On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University Libraries banner
Old Well icon University Libraries banner
 
Click here to skip header navigation.
castle A Research Guide to Soviet History: XIV. Other Resources
A. Finding Support for Research and Travel
B. Slavic Reference Service
C. Archival Research Service
D. Directories of Organizations
E. IREX, ACTR and History Departments at Russian Universities On-Line
Table of contents Guides

XIV.A. Finding Support for Research and Travel

GrantSource Service can be of assistance in locating travel money and funding opportunities from private sources and foundations. These include the ARIS databases, the Directory of Research Grants, and SPIN. Use the search term 'travel grants' and be sure to mark it as a "literal string" by using single quotes. Recently, Stanford Searches has been made available through the Internet to UNC faculty and students. After entering the data base, select "Funding Sources" and scroll down to the "COS-Stanford Funding Opportunities" database. You may set up an appointment for a consultation by calling Jim Rosinia at 962-7766.

IREX Grant Opportunities

IREX Internship Program

Jobtrak provides job listings and information on internships. Contact the University Career Services at 211 Hanes Hall, Tel. (919) 962-6507 in order to receive a password for Jobtrak.

Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

XIV.B. Slavic Reference Service

If you have a reference question pertaining to Slavic and East European Studies, first check with the Reference Department. For specialized questions, particularly those requiring knowledge of vernacular languages contact Nadia Zilper | E-mail, the Slavic and East European Resources Bibliographer. If your reference question is highly specialized and/or particularly difficult, and neither the Reference Department nor Nadia Zilper can answer it, please forward your inquiry to the Slavic Reference Service at the University of Illinois. The Slavic Reference Service at the University of Illinois handles bibliographic and reference questions in the humanities and social sciences from individuals and libraries. (Any photocopying that may result will be billed according to the price list of the Library's Photographic Services Department.) Slavic librarians are nearly always on duty between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. weekdays. You may also write to:

Slavic Reference
Service
225 Library
University of Illinois
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana,
Illinois 61801


Libraries and individuals usually send their queries via e-mail (check the Web site), by telephone: (217) 333-1349 or fax: (217) 244-8976. Items in the University of Illinouis collection that are unavailable in North American libraries are usually ordered from European or the libraries of the Former Soviet Union and made available for loan. The service is supported in part by grants from the U.S. Department of Education and the U.S. Department of State. For further information, consult Helen Sullivan, Slavic Reference Service, or Robert H. Burger, Head of the Slavic and East European Library.

Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

XIV.C. Archival Research Service
St. Petersburg and Moscow Archival Research Service
755 Muir Street, 203
St. Laurent, Quebec H4L 5G9
Canada


This service provides scholars with information regarding the contents of fondy and supplies microfilm and xerox copies of documents from party and government archives, libraries, and museums in St. Petersburg and Moscow.

Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

XIV.D. Directories of Organizations

Isbell, P. Major Business Organizations of Eastern Europe and the Soviet Union, 1991: Albania, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, USSR, Yugoslavia. Boston, 1991.

Perkins Reference Quarto
338.7402943 I76 M234 1991


Nezavisimye proizvoditeli tovarov i uslug v SSSR [Soviet Independent Business Directory; SIBD]. Washington and Dnepropetrovsk, 1991-

Reference Row 5
HF3623 .N493


Organizations involved in Soviet-American Relations. Washington: Institute for Soviet-American Relations, 1983- . [triennial]

Main, Reference
E183.8 .S65 O74


Samodeiatel'nye obshchestvennye organizatsii SSSR: Spravochnik. Moscow: Moskovskii narodnyi front, 1988-

HS71 .S65 S25 1988


Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

XIV.E. IREX, ACTR and History Departments at Russian Universities On-Line

IREX You can glean much useful information about research opportunities and conditions as well as learn the addresses of scholars who recently traveled to the CIS under IREX auspices, useful information about the organization, its programs, and about the countries of the CIS by visiting IREX's web site.

American Councils for International Education (ACTR, ACCELS)

Moscow State University. Department of History

History Departments at Other Russian Universities

Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides
 

Website comments or questions: Nadia Zilper
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/slavic/guides/history_14.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, June 21, 2006.