University Libraries banner
 
Click here to skip header navigation.
castle Government Information Resources in UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries

This page links to government information resources related to Slavic and East European area studies available at UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries or accessible remotely via the Internet. Government information is available from these levels of government:

  • U.S. FEDERAL GOVERNMENT: These English-language resources are available in print, microforms, CD-ROM's, and the Internet. The Catalog of U.S. Government Documents, (1994-present) is searchable by author, title, and subject. Other electronic indexes relating to government information are available through the UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries Electronic Indexes page on Government Information. We have numerous paper indexes for federal documents published from 1789. Ask at the Reference Desk for assistance.
  • UNITED NATIONS: UNC has been a UN depository since 1946. These English-language resources are available in print, microforms, CD-ROM's, and the Internet. Indexes to the collection are available in paper and CD-ROM. (CD-ROM indexes are listed below.) A guide to Researching the United Nations at UNC Chapel Hill is available with information on indexes, where to find materials, etc. The United Nations home page is searchable and includes sections on the various topics dealt with at the UN. Regional information can be found at the home page of the Economic Commission for Europe.
  • INTERNATIONAL GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS (IGO's): These English-language resources include print, microforms, CD-ROM's and the Internet. IGO's include the European Union, NATO, Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, etc. We have a large collection of publications from the League of Nations, which covers 1919-1945. Not all IGO publications are listed in the library online catalog. Ask at the Reference Desk for assistance. For Internet resources, multi-organization sites with links to IGO's are on the Documents Section Home Page, and from the Union of International Associations. Most of these organization sites have extensive, searchable Publications sections with full text publications.
  • FOREIGN GOVERNMENTS: All publications from foreign governments are cataloged and listed in the UNC-Chapel Hill Online catalog or the library paper catalog (in the Reference Department). The paper catalog includes items published prior to 1976 that are not listed in the online catalog. Publications are listed by government agency, title, or subject.

If you have questions regarding government information in the UNC Chapel Hill Libraries please contact Michael Van Fossen, State/International Documents Librarian, Davis Library Reference Department.


INTERNET RESOURCES AVAILABLE VIA REMOTE ACCESS

This is a selection of full-text government internet resources. For more Internet links, go to the Davis Library Documents Section Home Page.

Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments, arranged by country, includes major government and cabinet officials.

  • Country Studies, from the Library of Congress. Studies on 85 countries that describe and analyze their political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions.
  • Country Commercial Guides, from the U.S. Department of State, are prepared annually by U.S. embassies with the assistance of several U.S. government agencies. These reports present a comprehensive look at countries' commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis.
  • The Electronic Embassy, includes information on all foreign embassies in Washington D.C.
  • The Electronic Research Collection, a partnership of the University of Illinois at Chicago and the U.S. State Department offers a historical collection of information from the State Department.
  • Foreign Relations of the U.S. series, from the U.S. Department of State. The series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Volumes dealing with the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations are now being researched and published. Recent online volumes include: Kennedy-Khrushchev Exchanges, 1961-1963, Cuban Missile Crisis & Aftermath, Eastern Europe Regions; Soviet Union; Cyprus, 1958-1960. 1964-68.
  • GPO Access, this collection of online databases offers full text of information from the U.S. Congress, the Supreme Court and several other agencies. The databases are searchable and most start in the early 1990's. Includes such databases as Congressional bills, the Congressional Record, Congressional Record Index, and Congressional documents.
  • New Independent States Of the Former U.S.S.R., from the U.S. Department of State includes Press statements; Remarks, testimony, and briefings; Country Information Fact sheets and other material; and Select shortcuts.
  • Revelations from the Russian Archives, from the Library of Congress, is the first public display of the hitherto highly secret internal record of Soviet Communist rule. This includes facimilies of documents and an English translation.
  • United Nations Home Page
  • United Nations Home Page in Russian
  • World Factbook, from the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), includes overviews of all countries of the world, with statistical information, history, politics, etc.
  • World News Connection. This online news service provides translated and English-language news and information. The information is full text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Generally, new information is available within 48-72 hours from the time of original publication or broadcast. To use this subscription service, ask at the Reference Desk, where a staff member will log you in.

RESOURCES AVAILABLE ON CD-ROM

These CD-ROM's or internet services are available in the Reference Department, either in Electronic Documents or the Electronic Information Service. Please ask at the Reference Desk for assistance.

  • Datastream. Electronic Information Service. This is on-line service includes data from the OECD, IMF, and foreign governments; many time series go back 30-40 years.
  • EUROSTAT-CD. Electronic Documents. 1994- An electronic version of the Statistical Yearbook of the European Community.
  • Human Rights: Bibliographical Data and International Instruments, 1995. Electronic Documents. An index to UN publications dealing with human rights, 1980-1994; includes texts of 95 international human rights treaties/conventions/resolutions.
  • ILOLEX. Electronic Documents. International Labour Organization. A CD-ROM version of the International Labour Code--a set of standards concerning human rights, employment policy, working conditions, etc. in countries of the world.
  • Index to House of Commons Parliamentary Papers. Electronic Documents. 1991-present.
  • Index to United Nations Documents and Publications. Electronic Documents. 1966-present. Contains bibliographic records of UN official records, documents, mimeographed items, periodicals, and full texts of some resolutions.
  • International Statistical Yearbook. Electronic Information Service. 1994- This includes statistics from the IMF, OECD, and United Nations Industrial Development Organization.
  • Statistical Yearbook. Electronic Documents. (United Nations) 39th issue, 1993. CD-ROM version includes 100 tables with data for 1981-1992.
  • UNBIS PLUS. Electronic Documents. 1975- Indexes UN documents in addition to books and periodicals dealing with international affairs issues. Includes some full-text resolutions.
  • UNESCO Databases. Electronic Documents. 1993. Contains ten databases indexing UNESCO publications.
  • WISTAT: Women’s Indicators and Statistics Database. Electronic Documents. Data on women, worldwide, 1970-1993.
  • World Data 1995: World Bank Indicators. Electronic Documents. 700 time series, 1960-1994.
 

Website comments or questions: Nadia Zilper
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/slavic/guides/russia/slavres.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, June 21, 2006.