Army are covered in two other
books by the People's Commissariat of Defense.
LOCATION: Davis Ref Electronic Archive
CALL NUMBER: 10-597
|