UNC Libraries
Click here to            
skip header navigation.
  Click here to
skip header navigation. How Do I...?  |   Hours  |   Catalog  |   Article Databases   |   E-Journal Finder   

castle New Databases

Guides to Russian Archives

The Guides to Russian Archives database includes sixty guides, twenty for federal and forty for regional archives, published in Russia between 1987 and 2004. This database provides descriptions of over 100,000 groups of documents called fondy. Functionalities of the database enable the user to conduct global searches across all guides by keywords, combinations of keywords and exact phrases enclosed in quotation marks. Advanced search is also possible in specific database fields such as title, annotation, description, and within a specified date range. It is also possible to conduct all the above-mentioned searches within one or several selected guides.
Excellent indexes make it possible to find sought information even when a user is not familiar with the specific vocabulary of archival guides. Browsing functionalities list all guides by title and lead the user directly to a particular guide where keyword searching can be performed. The database is accompanied by an excellent description of content and functionalities and usage instructions.

CIA Electronic Reading Room

CIA Electronic Reading Room contains declassified historically significant Agency documents released to the National Archives. Currently this project includes the following subdivisions:

  • Declassified National Intelligence Estimates on the Soviet Union and International Communism
  • Declassified Intelligence Estimates on Selected Free World Countries
  • Declassified Intelligence Analyses on the Former Soviet Union Produced by CIA's Directorate of Intelligence
  • The National Intelligence Concil (NIC) Collection
  • The Princeton Collection

Indexes to these documents are arranged by year. Unfortunately there is no indication in the indexes whether or not full text of these documents is available online. However Search (the button located in the right frame) produces full text documents as graphic images. It is also not clear if the full text documents are the same as in the CIA's Historical Review Program indexes.

These databases are accessible from UNC Libraries > Article and More>Article Databases & More.

Russian National Bibliography

Access:   UNC-Chapel Hill campus. Students, faculty, and staff with a valid UNC-Chapel Hill 9-digit PID (Person ID) or AHEC users affiliated with UNC-Chapel Hill with an AHEC Digital Library account may access from off-campus.   (Instructions)   The database is searchable in both Cyrillic and Latin characters. If you work at the public terminals in Davis Library and the House Undergraduate Library press ALT + SHIFT keys to toggle between Russian and English.  

Medium:   Web  

Coverage:   1998 -  

Language:   Russian 

Description:

A comprehensive bibliographic product of Russian printed works from the governmental body, the Russian Book Chamber. The Universal Database of Russian National Bibliography (UDB) provides bibliographic access to books, newspapers, journals, book criticism and reviews, the arts, sheet music, dissertations and maps. The UDB covers publications by over 21,000 publishers.

Subject Headings:

Slavic and East European Studies
 
Home | Request Acquisition | Gifts & Acquisitions | Administrative Page | Digitization
Library Home | Online Catalogs | Resources | Library Information | Services | DAS | UNC Home

Website comments or questions: Nadia Zilper
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/cdd/crs/international/slavic/news/databases.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, June 21, 2006.