On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University Libraries banner
Old Well icon University Libraries banner
 
Click here to skip header navigation.
castle A Research Guide to Soviet History: XI. Biographical Sources
Table of contents Guides

Azbuchnyi ukazatel' imen russkikh deiatelei dlia Russkogo biograficheskogo slovaria. 2 vols. in 1. Vaduz, 1963. [Dictionary of state and public officials (50,000 entries) compiled in the 1880s. It was prepared as a preliminary listing of items covered in Russkii biograficheskii slovar'.]

Reference
CT1203 .R71


Deiateli revoliutsionnogo dvizheniia v Rossii; bio-bibliograficheskii slovar': Ot predshestvennikov dekabristov do padeniia tsarizma. 10 vols. in 5. Moscow, 1927-1934; reprint edition, Leipzig, 1974. [Although incomplete, this remains an excellent guide. Entries include bibliographies.]

DK188.3 .D45 1927a


Deiateli SSSR i revoliutsionnogo dvizheniia Rossii: Entsiklopedicheskii slovar' Granat. Moscow, 1989. [Reprint of biographies from Granat encyclopedia. Brief biographies of major actors, just as Stalinist censorship was making itself felt]

DK266 .E562 1989


Entsiklopedicheskii slovar' Russkogo bibliograficheskogo instituta Granat. Deiateli Soiuza Sovetskikh Sotsialisticheskikh respublik i oktiabr'skoi revoliutsii. 3 vols. in 1. Moscow, 1929.

DK253 .E5 1929a


Institut zur Erforschung der UdSSR. Who was Who in the USSR: A Biographic Directory Containing 5,015 Biographies of Prominent Soviet Historical Personalities. Metuchen, 1972.

Reference, Davis
CT1212 .I57


Kaufman, Isaak Mihailovich. Russkie biograficheskie i biobibliograficheskie slovari. Moscow, 1955. [Guide to biographical dictionaries covering most fields other than politics. Emphasis is on writers and scholars]

Reference
Z5305 .R9 K32


Kto est' kto v russkom literaturovedenii: Spravochnik, compiled A. N. Nikoliukin et al. (Moscow, 1992)

PG2947
.A2
K78
1992


Kto est' kto v sovremennoi kul'ture: Spravochnik, compiled S. Gandurin (Moscow 1992)

DK510.762
.K86
1992


Masanov, Ivan Filippovich. Slovar' psevdonimov russkikh pisatelei, uchenykh i obshchestvennykh deiatelei. Moscow, 1956-1960. 4 vols. [Excellent dictionary of pseudonyms used by 19th-century figures.]

Reference, Davis
Z1073 .M33


Narodnye deputaty SSSR: Spravochnik. Otv. red. V.V. Efanov. Moscow, 1990. [From the series of handbooks Kto est' kto ]

JN6551 .N37 1990


Parrish, Michael. Soviet Security and Intelligence Organizations, 1917-1990: A Biographical Dictionary and Review of Literature in English. New York, 1992.

JN6529 .I6 P37 1992


Portraits of Prominent USSR Personalities. 4 vols. Metuchen, New Jersey, 1968-1971. [1968, also titled Prominent Personalities in the USSR, under the same call number except W534. Continues the series Who's Who in the USSR, below]

Reference
DK275 .A1 W5341


Rahr, Alexander G. A Biographical Dictionary of 100 Leading Soviet Officials. Munich, Washington, and Boulder, 1981, 1984, and 1990.

Reference JN6521 .R34 1981 [1981]
Folio JN6521 .R34 1984 [1984]
Microfiche 1-3166 [1984]
Reference JN6521 .R34 1990 [1990]


Russian S.F.S.R. Verkhovnyi sovet. Spisok narodnykh deputatov RSFSR: Na 12 fevralia 1991 g. Moscow, 1991. [From the series Kto est' kto ]

JN6697 .R87 1991


Russkii biograficheskii slovar'. St. Petersburg, 1896-1918. [A 25-volume reference work containing biographical sketches of important persons who died before 1893. Some volumes were never published.]

Reference
CT1203 .R7


Sovet ministrov SSSR. V.V. Efanov, otv. red. Moscow, 1990. [From the series Kto est' kto ]

JN6542 .S68 1990


Soviet Biographical Service. Minneapolis, 1985- [Quarterly, 700 biographies to 1987. Poorly indexed]

DK290 .S66


Who's Who in Soviet Science and Technology. Ina Telberg, comp. New York, 1960.

Annex Folio
Q127 .R9 W5


Who's Who in Soviet Social Sciences, Humanities, Art and Government. Ina Telberg, comp. New York, 1961. [Based on the third edition of the Malaia sovetskaia entsiklopediia]

DK257 .A1 W5


Who's Who in the Soviet Union: A Biographical Encyclopedia of 5,000 Leading Personalities in the Soviet Union. Borys Lewytzkyi, ed. Munich and New York, 1984. [To 1982]

Reference Row 1
CT1213 .W652 1984


Who's Who in the USSR. Montreal, 1961/62-1965/66. [Standard reference work. Name change to Portraits of Prominent USSR Personalities]

Reference
DK275 .A1 W53


Biographical Sources (Stanford University)

 

Website comments or questions: Nadia Zilper
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/slavic/guides/history_11.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, June 21, 2006.