On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University Libraries banner
Old Well icon University Libraries banner
 
Click here to skip header navigation.
castle A Research Guide to Soviet History:
XII. Electronic and Internet Resources
A. Electronic Access to Library Holdings
B. Russian and East European Resources on the Internet
C. Vendors for Russian and Other Books
D. Resources in Davis Library
E. Davis Library Networked CD_ROMs at Information Commons
F. Listservs
G. Other Electronic Resources
H. Remotely Accessible Databases
I. Russian News
J. Central Asian Studies World Wide
Table of contents Guides

XII.A. English Language Newspapers

UNC-CH Online Catalog

In Process / On Order File for Academic Affairs Library, UNC-CH

Login as library


Duke Library Catalog

NCSU Library Catalog

Other UNC System Catalogs

Library of Congress

Center for Research Libraries Catalog | about |

Login as guest and then select V from the menu.


Web Pages for Slavic and East European Studies at Other Universities provide access to their respective catalogs.

WorldCat is a public version of OCLC -- an international database of bibliographic records.
Go to
NC Live North Carolina Live / Electronic Resources / OCLC First Search / WorldCat. Available only from the UNC-CH IP addresses

Worldwide Directories of Library Catalogs

Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

XII.B. Russian and East European Resources on the Internet

REESWeb This is the most helpful website in Russian and East European studies that I can call to your attention. I strongly urge you to explore this site on your own. The site is is currently maintained by Karen Rondestvedt, Slavic Bibliographer, University of Pittsburgh.

Slavic and East European Resources at UNC-CH

Web Pages for Slavic and East European Studies at Other Universities

A Chronology of Russian History This Web site dates the major (and some not so major) events in Russian history and links them with explanatory and related materials on the Web.

Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

XII.C. Vendors for Russian and Other Books

Vendors' Page

Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

XII.D. Resources in Davis Library

Electronic Resources at UNC-CH

Electronic Resources for Doing Research in Slavic and East European Area Studies at UNC-CH

Info Trac Search Bank Indexes | about |

Virtual Reference Desk at UNC-CH

Computer-Readable Databases: A Directory and Data Sourcebook. 7th ed. New York, 1991.

Reference Desk
Z699.22 .C66 1991


CD-ROMs in Print, 1992: An International Guide to CD-ROM, CD-I, CDTV and Electronic Book Products. London, 1992.

Reference Desk
Z699.22 .C47 1992


Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

XII.E. Davis Library Networked CD_ROMs at Information Commons

The library's collection of databases on CD-ROMs is divided into two groups. The Davis Library Networked CD-ROMs collection contains primarily bibliographic material. Colection of CD-ROMs in the Electronic Resources (Other CD-ROMs available in Electronic Resources) contains statistical and full-text materials, as well as some less-requested bibliographic materials. CD-ROMs must be requested from the Reference Desk. Please take time to explore the sites listed below.

Davis Library Networked CD-ROMs. Available from the computers at the Information Commons located across the hall from the Reference Department

Other CD-ROMs available in Electronic Resources. Request these CD-ROMs at the Reference Desk in Davis Library.

Electronic Resources for Doing Research in Slavic and East European Area Studies at UNC-CH

Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

XII.F. Listservs

Mailing lists first appeared on Bitnet. The following list, however, gives internet addresses wherever possible, since Bitnet has been absorbed by the internet. A mailing list is basically a program devoted to distributing e-mail, or in terms perhaps more familiar to historians, a distribution list. The program has a list of subscriber addresses, and whenever it receives mail directed to the list, it mails a copy to everyone in its address book. This can be a problem: many people try to join mailing lists without learning the basics. Most mailing lists have two addresses: the address of the list itself (listname@sitename.domain: e.g. Russia@sovset.org) to which communications for public broadcast are sent, and an administrative address (usually listserv@samesitename.domain: e.g. listserv@sovset.org). Be sure that you send your subscription or removal request to the administrative address, not the list address itself, and read the mail packet which is always sent to a new subscriber.

Some lists are moderated, which means that the list owner approves all posts before sending them. This tends to reduce the chatter, but also inhibits the liveliness. Basic commands (which are sent to listserv, not the list itself):

SUBSCRIBE NameOfList YourFirstName YourLastName
UNSUBSCRIBE NameOfList
Send this information and nothing more, not even polite thanks. Anything more will confuse the computer; it will complain and it might not add your name to the list.

The following represents only a basic list.

E-EUROPE@PUCC.PRINCETON.EDU Discussions on doing business in Eastern Europe and the transition of EE countries to market economies. Moderated, but one of the strongest lists.

INFO-RUSS@SMARTY.ECE.JHU.EDU Informal communication in the Russian-speaking community.

ORTHODOX@INDYCMS.IUPUI.EDU Discussion of Orthodox Christianity.

NEV@RENEWS.RELCOM.MSK.SU Send subscritpion requests to this address for RENEWS, a monthly digest on networking and computing in Russia.

LISTSERV@uicvm.uic.edu: Discussion of Russian history from Ivan III to 1917. See the companion list SOVHIST.

RUSSIA@ARIZVM1.CCIT.ARIZONA.EDU General discussion of contemporary Russia. Until the owner resumed moderating in March 1993, this was the most important and liveliest of the lists. Companion list to UKRAINE.

SOVHIST@USCVM.BITNET Discussion of Soviet history since February 1917.

BURKOV@DRFMC.CENG.CEA.FR Send subscription requests to this address for the list SOVOKINFORM: CIS news, events, general information, usually in transliterated Russian.

AAG@CFEA.ECC.SPB.SU Send subscription requests to Elena Artemova at this address for St. Petersburg Business News: a daily commercial digest of business information from Russian newspapers, etc. Russian or English.

UKRAINE@ARIZVM1.CCIT.ARIZONA.EDU Discussion of the Ukraine, a list complementary to the Russia list.

Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

XII.G. Other Electronic Resources

ArcheoBiblioBase Russian archival repositories and finding aids. Designed under the direction of P.K. Grimsted.

Biographical Database for the Soviet Bureaucracy, 1917-1941. J. Arch Getty and William Chase, Laboratory for Historical Research, UC Riverside. 28,000 people.

Database on Labor Unrest in Imperial Russia. Center for the Social Sciences, Columbia U.

The Soviet and East European Macroeconomic Databank. Soviet Studies Program, Center for Strategic and International Studies, Washington, available through Sovset.

Kaiser, Daniel, Databanks for a History of the Family in Early Modern Russia, Data Bases in the Humanities and Social Sciences (Osprey, FL: Paradigm Press, 1987), 205-11.

The Austrian Institute of East and Southeast European Studies has established a database of Western Research on Eastern Europe and the former USSR.

RUSCORP. Statistical profiles of all corporations chartered by the Russian government from 1704 to 1913. For mainframes or microcomputers with DBase III+. [Cost unknown]

Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

XII.H. Remotely Accessible Databases

ABSEES Online (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies). Updated monthly, 1990- . Available only from UNC-CH IP addresses.

A Chronology of Russian History This Web site dates the major (and some not so major) events in Russian history and links them with explanatory and related materials on the Web.

Former Republic Academies of the Russian Academy of Sciences by Jack L. Cross. This publication is available in PDF format and requires the Acrobat Reader.

Guide to the Russian Academy of Sciences by Jack L. Cross. This publication is available in PDF format and requires the Acrobat Reader.

Russgus. A database of 170,000 citations on Russia, the USSR, and its successor states. It lists German-language publications dealing with the CIS. Beginning with 1975, coverage is very inclusive and is updated regularly. Russgus is produced by the Dokumentationszentrum fur das Schrifttum aus und der Freien Universitat Berlin.

Russian History on the Web (CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE) by Marshall Poe. A critical guide to web resources related to Russian history. Includes only those resources that are: a) reasonably accurate; b) neutral in tone and intent; c) likely to be of use to researchers and students of Russian history.Soviet Archives Collection of documents secretly copied by Russian dissident Vladimir Bukovsky from the archives of the KPSS (Communist Party of the Soviet Union), including KGB ("Komitet Gosudarstevennoi Bezopasnosti") reports to the KPSS Central Committee.

Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

XII.I. Russian News

BBC World Service

Deutsche Welle Online

Golos Rossii (in Russian) The Voice of Russia (in English)

Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty

Voice of America

Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

XII.J. Central Asian Studies World Wide

Central Asian Studies World Wide Resources for the Study of Central Asia

Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides
 

Website comments or questions: Nadia Zilper
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/slavic/guides/history_12.html
This page was last updated Monday, December 10, 2007.