On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University Libraries banner
Old Well icon University Libraries banner
 
Click here to skip header navigation.
castle A Research Guide to Soviet History: II. Bibliographies
A. National Bibliographies and General Indexes
B. Bibliographies of Bibliographies
C. Bibliographies and Guides to Books in Print or Microfilm
D. General Bibliographies on Russia and the Soviet Union
E. General Bibliographies on Russia and the Soviet Union in West European Languages
F. Specialized Historical Bibliographies
G. Specialized Historical Bibliographies in Russian
H. Other Bibliographies on Russia and the Soviet Union (examples)
Table of contents Guides

II.A. National Bibliographies and General Indexes
WorldCat is a public version of OCLC -- an international database of bibliographic records.
Go to NC Live North Carolina Live / Electronic Resources / OCLC First Search / WorldCat.
Available only from the UNC-CH IP addresses

Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature London: Historical Association, 1911- [Indexed by authors, annual listing of historical publications.]

Reference
Z6205 .H65


Ezhegodnik knigi SSSR: Sistematicheskii ukazatel'. Moscow, 1925- [Annual listing of books published in the Soviet Union.]

Z2491 .E9


Foreign Affairs Bibliography. New York, 1919/32-

Reference
Z6463 .F73


International Bibliography of Historical Sciences. Paris, 1926- [Annual listing covers all historical subjects.]

Reference
Z6205 .I61


Knizhnaia letopis': Organ gosudarstvennoi bibliografii SSSR. Moscow, 1907- [The Soviet national bibliography. From 1978, divided into osnovnoi and dopolnitel'nyi vypusk, the latter classed as .K52. Still later, the dopolnitel'nyi was itself subdivided]

Reference Annex
Z2491 .K5
Dopolnitel'nyi vypusk:
Z2491 .K62


Kreslins, Janis A. Foreign Affairs Bibliography: yy A Selected and Annotated List of Books on International Relations, 1962-1972. New York, 1976.

Reference
Z6461 .K73


Novaia istoriia: Ukazatel' literatury, izdannoi v SSSR na russkom iazyke, 1917-1940. 2 vols. Moscow, 1980-

Z6204 .N683 1980


Novaia sovetskaia literatura po obshchestvennym naukam, istorii, arkheologii i etnografii. Moscow: INION, 1976- [1949-76 Novaia sovetskaia literatura po istorii, arkheologii i etnografii; 1947-48 Novaia literatura po istorii, arkheologii i etnografii; 1934-40 Novaia literatura po istorii. A journal-format monthly bibliography in history and the social sciences. Though comprehensive, it suffers from lack of an index (the original cards are filed in a catalog in INION, Moscow)]

Folio Z6205 .N66


Russian National Bibliography CD-ROM edition. The titles on this CD-ROM were provided by the Russian Book Chamber, the official National Bibliographic Center and Russian ISBN agency. It is in charge of the complete archive of all works published in the former Soviet Union and - after 1991 - in the Russian Federation respectively. The CD-ROM contains bibliographic information on approximately 776,000 titles, listing books as well as brochures. Apart from the works in Russian, the CD-ROM also contains the works published in one of the numerous other langiuages related to this area. The titles mainly date from 1980 to 1995, although a few titles published in 1996 and pre-1980 are included as well

Login as library


Social Sciences Citation Index. Philadelphia, 1970- [Lists articles and books, indicating where they have been cited in recent literature. Actually several different series,divided by field.]

Reference
Z7161 .S66


Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

II.B. Bibliographies of Bibliographies

Besterman, Theodore. A World Bibliography of Bibliographies and of Bibliographical Catalogues, Calendars, Abstracts, Digests, Indexes and the Like. 4th ed. Geneve, 1965-66. 5 vols. [Important listing of bibliographies on various topics in major languages.]

Reference,
Library School Reference,
Rare Book Collection
Z1002 .B5685


Bibliographic Index: A Cumulative Bibliography of Bibliographies. New York, 1937/42- [English language materials only, including monographs with bibliographies. Useful guide for English-language research on Russia and the Soviet Union.]

Reference
Z1002 .B593


Boiko, Maksym. Bibliohrafiia ukrains'skoi bibliohrafii periodu derzhavnosty i diiaspory, 1917-1980 ; Bibliography of Ukrainian Bibliography of the State Period and Diaspora. Bloomington: Vid. Medychnoho arkhivu ULTPA, 1989.

Folio Z2514 .U5 B6122 1989


Glavatskikh, G.A., et al., eds. Istoriia SSSR: Annotirovannyi ukazatel' bibliograficheskikh posobii, opublikovannykh na russkom izayke s nachala XIX v. po 1982 g. 3rd ed. 2 vols. Moscow, 1983-1985. [Does not repeat all entries of previous edition (to 1965).]

Z2506 .G53 1983


Gosudarstvennaia publichnaia biblioteka imeni M.E. Saltykova-Shchedrina. Obshchie bibliografii russkikh knig grazhdanskoi pechati, 1708-1955: Annotirovannyi ukazatel'. 2nd ed. Leningrad, 1956. [Annotated guide of Soviet bibliographies of non-government publications]

Reference Annex, Davis
Z2491 .A1 L43 1956


Gosudarstvennaia publichnaia biblioteka imeni M.E. Saltykova-Shchedrina. Obshchie bibliografii russkikh periodicheskikh izdanii, 1703-1954. Leningrad, 1956. [Companion guide to the guide to book bibliographies]

Reference Annex
Z2491 .A1 L44


Gosudarstvennaia publichnaia istoricheskaia biblioteka RSFSR. Istoriia SSSR: Annotirovannyi perechen' russkikh bibliografii, izdannykh do 1965 g. M.L. Barukhina et al., comps. 2nd ed. Moscow, 1966. [Major reference tool for historians. This is an annotated bibliography of historical bibliographies covering all periods]

Z2491 .A1 M6 1966


Guzeeva, Irina Andreevna. Istoriia SSSR: Annotirovannyi ukazatel' bibliograficheskikh posobii, opublikovannykh na russkom iazyke s nachala XIX v. po 1982 g.: Prilozhenie. Moscow, 1985. [An appendix to the Glavatskikh volumes, which are in turn updates to the 1966 2nd edition]

Z2506 .G89 1985


Slavic Studies: A Guide to Bibliographies, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks. Murlin Croucher, comp. 2 vols. Wilmington, 1993. [5000 entries, most annotated, by country, then by subject, with LC subject headings; focus on Eastern Europe]

Reference
Z2483 .S554 1993


Vsesoiuznaia knizhnaia palata. Bibliografiia sovetskoi bibliografii. Moscow, 1939- [Annual listing of bibliographies published in the USSR.]

Reference Annex
Z2491 .A1 V75


Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

II.C. Bibliographies and Guides to Books in Print or Microfilm

Guide to Russian Reprints and Microforms. New York, 1973.

Reference, Davis
Z2491 .G84


National Register of Microform Masters. Washington, 1965--.

Reference, Davis
Z1033 .M5 N3


Books on Demand. Ann Arbor: University Microfilms International, 1977- [Annual author and title indexes. Includes a large number of Russian-language titles]

Reference [latest two years only]
Z1000.5 .B75


Microform Collections at UNC-CH.

Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

II.D. General Bibliographies on Russia and the Soviet Union

ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies). Available only from the UNC-CH IP addresses. 1956- [Annual listing of works primarily in English. Various titles and publishers. Colloquially ABSEES]

Reference
Z2483 .A65


European Bibliography of Soviet, East European and Slavonic Studies. Birmingham, 1975- [British listing, similar to the American Bibliography cited above.]

Reference
Z2483 .E94


Foster, Ludmila A. Bibliografiia russkoi zarubezhnoi literatury, 1918-1968. Boston, 1970. [Although dated, a useful tool covering materials published between 1918 and 1968.]

Z2513 .F66


Fundamental'naia biblioteka obshchestvennykh nauk (Akademiia nauk SSSR). Istoriia SSSR: Ukazatel' sovetskoi literatury za 1917-1967 gg. Two vols., two indexes. Vol. I, Istoriia SSSR s drevneishikh vremen do vstupleniia Rossii v period kapitalizma. Moscow, 1956. Vol. II, Istoriia SSSR v period kapitalizma (1861-1917). Moscow, 1958. Vol. III vyp. 4, SSSR v gody Velikoi Otechestvennoi Voiny (iiun' 1941-sentiabr' 1945). Moscow, 196?.

Reference, Davis
Z2506 .A4


Gosudarstvennaia publichnaia biblioteka imeni M.E. Saltykova-Shchedrina. Izdaniia gosudarstvennoi Publichnoi Biblioteki im. M.E. Saltykova-Shchedrina za 25 let (1957-1982 gg.). I.E. Krylova, comp. Leningrad, 1983.

Microfilm 1-3952


Books on Soviet Russia, 1917-1942: A Bibliography and Guide to Reading. London, 1943. [Useful for undergraduates.]

Z2510 .G75


Horak, Stephan M. Russia, the USSR, and Eastern Europe: A Bibliographic Guide to English-Language Publications, 1964-1974. Littleton, 1978.

Reference, Davis
Z2483 .H54
[supplement 1, 1975-80; supplement 2, 1981-85]


Horecky, Paul Louis, ed. Basic Russian Publications: An Annotated Bibliography on Russia and the Soviet Union. Chicago, 1962. [This useful, but dated reference work includes research aids, bibliographies of bibliographies, etc.]

Reference, Davis
Z2491 .H6


Horecky, Paul Louis, ed. Russia and the Soviet Union: A Bibliographic Guide to Western Language Publications. Chicago, 1965. [Annotated listing includes reference books.]

Reference, Davis
Z2491 .H64


Jones, David Lewis. Books in English on the Soviet Union, 1917-73: A Bibliography. New York, 1975. [Of limited use to researchers]

Z249l .J65


Shapiro, David Michael. A Select Bibliography of Works in English on Russian History, 1801-1917. Oxford, 1962. [Contains useful citations of periodical literature; not annotated]

Reference
Z2509 .S5


Simmons, John Simon Gabriel. Russian Bibliography, Libraries, and Archives: A Selective List of Bibliographical References for Students Interested in Russian History, Literature, Political, Social and Philosophical Thought, Theology, and Linguistics. Twickenham, 1973. [Guide includes Western-language entries.]

Z2491 .A1 S54


Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

II.E. General Bibliographies on Russia and the Soviet Union in West European Languages

Bibliographien zum Schrifttum aus und uber Russland/UdSSR: Katalog der Bibliographischen Sammlung des Dokumentationszentrums fur des Scrifttum aus und uber Russland/UdSSR. Peter Bruhn, ed. Berlin, 1977-

Folio 2491 .A1 B53


Bibliothekswesen und Bibliographie in der Sowjetunion, 1945-1975: Eine Bibliographie. Leipzig, 1978.

Z819 .A1 K67


Borck, Karin. Sowjetische Forschungen (1917 bis 1991) zur Geschichte der deutsch-russischen Beziehungen von den Anfangen bis 1949: Bibliographie (Berlin, 1993)

DD120 .R8 Z992 1993


Meyer, Klaus. Bibliographie zur osteuropaischen Geschichte: Verzeichnis d. zwischen 1939 u. 1964 veroffentlichten Literatur in westeurop. Sprachen zur osteurop. Geschichte bis 1945. Wiesbaden, 1972. [Emphasis is on German-language materials, but covers all languages. Focuses on 1939-64 publications which treat Eastern Europe to 1945. 2nd edition, see Schmidt]

Z2483 .M43


Russian History and Culture: A Microfiche Collection of Scarce Books on 19th and Early 20th Century Russia from Helsinki University Library: A Cumulative Index. Ann Arbor, 1988- [An important aid. NOTE: We have since begun to purchase this collection. See Published Research Collections below.]

Reference
A2509 .U54 1988


Schmidt, Christian D. Biibliographie zur osteuropaischen Geschichte: Verzeichnis der zwischen 1965 und 1974 veroffentlichten Literatur in westeuropaischne Sprachen zur osteuropaischen Geschichte bis 1945. Wiesbaden, 1983. [Continues the Meyer volume of the same title]

Z2483 .S34 1983


Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

II.F. Specialized Historical Bibliographies

Black, Joseph Laurence. Origins, Evolution, and Nature of the Cold War: An Annotated Bibliographic Guide. Santa Barbara, 1986.

Z6465 .U5 B53 1986


Burgina, Anna. Sotsial-demokraticheskaia men'shevistskaia literatura: Bibliograficheskii ukazatel'. Hoover, 1968.

Z7165 .R9 B8


William Elliott. Russian and Soviet Law: An Annotated Catalogue of Reference Works, Legislation, Court Reports, Serials and Monographs on Russian and Soviet Law. Zug, 1976.

Duke Law Reference
KM .B88


Clemens, Walter C. Jr. Soviet Disarmament Policy, 1917-1963: An Annotated Bibliography of Soviet and Western Sources. Stanford, 1965.

Z2517 .R4 C4


Clendenning, Philip and Bartlett, Roger. Eighteenth-Century Russia: A Select Bibliography of Works Published Since 1955. Newtonville, 1981.

Reference, Davis
Z2508 .C58


Crowther, Peter A. A Bibliography of Works in English on Early Russian History to 1800. New York, 1969.

Z2506 .C75 1969b


Degras, Jane Tabrisky. Calendar of Soviet Documents on Foreign Policy, 1917-1941. London, 1948. [Dated, but still useful. See also Johnston]

Z6465 .R9 D4


Guide to the Study of the Soviet Nationalities: Non-Russian Peoples of the USSR. Stephan M. Horak, ed. Littleton, 1982.

Reference, Davis
Z2517 .E85 G84


Hammond, Thomas Taylor. Soviet Foreign Relations and World Communism: A Selected, Annotated Bibliography of 7,000 Books in 30 Languages. Princeton, 1965. [Arranged by chronological periods, regions and countries.]

Z2517 .R4 H4


Johnston, Robert Harold. Soviet Foreign Policy, 1918-1945: A Guide to Research and Research Materials. Wilmington, 1991. [900 titles, plus explanations of how best to use sources in and out of the former Soviet Union; see also Degras]

Reference
Z6495 .S65 J64 1991


Kanet, Roger E. Soviet and East European Foreign Policy: A Bibliography of English and Russian Language Publications, 1967-1971. Santa Barbara, 1974. [Subject index.]

Reference
Z2510 .K3


Kavass, Igor. Demise of the Soviet Union: A Bibliographic Survey of English Writings on the Soviet Legal System, 1990-1991 (Buffalo, 1992)

KLA3 .K38 1992


Korsch, Boris. Religion in the Soviet Union: A Bibliography, 1980-1989 (New York, 1992)

Z7757 .S65 K67 1992


Kulikowski, Mark. A Bibliography of Slavic Mythology (Columbus, 1989)

Z7836 .K85 1989


Long, James W. The German Russians: A Bibliography of Russian Materials with Introductory Essays, Annotations, and Locations of Materials in Major American and Soviet Libraries. Santa Barbara, 1979. [Does not include locations of materials in Russian provincial libraries]

Z2517 .G4 L65


NEP: A Bibliography of Soviet and Western Literature, 1965-1995. Prepared for Professor Glennys Young University of Washington by Peter Frykholm April 21, 1995 Web Page created July 22, 1998

Nerhood, Harry W., ed. To Russia and Return: An Annotated Bibliography of Travellers' English Language Accounts of Russia from the Ninth Century to the Present. Columbus, 1968.

Reference, Davis
Z2491 .N435


Parrish, Michael. The Soviet Armed Forces: Books in English, 1950-1967. Stanford, 1970.

Z6725 .R9 P35


Polansky, Patricia. "The Russians and Soviets in Asia." International Library Review, vol. 14, 1982, pp. 217-262.

Library School Journals Room


The History of the Great Patriotic War of the Soviet Union, 1941-1945. Petr Nikolaevich Pospelov, ed. Wilmington, 1984. [7 reels of microfilm; the complete official Soviet history of World War II .... 9000 pages .... ]

Microfilm 1-3530


The Stalin-Era Research and Archives Project (SERAP) is a collaborative, multidisciplinary undertaking based at the Centre for Russian and East European Studies at the University of Toronto. Intermarum, an on-line journal for the history and politics of Central and Eastern Europe after WWII.

Zorin, Libushe. Soviet Prisons and Concentration Camps: An Annotated Bibliography, 1917-1980. Newtonville, 1980.

HV9712 .Z67


Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

II.G. Specialized Historical Bibliographies in Russian

Bibliografiia russkikh retsenzii, 1850-1924, compiled K. N. Derunov (Orel, 1924)

PN5277 .P4D47 1924


Ekonomicheskaia istoriia: Ukazatel' sovetskoi literatury, 1981-1989 g., compiled T. N. Kamzolova (Moscow, 1990)

Z7165 .R9E54 1990


Ekonomika SSSR: Annotirovannyi perechen' otechestvennykh bibliografii, opublikovannykh v 1917-1964 gg. 2 vols. Moscow, 1965.

Z7165 .R9


Gosudarstvennaia biblioteka SSSR imeni V.I. Lenina. Velikaia Oktiabr'skaia sotsialisticheskaia revoliutsiia v proizvedeniiakh sovetskikh pisatelei: K istorii sovetskoi literatury: Bibliograficheskii ukazatel' dlia nauchnykh rabotnikov, 1917-1966. Moscow, 1967.

Z2503 .M72


Gosudarstvennaia publichnaia istoricheskaia biblioteka RSFSR. Istoriia istoricheskoi nauki v SSSR: Dooktiabr'skii period: Bibliografiia. M.V. Nechkina, otv. red. Moscow, 1965. [Continued by a work of the same title for the period 1917-1967]

Z2511 .H5 M6


Istoriia dorevoliutsionnoi Rossii v dnevnikakh i vospominaniiakh: Annotirovannyi ukazatel' knig i publikatsii v zhurnalakh. Petr Andreevich Zaionchkovskii et al., eds. 5 vols. Moscow, 1976-1989.

Z2506 .I78


Istoriia istoricheskoi nauki v SSSR: Sovetskii period, oktiabr' 1917-1967 gg.: Bibliografiia. Moscow, 1980. [This volume continues the work of the same title for the pre-revolutionary period.]

Z2511 .H5 I84


Istoriia sovetskoi derevni (1917-1977 gg.): Ukazatel' literatury, 1966-1977 gg. L.N. Denisova et al., eds. 3 vols. Leningrad, 1984. [Contains 1,671 entries, continuing an earlier volume of the same name for 1945-67]

Z7165 .S65 I87 1984


Istoriia Urala, Sovetskii period: Bibliograficheskii ukazatel', compiled N. M. Poluiakhtova (Sverdlovsk, 1990)

Z2514 .U7 P65 1990


Kul'tura i kultur'noe stroitel'stvo v Sovetskoi Rossii, Oktiabr' 1917-1920 gg.: Ukazatel' sovetskoi literatury za 1917-1967 gg. K.K. Iskol'dskaia, comp. Moscow, 1971.

Micro film 1-1662


Narodnoe khoziastvo SSSR: Bibliograficheskii ukazatel' knizhnoi i zhurnal'noi literatury na russkom iazyke (1917-1963 gg.). E.V. Bazhanova, ed. Moscow, 1967- [Volume one covers 1917-1920]

Z7165 .R9 N3


Naselenie i trudovye resursy: Spravochnik. Sost. A.G. Novitskii. Moscow, 1990.

HB3607 .N395 1990


Russkii zagranichnyi istoricheskii arkhiv v Prage. Bibliografiia russkoi revoliutsii i grazhdanskoi voiny 1917-1921: Iz kataloga biblioteki R.z.i. Arkhiva. Prague, 1938. [Bibliography compiled by the Russian Historical Archive Abroad, now in the USSR. About 5,000 titles.]

Z2510 .P87


Rutman, Raisa Efimovna. Rossiia v period pervoi mirovoi voiny i Fevral'skoi burzhuazno-demokraticheskoi revoliutsii (iiul' 1914-fevral' 1917 g.): Bibliograficheskii ukazatel' sovetskoi literatury, izdannoi v 1953-1968 gg. Leningrad, 1975.

Z2510 .R97


Samizdat: Bibliograficheskii ukazatel', compiled A. Suetnov (Moscow, 1992)

Z2511 .U5 S86 1992


Shilov, Aleksei Alekseevich. Chto chitat' po istorii russkogo revoliutsionnogo dvizheniia? Ukazatel' vazhneishikh knig, broshiur i zhurnal'nykh statei. Petrograd, 1922.

Z2511 .R4 S5 1922a


Sivolgin, Vladimir Epifanovich. Ekonomika SSSR: Annotirovannyi ukazatel' otechestvennykh bibliograficheskikh posobii 1817-1917 gg. Moscow, 1979.

Z7164 .E2 S623


Spravochnik po istorii dorevoliutsionnoi Rossii: Bibliografiia. Petr Andreevich Zaionchkovskii, ed. Moscow, 1971; 2nd ed., 1978. [An excellent guide to source materials with bibliographical references.]

Z2506 .S65 [1978]


Tarasov, K. K. Totalitarnaia sistema v SSSR: Istoriia i puti preodoleniia. Ukazatel' knig i statei na russkom iazyke za 1988-pervuiu polovinu 1992 g. (Moscow, 1992)

Z7164.S6 T37 1992


Tyl Sovetskogo soiuza v gody Velikoi otechestvennoi voiny, 1941-1945: Ukazatel' sovetskoi istoricheskoi literatury za 1965-1977 gg. N.A. Khrustova et al., comps. Moscow, 1980 4 vols.

Z6207 .W8 T94


Zemskov, V. N. Rabochii klass Rossiiskoi federatsii 1917-1980 gg.: Ukazatel' sovetskoi literatury, izdannoi v 1917-1980 gg. Moscow, 1982. [A very selective publication, including some 1,557 entries. UNC has vols. 4-7]

Z7164 .L1 Z46 1982


Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

II.H. Other Bibliographies on Russia and the Soviet Union (examples)

Green, William Soviet Nuclear Weapons Policy: A Research and Bibliographical Guide. Boulder, 1987.

UA770 .G735 1987


Heiliger, William S. Bibliography of the Soviet Social Sciences, 1965-1975. 2 vols. Troy, 1978.

Z7161 .H444


Heleniak, Timothy E. Bibliography of Soviet Statistical Handbooks. Washington, 1988. [Over 2000 handbooks published since the mid fifties. Earlier version of book had title: Bibliography of Regional Statistical Handbooks]

Reference
Z7165 .S65 H47 1988


__________. Bibliography of Soviet/Russian Statistical Handbooks, 1954-1992, (Newtonville, 1992)

Ref
Z7165 .S65 H47 1988


Kavass, Igor I. Soviet Law in English: Research Guide and Bibliography, 1970-1987. Buffalo, 1988. [1600 books and articles, annotated] Davis Law

K5561 KLA47 .K38 1988


Research Guide to the Russian and Soviet Censuses. Ralph S. Clem, ed. Ithaca, 1986. [A comprehensive list of tables from the major censuses, 1897-1979, with keyword index an d list of geographic units]

HB3607 .R43 1986


Sanchez, James. Bibliography for Soviet Geography: With Special Reference to Cultural, Historical, and Economic Geography. Chicago, 1985.

Z5942 .C682 no. 152


Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides
 

Website comments or questions: Nadia Zilper
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/slavic/guides/history_2.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, June 21, 2006.