On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University Libraries banner
Old Well icon University Libraries banner
 
Click here to skip header navigation.
castle A Research Guide to Soviet History: IX. Russian Newspapers in Davis Library (and in area)
A. English Language Newspapers
B. Indexes
C. Indexes in Russian
D. Bibliographic Aids
E. Locations
F. Of Additional Interest
G. Russian Language Newspapers
Table of contents Guides

IX.A. English Language Newspapers

Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press. Washington, 1949- [1949-92, of the Soviet Press]

D839 .C87


Lexis-Nexis. See Academic Universe.

Reprints from the Soviet Press. 1965-

DK266 .A2 R37


Soviet Press: Selected Translations. Washington, 1973-

Folio UA770 .S684


Soviet Press Translations 1-4, 1946-49

077.5728


Current Abstracts of the Soviet Press. 1968-70. [Absorbed by Current Digest]

D839 .C86


Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

IX.B. Indexes

Access to the English language newspaper indexes on CD-ROMs is via Davis Library Networked CD-ROMs from the computers located in the Reference Department or at the Information Commons across the hall from the Reference Desk in Davis Library.

Indexes to periodicals and newspapers telnet access from any computer on campus and from home, must be UNC student, faculty, staff or hold a UNC Library Borrower's Card.

Lexis-Nexis. See Academic Universe.

NC Live North Carolina Live Available ONLY from the UNC-CH IP addresses. Includes full text newspapers such as New York Times, Wall Street Journal and others.

Pravda Index (Ann Arbor, Mich.). Pravda Index. Ann Arbor, 1986- [quarterly, annual cumulations]

AI21 .P73 P72


Pravda (Moscow, Russia) [CD-ROM serial] translated into English by Context Corporation. Minneapolis, MN : ALDE Publishing, 1987 (only one year is available)

Reference. Electronic Resources
CD-ROM CALL NUMBER: Serial 10-17


Full text English language newspapers are available from Newspaper Abstracts (NewsAbs) via OCLC FirstSearch [Does not Contain Full Text] or Newspaper Source via NCLive - EbscoHost [Contains Full Text] at NC Live North Carolina Live Available ONLY from the UNC-CH IP addresses. Go to E Indexes & Databases , to Newspaper Abstracts or Newspaper Source

Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

IX.C. Indexes in Russian

Letopis' gazetnykh statei. Mosow, 1936- [1936-38 Gazetnaia letopis'. The major index to Russian newspapers]

AI15 .L35 Microfilm Serial 1-723


Pravda, Moscow (Indexes). Pravda, 1912-1914, 1917 gg.: Bibliograficheskii ukazatel'. Moscow, 1962.

AI21 .P73


Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

IX.D. Bibliographic Aids

There are many Russian bibliographic aids to help one trace the history of newspapers. The most comprehensive are:

Dokumenty i pechat' obshchestvenno-politicheskikh klubov, 1987-1989 gg. (Moscow, 1991)

Microfiche
1-3545


Gazety pervykh let Sovetskoi vlasti, 1917-1922: Svodnyi bibliograficheskii katalog, ed. I. V. Morozov (Moscow, 1990)

Z6956 .S65 G391990


Gazety SSSR, 1917-1960; bibliograficheskii spravochnik. 5 vols. Moscow, 1970-84.

Reference
Z6956 .R9 G34


Gosudarstvennaia publichnaia biblioteka imeni M.E. Saltykova-Shchedrina. Bibliografiia periodicheskikh izdanii Rossii, 1901-1916. L.N. Beliaeva et al., eds. 4 vols. Leningrad, 1958-1961.

Reference
Z6956 .R9 L353


Il'inskii, Leonid Konstantinovich. Spisok povremennykh izdanii za 1917 god. 2 vols. Petrograd, 1919-1922; facsimile ed. Cleveland, 1963.

Reference
Z6956 .R9 I4


Leningrad. Publichnaia biblioteka. Gazetnyi otdel. Alfavitnyi sluzhebnyi katalog russkikh dorevoliutsionnykh gazet (1703-1916). Leningrad, 1958.

Reference
Z6956 .R9 L357


Letopis' periodicheskikh izdanii SSSR. [This is a complicated series to describe, but there are separate newspaper volumes for 1955-60, 1961-65, 1966-70, 1971-75. Later title: Letopis' periodicheskikh i prodolzhaiushchikhsia izdanii]

Reference
Z6956.S65 L47


Lisovskii, Nikolai Mikhailovich. Bibliografiia russkoi periodicheskoi pechati 1703-1900 gg. (Materialy dlia istorii russkoi zhurnalistiki). Petrograd, 1915. [Supposedly an abbreviation of the volume below, it is roughly 3 times as long]

Z6956 .R9 L4 1915


Lisovskii, Nikolai Mikhailovich. Russkaia periodicheskaia pechat', 1703-1900 gg. (Bibliografiia i graficheskie tablitsy). Petrograd, 1915; Reprint ed. Leipzig, 1965.

Folio
Z6956 .R9 L4 1915


List of the Serial Publications of Foreign Governments, 1815-1931. Winifred Gregory, ed. New York, 1932.

Reference
Z7164 .G7 L7


Smits, Rudolf, comp. Half a Century of Soviet Serials, 1917-1968: A Bibliography and Union List of Serials Published in the USSR. 2 vols. Washington, D.C., 1968.

Reference, Library School Library
Reference, Davis
Z6956 .R9 U575


Sreznevskii, Vsevolod Izmailvovich [sic]. Spisok russkikh povremennykh izdanii s 1703 po 1899 god: S sviedeniiami ob ekzempliarakh prinadlezhashchikh Bibliotekie Imperatorskoi Akademii nauk. Korrekturnoe izd. St. Petersburg, 1901.

Reference
Z6956 .R9 A45


Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

IX.E. Locations

Newspapers are more difficult to collect than journals. It is unusual to find complete runs for all but the most common titles.

Slavic and East European Newspapers at UNC-CH and other Triangle Universities.

Bessonova, N. N., and O. N. Nizhneva. Krupneishie gazetnye fondy nauchnykh bibliotek strany: Annotirovannyi ukazatel'. Moscow, 1984.

Z675 .N37 B47 1984 Microfilm 1-3954


Center for Research Libraries. Foreign Newspapers Collection

Center for Research Libraries (U.S.). Center for Research Libraries catalogue: Newspapers. Chicago, 1969.

Folio Z6945 .C533


Center for Research Libraries (U.S.). Serials and Newspapers Currently Received at the Center for Research Libraries as of April, 1991. 2 vols. Chicago, 1991

Reference Books-in-print Stand
Z6945 .C438 1991


Center for Research Libraries (U.S.). Soviet Serials Currently Received at the Center for Research Libraries. Chicago, 1981-

Reference
Z6956 .R8 C468


Center for Research Libraries (U.S.). A Union Listing of Currently Received Newspapers. [s.l.], 1978

Reference
Z6945 .C534 1978


Columbia University. Libraries. A List of Russian Newspapers in the Columbia University Libraries. Karol Maichel, comp. New York, 1959.

Z6956 .R9 C6


Gosudarstvennaia biblioteka SSSR imeni V.I. Lenina. Otdel gazet. Russkie dorevoliutsionnye gazety v fondakh Gosudarstvennoi biblioteki SSSR imeni V.I. Lenina: Alfavitnyi katalog. 5 vols. 2nd ed. Moscow, 1986.

Z6956 .S65 G67 1986


Gosudarstvennaia biblioteka SSSR imeni V.I. Lenina. Otdel gazet. Russkie gazety perioda 1917-1922 gg. v fondakh Gosudarstvennoi biblioteki SSSR imeni V.I. Lenina. 3 vols. Moscow, 1982.

Reference
Z6956 .S65 G67 1982


Hoover Institution on War, Revolution, and Peace. The Library Catalogs of the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution, and Peace, Stanford University: Catalogs of the Western Language Serials and Newspaper Collection. 3 vols. Boston, 1969. [vol. 3=newspapers]

Reference Folio
Z881 .S7885


Hoover Institution on War, Revolution, and Peace. Soviet and Russian Newspapers at the Hoover Institution, a Catalog. Karol Maichel, comp. Stanford, 1966.

Reference
Z6945 .S7983


Library of Congress. Newspapers of the Soviet Union in the Library of Congress (Slavic, 1954-1960; non-Slavic, 1917-1960). Paul L. Horecky, prep. Washington, 1962.

Reference
Z6956 .R9 U55


Newspapers in Microform. Washington, 1973- [A supplement to the United States and Foreign Countries volumes]

Reference Desk, Davis
Z6945 .N75


Newspapers in Microform: Foreign Countries. Washington, 1948/1972- [1948-67, Newspapers on Microfilm, Z6945 .N747. Check Soviet Union section]

Reference Desk
Z6945 .N748


Newspapers in Microform (Ann Arbor, Mich.). Newspapers in Microform. Ann Arbor, [1985?]-92. [Either a competing edition, or place of publication moved]

Z6945 .N73


Prokes, Jaroslav. Bibliografiia gazetnykh sobranii Russkogo istoricheskogo arkhiva za gody 1917-1921. Prague, 1939. [Catalog of the newspaper collection of the Russkii zarubezhnyi istoricheskii arkhiv in Prague; current location of collection unknown (Osobyi arkhiv?)]

CD1157 .P7 C9 vyp. 1


Samizdat Russian newspapers. A collection of unofficial Russian Newspapers published between 1988 and 1992. Collected and published on microfiche by the Institut gumanitarno-politicheskikh issledovanii. Arkhiv M-BIO.

NOT YET CATALOGED


Serials & Newspapers in Microform. Ann Arbor, 1992/93- [Supersedes the Ann Arbor Newspapers in Microform]

Reference
Z6946 .S49


U.S. Library of Congress. Slavic and Central European Division. Russian, Ukrainian, and Belorussian newspapers, 1917-1953; a union list. Paul L. Horecky, comp. Washington, 1953.

Reference, Davis
Z6956 .R9 U66


Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

IX.F. Of Additional Interest

New Europe (Marketed as the largest international newspaper providing coverage of former Communist countries, New Europe issues weekly reports on political, financial, and social issues in twenty-nine countries.

Piatetskaia, S. Introducing Russian newspapers. Moscow, 1974. This publication has been described as a manual of Russian journalistic style, designed for English-speaking students of Russian.

PG2112 .P53


Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides

IX.G. Russian Language Newspapers

Universal Database of Russian Central Newspapers Available from any UNC-CH IP address. Description

Universal Database of Russian Regional Newspapers Available from any UNC-CH IP address. Description

Universal Database of CIS/Baltic Publications Available from any UNC-CH IP address. Description

Universal Database of Russian Parliamentray Publications Available from any UNC-CH IP address. Description

Universal Database of Russian Military and Security Publications Available from any UNC-CH IP address. Description

Top of chapter
Table of contents
Guides
 

Website comments or questions: Nadia Zilper
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/slavic/guides/history_9.html
This page was last updated Monday, December 10, 2007.