On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University Libraries banner
Old Well icon University Libraries banner
 
Click here to skip header navigation.
castle A Research Guide to Soviet History: I. General Research Aids
A. General Scholarly Guides
B. General Guides for Historians
C. General Guides for Russian History
D. Source Descriptions (istochnikovedenie)
Table of contents Guides

I.A. General Scholarly Guides

Sheehy, Eugene P. Guide to Reference Books. 10th ed. Chicago, 1986.

Reference Desk
Z1035.1 .S43 1986


Totok, Wilhelm. Handbuch der bibliographischen Nachshlagewerke. 6th ed. Frankfurt, 1984.

Reference Desk
Z1002 .T68 1984


Walford, Albert John, ed. Walford's Guide to Reference Material. 5th ed. London, 1989- [See especially vols. 2 and 3]

Reference Desk, Library School
Z1035.1 .W33 1989


White, Carl M. Sources of Information in the Social Sciences: A Guide to the Literature. 3rd ed. Chicago, 1986.

Reference Desk, Library School, UL Reference
Z161 .S666 1986


Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

I.B. General Guides for Historians

American Historical Association. Guide to Historical Literature. New York, 1961.

Reference Desk, Library School, UL Reference
Z6201 .A55


bullet pointHistorical Abstracts [Does Not Contain Full Text]

Access:  On/off-campus [info]    Medium:  Web   Coverage:  1955-present   Updated:  Monthly   Description

.

Poulton, Helen J. The Historian's Handbook: A Descriptive Guide to Reference Works. Norman, 1972. [Good guide for undergraduate students.]

Reference, UL Reference, Davis
Z6201 .P65


Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

I.C. General Guides for Russian History

bullet pointABSEES Online (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies)

Morley, Charles. Guide to Research in Russian History. Syracuse, 1951. [Although dated, this remains the basic English-language guide, especially for prerevolutionary history.]

Reference, Davis
Z2506 .M85


Maichel, Karol. Guide to Russian Reference Books. Vol. 2, History, Auxiliary Historical Sciences, Ethnography, and Geography. Stanford, 1964. [Part of a six-volume set, vol. 2 discusses historical bibliographies, indexes, and other reference tools.]

Reference, Library School
Z2491 .M25


USSR: Facts and Figures Annual 1977-1992. Changed title to Russia & Eurasia facts & figures annual beginning in 1993- v.18

Reference [current year only]
HA1446 .U17
Davis HA1446 .U17


Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

I.D. Source Descriptions (istochnikovedenie)

Buchenkov, Aleksei Nikolaevich. Sovetskoe kraevedcheskoe bibliografovedenie, 1984.

DK38.8 .B82 1984


Chernomorskii, Moisei Naumovich. Istochnikovedenie istorii SSSR: Sovetskii period. 2nd ed. Moscow, 1976.

DK38.8 .C5 1976


Istochnikovedenie istorii Sovetskogo obshchestva. N.A. Ivnitskii, ed. Moscow, 1964-. [Essays on sources, especially good for the 1917-1924 period.]

DK38.8 .I8 vyp. 1-4


Istochnikovedenie istorii Sovetskogo obshchestva: Ukazatel' literatury. G.A. Trukan, otv. red. Moscow, 1987.

Z2510 .I785 1987


Istochnikovedenie istorii SSSR. I.D. Koval'chenko, ed. Moscow, 1973.

DK38 .I82


Istochnikovedenie istorii SSSR XIX-nachala XX v. Moscow, 1970. [Helpful discussions of sources dealing with late Imperial Russia.]

DK251 .I88


Istochnikovedenie istorii Velikogo Oktiabriia: Sbornik statei. G.A. Trukan, otv. red. Moscow, 1977.

DK265 .A52483


Problemy istochnikovedeniia istorii SSSR i spetsial'nykh istoricheskikh ditsiplin: Stat'i i materialy. I.D. Koval'chenko, otv. red. Moscow, 1984.

DK38 .P724 1984


A Researcher's Guide to Sources on Soviet Social History in the 1930s. Sheila Fitzpatrick and Lynne Viola, eds. Armonk, 1990. [A collection of articles on sources for social history of Russia in the late 1920s and 1930s. Originally published as Russian History 12:3/4 (1987): 141-85; DK1 .R74

Reference
Z7165 .S65 R47 1990


Rubinstein, Nikolai Leonidovich. Russkaia istoriografiia. Moscow, 1941. [After slipping through the censorship apparatus, this study of historiography, long considered a classic, caused a storm of controversy for failing to adhere to Stalinist formulae.]

DK38 .R8


Tikhomirov, Mikhail Nikolaevich. Istochnikovedenie istorii SSSR: Uchebnoe posobie. Moscow, 1962-

DK38 .T5


Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides
 

Website comments or questions: Nadia Zilper
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/slavic/guides/history_1.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, June 21, 2006.