|
|
Critical companion to the Russian Revolution, 1914-1921 / edited by Edward Acton, Vladimir Iu. Cherniaev, William G. Rosenberg. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c1997
DK265 .C68 1997
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of the Russian Revolution. Harold Shukman, ed. Oxford and New York, 1988. [Part 1 topically arranged; Part 2 contains biographies for the period 1860-1921]
Reference, UL Reference
DK265 .B54 1988 Bol'shaia Sovetskaia entsiklopediia. 3rd ed. Moscow, 1970- [This was the standard Soviet reference work]
Reference
AE55 .B623 Davis 1st ed., 1926-47: AE55 .B62 2nd ed., 1950-58: AE55 .B6
Demograficheskii ezhegodnik SSSR (Moscow, 1990-)
HB3607
.R87a Great Soviet Encyclopedia. New York, 1973- [English translation of the 3rd. edition, in Russian alphabetical order, with added index volumes in English alphabetical order]
Reference
AE5 .B58 Encyclopedia of Soviet Law. F.J.M. Feldbrugge, ed. 2 vols. Dobbs Ferry, 1973.
K3338
Law library KLA68 .E52 1973 ... 2nd rev. ed. 1 vol. Boston, 1985. Entsiklopedicheskii slovar' ("Brokgauz"). St. Petersburg, 1890-1904. [This 41-volume standard work provides invaluable information on pre-revolutionary Russia. A second edition was cut short in mid-publication by war and revolution, but is of great use if the subject is alphabetically early enough]
Reference
AE55 .E6 Entsiklopedicheskii slovar' russkogo bibliograficheskogo instituta Granat. Iu.S. Gambarova, ed. (to vol. 33). Moscow, 1910-1948. [Though it is incomplete, this pre- and post-revolutionary encyclopedia contains a wealth of information, and attitudes clearly change over time. Vols. 1-55, 57-58]
AE55 .E66
Entsyklopediia ukrainoznavstva. Volodymyr Kubijovyc, ed. [5] vols. Toronto, 1984- [2 volumes have been published to date]
DK508 .E613 1984
Ezhegodnik Bol'shoi Sovetskoi entsiklopedii. Moscow, 1957- [This yearly update includes short biographies of leaders and a review of the year's major events.]
AE55 .B64
Heohrafichna entsyklopediia Ukrainy. 3 vols. Kiev, 1989-
DK508.2 .H38 1989
Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Strategy, Tactics, and Weapons of the Soviet War Machine. Stewart Menaul, consultant. London, 1980.
Davis Folio, UL Folio
UA770 .I58 1980 Jones, David R. The Military-Naval Encyclopedia of Russia and the Soviet Union. Gulf Breeze, 1978.
Reference
UA770 .M56 Kotel'nikova, N. E. Russkie karty i atlasy XVII-XIX.: Katalog vystavki k 57-I sessii IFLA (Moscow, 1991)
Z6027
.R9 K68 1991 Krasnikova, G. A. Sovremennaia literatura po kartografii, 1988-1990: Bibliograficheskii ukazatel' (Leningrad, 1991)
Z6021
.K73 1991 Laird, Roy D. and Betty A. A Soviet Lexicon: Important Concepts, Terms, and Phrases. Lexington, MA, 1988. [Definitions of classic Sovietisms, Soviet neologisms, and Soviet Marxian rhetoric]
Reference
DK266.3 .L27 1988 Lazic, Branko M., in collaboration with Milorad M. Drachkovitch. Biographical Dictionary of the Comintern. Hoover, 1986.
HX23 .L35 1986
Menaul, Stewart. The Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Strategy, Tactics, and Weapons of Russian Military Power. New York, 1980.
Folio UA770 .M46 1980
Modern Encyclopedia of Religions in Russia and the Soviet Union. Paul D. Steeves, ed. [ ] vols. Gulf Breeze, 1988- [7 volumes published to date]. Changed title to Modern encyclopedia of religions in Russia and Eurasia beginning with v. 7.
Davis Reference
BL940 .S65 M63 1988 Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet History. Ed. J. L. Wieczynski. Gulf Breeze, 1976- [Reference encyclopedia written by Western specialists. Quality of articles varies. Some are simple translations of SIE] Change of title to The Modern encyclopedia of Russian, Soviet and Eurasian history beginning with vol. 56.
Reference
DK14 .M6 Pribylovskii, V. Slovar' novykh politicheskikh partii i organizatsii Rossii (Moscow, 1991)
JN6699
.A795 P74 1991 Pushkarev, Sergei G. Dictionary of Russian Historical Terms from the Eleventh Century to 1917. New Haven, 1970. [Although incomplete, this remains the most comprehensive historical dictionary.]
Reference, Davis
DK36 .P8 Sovetskaia istoricheskaia entsiklopediia. E.M. Zhukov, ed. Moscow, 1961-1969. [A 16-volume specialized encyclopedia covering Russian and world history.]
D9 .S64
Sovetskaia Ukraina (Socioeconomic Reference Book) (Kiev, 1986)
DK508
.S6413 1986 Telberg, Ina. Russian-English Geographical Encyclopedia. New York, 1960. [Based on Bodnarskii's Slovar' geograficheskikh nazvanii. See other works compiled by Ina Telberg such as Soviet-English Dictionary of Legal Terms and Concepts]
Geology Folio
DK14 .T4 |
Website comments or questions: Nadia Zilper
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/slavic/guides/history_10.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, June 21, 2006.

