On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University Libraries banner
Old Well icon University Libraries banner
 
Click here to skip header navigation.
castle A Research Guide to Soviet History: VI. U.S. Government Documents
Table of contents Guides

The Government Documents Collection contains a wealth of primary material of interest to historians, and UNC is a repository library for federal documents. You are advised to consult with the collection librarians, as the methods for using this collection are complex. The best method of access at present is the GPO database. For a general introduction to the collection see:

Catalog of United States Government Publications (MOCAT) | about |

Morehead, Joe. Introduction to United States Government Information Sources. 4th ed. Englewood, 1992. [Earlier editions have the title Introduction to United States Public Documents]

Reference
Z1223 .Z7 M665 1992


Robinson, Judith Schiek. Subject Guide to Government Reference Sources. Rev. ed. Littleton, 1985. [First edition author: Sally Wynkoop]

Reference, Library School Library Reference, Law Library Reference
Z1223 .R63 1985


Robinson, Judith Schiek. Tapping the Government Grapevine: The User-Friendly Guide to U.S. Government Information Sources. Phoenix, 1988.

Reference, Library School Library, Law Library Reference
Z1223 .Z7 R633 1988


Schmeckebier, Laurence Frederick. Government Publications and Their Use. 2nd ed. Washington, 1969.

Z1223 .Z7 S3 1969


U.S. Superintendent of Documents. Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications.

Reference, Davis
Z1223 .A18


Those interested in Russian studies will also find the following to be of value in their research:

FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service) Soviet Union [on fiche; translations into English of daily Soviet domestic broadcasts] [Daily Report: Central Eurasia: Index.]

Reference Row 14,
DK1 .D342
FBIS in paper format to July 1996
CD-ROM July 1996 - March 1997
* Internet subscription service April 1997 - present. Users must ask a Reference
Department staff member to log them on.


JPRS (Joint Publications Research Service) [on fiche, largely scientific materials, most holdings in Law or Health Sciences Libraries. Ask at Reference desk]



CIA Electronic Document Release Center

CIA's Historical Review Program contains declassified historically significant Agency documents released to the National Archives. Currently this project includes the following subdivisions:

  • Declassified National Intelligence Estimates on the Soviet Union and International Communism
  • Declassified Intelligence Estimates on Selected Free World Countries
  • Declassified Intelligence Analyses on the Former Soviet Union Produced by CIA's Directorate of Intelligence

Indexes to these documents are arranged by year. Unfortunately there is no indication in the indexes whether or not full text of these documents is available online. However Search (the button located in the left frame) produces full text documents as graphic images. It is also not clear if the full text documents are the same as in the CIA's Historical Review Program indexes.

Government Information Resources in UNC-CH Libraries by Michael Van Fossen, International Documents Librarian, Davis Library, Reference Department.

GPO Access | about |

GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS: U.S. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

U.S. Department of State materials can also be found in the Government Documents Collection, as can documents of the League of Nations, the United Nations, and Great Britian's Parliamentary Papers. Indexes, catalogs, and other finding aids are available.

Government Information Resources in UNC-CH Libraries by Michael Van Fossen, International Documents Librarian, Davis Library, Reference Department.

Department of State Bulletin. Washington, 1939-1990. [Continued by Foreign Policy Bulletin]

Reference, Reference Federal Documents Law
S 1.3: K4 .E6267


Foreign Policy Bulletin. Washington, 1990- [Supersedes Department of State Bulletin]

Reference Row 11 Law
E840 .F676 K6 .O72438


Foreign Relations of the United States. Washington, 1861- [1861-1931 Papers Relating to the Foreign Relations of the United States]

Reference
JX233 .A3


A Guide to the United States Treaties in Force. Buffalo, 1982-

Reference, Davis
JX235.9 .A332


Treaties in Force. 1955-82

Reference
JX235.9 .A332


United States. Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America, 1776-1949. 13 vols. Washington, 1968-76.

Reference
JX236 1968 .A5


United States Treaties and Other International Agreements. 1950-

Reference
JX231 .A34


 

Website comments or questions: Nadia Zilper
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/slavic/guides/history_6.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, June 21, 2006.