University Libraries banner
 
Click here to skip header navigation.
castle Electronic Databases at UNC-Chapel Hill for Doing Research in Slavic & East European Area Studies

The selection of resources listed on this page may be used to find information related to Slavic and East European area studies. These and other resources with less Slavic content can also be accessed from the more comprehensive list of Article Databases and more on the UNC University Libraries website .

ABSEES Online (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies) Via EBSCOHost

ABSEES, or the American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies, covers North American scholarship on Russia, the former Soviet Union, and East-Central and Eastern Europe, and contains bibliographic citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications. (more information)

Coverage:  From 1939 to date but mainly from 1980 to date
Updated:  Monthly

Academic Search Elite Via EBSCOHost - NCLive NCLive - Contains Full Text

Academic Search Elite provides information from a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics. (more information)

Note(s):  Minimum browser requirements: Explorer 5.5, Firefox 1.0, Netscape 7.x, Safari 1.2x
Coverage:  Indexing, 1984-present; Full-text, 1990-present
Updated:  Not available

Anthropology Plus

This database is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore; and material culture. (more information)

Note(s):  When finished, please log out of this resource by clicking the "Exit" link at the top righthand corner of the screen.
Coverage:  Late 1800s -
Updated:  Monthly

Art Index Retrospective Via Wilson Web

Art Index Retrospective cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929 and 1984. (more information)

Note(s):  Please use the "Logout" button to exit this resource.
Coverage:  1929-1984
Updated:  No updates

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) Via ISI Citation Databases (Web of Science)

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. (more information)

Note(s):  Select "Full Search" or "Easy Search" before selecting the citation index desired. Please log out of this resource by clicking the LOG OUT button at the top right of the screen.
Coverage:  1980-present

Biography and Genealogy Master Index Via Gale

Biography and Genealogy Master Index indexes various editions of over 700 biographical reference sources, both current and retrospective, that cover historical as well as contemporary figures. (more information)

Updated:  Semi-annual

Books In Print Via Bowker - NCLive NCLive - Contains Full Text

Books in Print contains records of in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books from over 44,000 North American publishers. (more information)

Coverage:  Varies
Updated:  Weekly; Publishers, Distributors & Wholesalers of the U. S. updated quarterly

Catalog of United States Government Publications (MOCAT)

This online catalog consists of bibliographic records published in the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications (MOCAT) since January 1994. (more information)

Coverage:  January 1994-present
Updated:  Continuously

CIA Electronic Document Release Center
CIA's Historical Review Program contains declassified historically significant Agency documents released to the National Archives.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) - Contains Full Text

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be the most complete source for theory and research in international affairs. (more information)

Coverage:  1991-present
Updated:  Each section of CIAO is updated with new material on a regular schedule. Working papers are augmented every month, as are conference proceedings, policy briefs and economic indicators. Links and resources, the schedule of events and the response files are updated weekly. New journal issues and books are added as they become available.

Dissertations & Theses Via ProQuest Company - Contains Full Text

ProQuest Digital Dissertations, or Dissertations Abstracts, indexes U. (more information)

Coverage:  1861 to present
Updated:  Monthly

EconLit Via EBSCOHost - Contains Full Text

EconLit is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. (more information)

Note(s):  Fulltext is not available for ALL material. Minimum browser requirements: Explorer 5.5, Firefox 1.0, Netscape 7.x, Safari 1.2x
Coverage:  1969 to present

Electronic Library of Ukrainian Literature

Electronic Library of Ukrainian Literature at the University of Toronto’s Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies makes available texts of Ukrainian writers and poets in electronic format

Ethnic NewsWatch Via ProQuest Company - Contains Full Text

Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. (more information)

Coverage:  1960-present

EBSEES Online (European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies)

EBSEES, or the European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies, covers West European scholarship on Russia, the former Soviet Union, and East-Central and Eastern Europe, and contains bibliographic citations for journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications. (more information)

Note(s):  The current search engine uses French-language field labels. To search by country of publication (Pays d'editions), language (Langue), or countries and subjects studied (Pays, theme), click on those category names to find the proper codes to use to search those fields. Searches in those fields must use the proper codes.

Coverage:  1991 -
Updated:  Annually
Language:  Various

Expanded Academic ASAP Via InfoTrac - NCLive NCLive - Contains Full Text

Expanded Academic Index includes abstracts or references for articles from more than 1,500 scholarly, trade and general-interest publications, as well as references for The New York Times. (more information)

Coverage:  1980-present. Coverage of individual titles may vary.


GenderWatch Via ProQuest Company - Contains Full Text

GenderWatch (enlarging the scope of Women 'R') is a full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. (more information)

Coverage:  mid 1970s-present

GEOBASE (GEOBASE) Via OCLC FirstSearch

GEOBASE covers worldwide literature on geography, geology, ecology, and related disciplines. (more information)

Coverage:  1980-present
Updated:  Monthly

GeoRef Via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts

GeoRef by the American Geological Institute. (more information)

Coverage:  1785-present for the geological literature of North America; 1933-present for the rest of the world
Updated:  Biweekly

GPO Access - Contains Full Text

GPO Access is a service of the U.S. (more information)

Coverage:  Varies
Updated:  Varies

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) Via OVID

Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. (more information)

Note(s):  Log Off when searching completed.
Coverage:  1985-present, with many earlier measures
Updated:  Quarterly

Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). (more information)

Coverage:  1955-present
Updated:  Monthly

IBZ Online (International Bibliography of Periodical Literature)

The IBZ Online is a universal index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. (more information)

Coverage:  1984-present
Updated:  Monthly

Index to Theses (Universities of Great Britain and Ireland)

This database covers theses and dissertations accepted for higher degrees at Universities in Great Britain and Ireland. (more information)

Coverage:  1970-present
Updated:  Periodically

Infotrac Web Via Gale - Contains Full Text

InfoTrac SearchBank Indexes provides access to three (3) databases. (more information)

International Index to Music Periodicals Via ProQuest Company

IIMP provides indexing and abstracts for more than 400 international music periodicals from over 20 countries, and also indexes feature music articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. (more information)

Coverage:  1995 -
Updated:  Monthly

ISI Citation Databases (Web of Science)

The Web of Science provides Web access to the Science Citation Index Expanded(TM), Social Sciences Citation Index(R), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index(R) (formerly SciSearch(R), Social SciSearch(R), and Arts & Humanities Search(R)). (more information)

Note(s):  Please log out of this resource by clicking the LOG OUT button at the top right of the screen.
Coverage:  1980-present

Kodeks Legal Database Via Eastview - Contains Full Text

Kodeks Database is a major source for Russian legislation comprising hundreds of thousands of documents going back to 1991. (more information)

Note(s):  Click the "IP access" button to access this database.
Coverage:  1991-
Language:  Russian

LegalTrac Via InfoTrac - NCLive NCLive

LegalTrac contains article abstracts or references from more than 800 legal publications: major law reviews, legal newspapers, law speciality publications, bar association journals and international legal journals. (more information)

Coverage:  1980-present. Coverage of individual titles may vary.

LexisNexis Academic - Contains Full Text

LexisNexis Academic is a web-based service that provides access to most of the information formerly available on the LexisNexis Educational Program (approximately 75% of the titles). (more information)

Coverage:  Varies. Some of the files go back to the 1970s
Updated:  Varies. Files may be updated, daily, weekly, monthly or annually, or as material becomes available.

LexisNexis Congressional - Contains Full Text

LexisNexis Congressional, a service of LexisNexis Academic and Library Solutions, is a web-based service that provides indexing, abstracts, and some full-text of publications from and about the United States Congress. (more information)

Coverage:  Varies. Some files go back to 1789.
Updated:  Varies. Files may be updated daily, weekly, monthly, annually, or as the material becomes available.

LexisNexis Statistical - Contains Full Text

LexisNexis Statistical is a web-based service that provides indexing and abstracts from three databases: American Statistics Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS). (more information)

Coverage:  ASI 1973-present, SRI 1980-present, IIS 1983-present
Updated:  Monthly

Library Literature & Information Science Via Wilson Web - Contains Full Text

Library Literature & Information Science indexes 298 English and foreign-language periodicals in library and information science. (more information)

Coverage:  1984-
Language:  Various

MLA International Bibliography Via Silverplatter

MLA International Bibliography is produced by the Modern Language Association. (more information)

Note(s):  Please note that only eight users may access this resource simultaneously.
Coverage:  1963-present
Updated:  Quarterly

NCLive Via NCLive NCLive - Contains Full Text

NC LIVE is a consortial initiative allowing North Carolina libraries to serve as a gateway to a rich array of electronic resources, many of which are full-text, from the following vendor services: EBSCO, CARL, OCLC FirstSearch, SilverPlatter, ProQuest Direct. (more information)

OCLC FirstSearch

OCLC's FirstSearch is an interactive online information system that gives you vital, timely information about books, journal articles, films, computer software, and other materials in your subject area. (more information)



PCI (Periodicals Contents Index) Via Chadwyck-Healey

PCI is an electronic keyword index to the contents of several thousand periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1990/1991. (more information)

Coverage:  1770 - early 1990s

PolicyFile (Public Policy Research and Analysis) - Contains Full Text

PolicyFile is an electronic database indexing research and publication abstracts addressing the complete range of public policy research. (more information)

Coverage:  1990-present

RILM Music Abstracts

RILM Music Abstracts is the file of the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale. (more information)

Note(s):  Please click the "EXIT" button to exit this resource.
Coverage:  1967 - present
Updated:  Monthly

SCORP: A Database of Corporations in the Russian Empire,
1700-1914 / Owen, Thomas C. [Computer file]. 3rd release. Baton Rouge, LA: Thomas C. Owen [producer], 1992. Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research [distributor], 1993. [Statistical profiles of all corporation chartered by the Russian government from 1704 to 1914.] Available to users affiliated with University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Russian/CIS Statistical Publications Via Eastview - Contains Full Text

This database contains electronic versions of publications from the major Russian statistics agency Goskomstat Rossii and its regional statistics agencies, Statkomitet SNG, and statistical agencies of the former Soviet Union (statistical yearbooks, monthly analytical reports, regional statistical information, and annual statistical abstracts). (more information)

Coverage:  2001-
Language:  Russian

Russian National Bibliography Via Eastview

A comprehensive bibliographic product of Russian printed works from the governmental body, the Russian Book Chamber. (more information)

Coverage:  1998 -

SPORTDiscus Via EBSCOHost

SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. (more information)
Access:  UNC-Chapel Hill campus. Students, faculty, and staff with a valid UNC-Chapel Hill 9-digit PID (Person ID) or AHEC users affiliated with UNC-Chapel Hill with an AHEC Digital Library account may access from off-campus.

Note(s):  Minimum browser requirements: Explorer 5.5, Firefox 1.0, Netscape 7.x, Safari 1.2x
Coverage:  1949 to present for monographs; 1975 to present for journals

Transitions Online - Contains Full Text

Transitions online: a source for in-depth analysis on all 28 countries of Central and Eastern Europe, the Balkans, and the former Soviet Union. (more information)

Note(s):  Best viewed in Microsoft Internet Explorer 5 and above or Netscape 7 and above.
Coverage:  Varies. Some from 1995 -
Updated:  Continuously
Language:  English,Russian

Ukraine-related information on the Internet at the University of Toronto. No restrictions.

Universal Database of Central Russian Newspapers (UDB CRN) Via Eastview - Contains Full Text

Universal Database of Russian Newspapers offers access to full-text electronic versions of major Russian and many NIS periodicals on the same day they are published. (more information)

Note(s):  See also: Universal Database of Russian Regional Newspapers (UDB RRN).
Coverage:  Varies
Updated:  Varies
Language:  Russian

Universal Database of Russian Regional Newspapers (UDB RRN) Via Eastview - Contains Full Text

This database was designed to provide coverage of developments in Russia on the regional and local levels. (more information)

Coverage:  Varies
Updated:  Varies
Language:  Russian

Universal Database of CIS/Baltic Periodicals (UDB C/BP) Via Eastview - Contains Full Text

Universal Database of CIS/Baltic Periodicals includes a number of authoritative periodicals published in the Newly Independent States of the former Soviet Union. (more information)

Coverage:  Varies
Updated:  Varies
Language:  English,Russian

Universal Database of Newswires (UDB-NEWS) Via Eastview - Contains Full Text

This database includes several outstanding sources to follow day-to-day developments in Russia and CIS.(more information)

Language:  Russian

Universal Database of Russian Parliamentary Publications (UDB RPP) Via Eastview - Contains Full Text

Universal Database of Russian Parliamentary Publications (UDRPP) expedites access to Russian government documents, stenographic records of Federation Council and Duma hearings, draft legislation, official resolutions, vote results and other papers of record. (more information)

Coverage:  Varies
Updated:  Varies
Language:  Russian

Universal Database of Russian Social Sciences and Humanities Publications (UDB RSS&HP) Via Eastview - Contains Full Text
Universal Database of Russian Social Sciences and Humanities Publications (UDRSS&HP) is a unique collection of approximately 50 of Russia's leading social sciences and humanities journals. (more information)
Coverage:  Varies
Updated:  Varies
Language:  Russian

Universal Database of Russian Military and Security Publications (UDB RM&SP) Via Eastview - Contains Full Text

This database contains essential military and security publications from all branches of the armed forces. (more information)

Coverage:  Varies
Updated:  Varies
Language:  Russian

 

Website comments or questions: Nadia Zilper
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/slavic/guides/elresslav.html
This page was last updated Sunday, November 25, 2007.