On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University Libraries banner
Old Well icon University Libraries banner
 
Click here to skip header navigation.
castle A Research Guide to Soviet History: V. Published Research Collections
A. Published Research Collections
B. Published Guides to Research Collections
C. Published Documents (Examples)
Table of contents Guides

Note: Numerous titles have been made available recently. Check distributors' catalogs for other collections not in our holdings.


V.A. Published Research Collections

Archives of the Soviet Communist Party and Soviet State. This unique collection makes available over 3,000 documents, most of which date from the last three decades. Under present-day legislation no material less than 30 years old can be on unrestricted access. Thus these documents, made available through special court order, were specially de-classified.

Fond 89 (The Communist Party on Trial)
Fond 2, opis' 1
Fond 6, opisi, 1-9 (the opisi for the former Communist Party Archive)
1-4739


The Boris I. Nicolaevsky Collection in the Archives of the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution, and Peace. University Microfilms International, 1991- [Over 400 reels of microfilm, including Trotsky's personal papers from the exile period, Tsereteli, Axelrod, Chernov, Breshko-Breshkovskaia, Bakunin, Gorky, Andreev, Bunin, Kropotkin, Plekhanov, Martov, Potresov, Miliukov, and others, topical subgroups on socialist and revolutionary history, papers of these organizations: RSDRP, SRDD, Bund, Latvian SDs, PSR, Narodnaia volia, etc., photographs, and Nicolaevsky's personal papers. Spring '93: 4 units (each with printed guide), 122 reels of microfilm]

Microfilm 1-4449


British Documents on Foreign Affairs Reports and Papers from the Foreign Office Confidential Print: Part I, from the Mid-Nineteenth Century to the First World War: Series A, Russia, 1859-1914. Dominic Lieven, ed. 6 vols. Frederick, 1983.

Duke Perkins quarto
327.41047 B862 1983


British Documents on Foreign Affairs Reports and Papers from the Foreign Office Confidential Print: Part II, from the First to the Second World War: Series A, the Soviet Union, 1917-1939. D. Cameron Watt, ed. 17 vols. Frederick, 1984-86.

Duke Perkins quarto
327.47 B862 1984


CIA Research Reports. The Soviet Union, 1946-1976. Frederick, 1982. [5 reels of microfilm with printed guide]

Microfilm 1-2667


Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Russia and the Soviet Union. Paul Kesaris, ed. 3 vols. Frederick, 1982- [Guides to the three sections, 1914-18, 1919-33, 1934-41] Collection availabe at Duke; see next entry

Reference Z2510.3 .C65 1982


Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Russia and the Soviet Union. Frederick, 1984- [Includes Russia: From Czars to Commissars, 1914-1918 10 reels, and The Soviet Union, 1919-1933, 75 reels]

Perkins Newsp.-Micro Dept.
M5671s


Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: The Soviet Union Foreign Affairs, 1945-1949. Frederick, 1984. [10 reels of microfilm]

Microfilm 1-3014
Guide: Reference Z2510.3 .G64 1985 and Microfilm 1-3013


Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: The Soviet Union Internal Affairs, 1945-1949. Paul Kesaris, ed. Frederick, 1984. [39 reels]

Microfilm 1-3013
Guide: Reference Z2510.3 .G64 1985 and Microfilm 1-3013


Kommunisticheskaia partiia Sovetskogo Soiuza. Smolenskii oblastnoi komitet. Partiinyi arkhiv. [Smolensk Archives] 1917-1941. Washington, 195?. [75 reels of microfilm: T87 reels 1-69; T84 reels 27-28; T88 reels 1-4. NCSU has all of T87, which is commonly considered the complete archive. UNC has reels 1-17, two copies of 18-20, reels 21-56, and 61-68 of T87; reels 1-3 of T88. T87 reel one contains two guides to the archive; there are printed guides in the stacks, in govt. docs., and in the microform reading room: Guide to the Records of the Smolensk Oblast of the All-Union Communist Party of the Soviet Union, 1917-1941]

Microfilm 1-1269 [= T87 reels 1-56, 18-20, 61-68]
Microfilm 1-2611 [= T88 reels 1-3]
Guide: Microforms Reading Room, Govt. Docs.
Preliminary draft, guide: DK511 .S7 K61 Index
NCSU mfm 343


Russian History and Culture. Ann Arbor, 1988- [Not cataloged as a collection, but as separate pieces; see the Index to find specific items. 5000 rare titles in the humanities and social sciences filmed from Helsinki University Library's Slavonic collection, titles from 1828-1927. UNC has already acquired 2,000 titles. My searching revealed that it is necessary to search under both title and author in order to find a particular work.]

Microfiche 1-2241


The Soviet Union. Washington, 1977. [O.S.S./State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, part VI, 1941-49. 8 reels of microfilm with printed guide]

Microfilm 1-2355
Guide: Reference Z2519 .S67


The Soviet Union, 1950-1961: Supplement. Washington, 197_. [O.S.S./State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, Part XI. 6 reels of microfilm with printed guide]

Microfilm 1-2356
Guide: Reference Z2519 .G84


The Soviet Union: Special Studies, 1970-1980. Frederick, 1981. [9 reels of microfilm with printed guide]

Microfilm 1-2351
Guide: Reference Z2519 .S68


The Soviet Union: Special Studies, 1980-1982; Supplement. Frederick, 1983. [8 reels of microfilm with printed guide]

Microfilm 1-2351 Suppl
Guide: Reference Z2519 .S682 1983


United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State Relaing to Political Relations between the Soviet Union and Other States, 1940-1944. Washington, 1980. [4 reels; Decimal File 761: one of three parts]

Microfilm 1-2418


United States. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations between the United States and the Soviet Union, 1930-1939 and 1940-1944. Washington, 1980. [3 reels and 1 reel; Decimal file 711.61: two of three parts]

Microfilm 1-2416 [1930-1939]
Microfilm 1-2417 [1940-1944]


United States. Dept. of State. Collection name: Decimal files. UNC has a few of these, which are available on microfilm. The following is a listing of all the decimal files relating to the area of the Russian empire and Soviet Union. An asterisk marks items at UNC or Duke.

Records of the Russian Consulates, 1862-1922 [M1486; 168 rolls]
Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of ...
Russia/the Soviet Union, 1910-1929 [dec. file 861] [M316; 177 rolls]
the Soviet Union, 1930-1939 [d.f. 861] [T1249; 75 rolls]
the Soviet Union, 1940-1944 [d.f. 861] [T1250; 35 rolls]
Ukraine, 1918-1949 [d.f. 860e] [M1286; 6 rolls]
Baltic States, 1910-1944 [d.f. 860n] [M1185; 8 rolls]
Estonia, 1910-1944 [d.f. 860i] [M1170; 23 rolls]
Latvia, 1910-1944 [d.f. 860p] [M1177; 19 rolls]
Lithuania, 1910-1944 [d.f. 860m] [M1178 22 rolls]
Armenia, 1910-1929 [d.f. 860j] [T1192; 8 rolls]
Azerbaijan, 1910-1929 [d.f. 890c] [M722; 1 roll]


Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and ...

Russia/the Soviet Union, 1910-1929 [d.f. 711.61] [M333; 7 rolls]
* the Soviet Union, 1930-1939 [d.f. 711.61] [T1241; 3 rolls]
* the Soviet Union, 1940-1944 [d.f. 711.61] [T1242; 1 roll]


Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the Soviet Union and ...

Other States, 1910-1929 [d.f. 761][M340; 20 rolls]
Other States, 1930-1939 [d.f. 761] [T1247; 14 rolls]
* Other States, 1940-1944 [d.f. 761] [T1248; 4 rolls]
Finland, 1930-1944 [d.f. 760d.61] [T1186; 6 rolls]
Great Britain, 1910-1929 [d.f. 741.61] [M582; 3 rolls]


Samizdat Newspapers Collection on Microfiche. A collection of unofficial Russian Newspapers published between 1988 and 1992. Collected and published on microfiche by the Institut gumanitarno-politicheskikh issledovanii. Arkhiv M-BIO.

United States. Joint Chiefs of Staff. Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff: Part I, 1942-1945: The Soviet Union. Frederick, 1981. [2 reels of microfilm with printed guide]

Microfilm 1-2317


United States. Joint Chiefs of Staff. Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff: Part II, 1946-1953: The Soviet Union. Frederick, 1981 [7 reels of microfilm with printed guide]

Microfilm 1-2757
Guide: Reference Z2511 .D44 G84


For more information on the published collections visit
Microform Collections at UNC-CH


V.B. Published Guides to Research Collections

Bol'sheviki: Dokumenty po istorii bol'shevizma s 1903 po 1916 god byvshego Moskovskogo Okhrannogo Otdeleniia. Red. I.E. Gorelova. 3rd ed. Moscow, 1990. [There is also a 1990 reprint of the 1918 edition, the call number differs as follows: .S6 B582 1990]

JN6598 .S599 B65 1990


Declassified National Intelligence Estimates on the Soviet Union and International Communism, 1946-1984, Center for the Study of Intelligence, Central Intelligence Agency.

This listing is in the personal collection of Professor Donald J. Raleigh.

A Guide to Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: The Soviet Union Internal Affairs, 1950-1954, and Foreign Affairs, 1950-1954. Robert Lester, comp. Frederick, 1985. [Guide only]

CD3031 .G75 1985


A Guide to the Microfiilm Edition of the John F. Kennedy National Security Files: U.S.S.R. and Eastern Europe National Seurity Files, 1961-1963. Stuart Stern, comp. Bethesda,1987. [Guide only]

Z6465 .U5 G8474 1987


Russia in Transition: The Diplomatic Papers of David R. Francis, U.S. Ambassador to Russia, 1916-1918. Frederick, 1986. [Guide only]

Z6616 .F73 R877 1986


US Military Intelligence Reports: The Soviet Union, 1919-1941. Dale Reynolds, ed. University Publications of America, 1984. [Guide only]

DK266 .A3 U17 1984


Volkogonov, Dmitrii Antonovich. A Register of His Papers in the Library of Congress, prepared by Andrei Pliguzov and Paul Frank (Washington, 1996) [The Volkogonov Collection contains approximately 10,150 items, mainly copies of documents found in various Russian archives that the author used in writing his books.]

The guide is in the personal collection of Professor Donald J. Raleigh.

For more information on the published collections visit
Microform Collections at UNC-CH


V.C. Published Documents (Examples)

Davis Library contains a great number of published documents on all aspects of Russian and Soviet history. In selecting a few items to list below I have concentrated on CPSU materials.

God krizisa: 1938-1939: Dokumenty i materialy. Red. A.P. Bondarenko et al. Moscow, 1990.

DK273 .G58 1990


Kommunisticheskaia partiia sovetskogo soiuza. Kommunisticheskaia partiia Sovetskogo soiuza v rezoliutsiiakh i resheniiakh s"ezdov, konferentsii i plenumov TsK. A.G. Edokov and K.M. Bogoliubov, eds. 15 vols. 9th ed. Moscow, 1983-1988.

JN6598 .K55 R8 1983c


Kommunisticheskaia partiia sovetskogo soiuza. S"ezd. Stenograficheskii otchet. 7th (1918)- Moscow, [195 ]- [Title varies: also Protokoly, also Protokoly i stenograficheskie otchety.... Also in Davis in Ukrainian. Earlier congresses under RSDRP]

JN6598 .K4 K57


McNeal, Robert H. Guide to the Decisions of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union, 1917-1967. Toronto, 1972. [Chronological listing of documents; English introduction with Russian text]

Z7165 .R9 M


Mitchell, B. R. International Historical Statistics, 1750-1988. 3 vols. 3rd ed. New York, 1992-1994. [Comparative historical statistics compiled from official publications. 2d ed. also in Davis]

Reference
HA1107 .M583 1992


Soviet Archives Collection of documents secretly copied by Russian dissident Vladimir Bukovsky from the archives of the KPSS (Communist Party of the Soviet Union), including KGB ("Komitet Gosudarstevennoi Bezopasnosti") reports to the KPSS Central Committee.

Soviet Union. S"ezd narodnykh deputatov. The U.S.S.R. First Congress of People's Deputies: Complete Documents and Records, May 25 1989-June 10 1989. Rolf W. Theen, ed. 1st ed. 4 vols. New York, 1991- [Translations from the broadcasts and transcripts]

J397 .H45 S68 1989


Soviet Union. S"ezd narodnykh deputatov (1st: 1989: Moscow, R.S.F.S.R.). Pervyi s"ezd narodnykh deputatov SSSR: 25 maia-9 iiunia 1989 g.: Stenograficheskii otchet. Moscow, 1989-

JN6554 .S68 1989



 

Website comments or questions: Nadia Zilper
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/slavic/guides/history_5.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, June 21, 2006.