On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University Libraries banner
University Libraries banner
Click here to skip header navigation.
Subject Guides

All Research guides

A Guide to East Asian Collections and Services
A Guide to East Asian Collections and Services (last updated: 01/11/2012)   [info]
 
A Guide To Researching The History Of Religion In North Carolina
This subject guide is designed to assist students, teachers, and researchers studying the history of religion in North Carolina utilizing the resources available at the North Carolina Collection in Wilson Library. (last updated: 02/16/2011)   [info]
 
A Guide to Resources on Botanical Illustration
Resources about botanical illustration at UNC Chapel Hill (last updated: 07/08/2011)   [info]
 
Advanced Astronomy
A guide to resources for research in astronomy at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (last updated: 07/08/2011)   [info]
 
Advertisements - Print
Collections of current & historic print advertisements (last updated: 12/21/2010)   [info]
 
Advertisements - Television
Collections of current & historic television advertisements (last updated: 08/17/2011)   [info]
 
Advertising & Consumer Spending
Resources providing data on advertising and consumer spending (last updated: 08/17/2011)   [info]
 
African American Newspapers
Finding African American newspapers in microfilm and online. (last updated: 01/13/2011)   [info]
 
African American Newspapers in North Carolina
This guide lists African American newspapers published in North Carolina from the 19th-century through the present. (last updated: 04/29/2008)   [info]
 
All Art & Architecture Research Guides
Additional research guides created by Sloane Art Library staff on a variety of topics. (last updated: 08/10/2009)   [info]
 
Allied Health Sciences
General guide for all Allied Health disciplines. Links to specific guides for Audiology, Occupational Therapy/Occupational Science, Physical Therapy, Radiologic Science, Rehabilitation Counseling, Sleep Medicine, Speech Language Pathology. (last updated: 01/05/2012)   [info]
 
American Indian Studies: Selected Resources
A research guide to American Indian Studies at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 05/09/2011)   [info]
 
An Introduction to Resources on the History of Native Americans in North Carolina
This bibliography is divided into two sections -- an introduction to general works on Native Americans in North Carolina, and an extensive listing of resources available on the seven tribes recognized by the state of North Carolina. (last updated: 02/01/2008)   [info]
 
Anatomy Resources
Guide to databases, journals, atlases, media and study resources for anatomy. (last updated: 06/06/2011)   [info]
 
Anthropology Resources
A guide to selected resources for research in anthropology at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (last updated: 05/09/2011)   [info]
 
APA Style 6th Edition: Dig yourself out of the confusion
Tutorial created by the UNC Chapel Hill School of Nursing and the Health Sciences Library. (last updated: 08/23/2010)   [info]
 
Art Auctions & Sales
A guide to resources for locating art auction sales information. (last updated: 08/10/2009)   [info]
 
Assessing Social Media Campaigns
Links to resources in assessing use of social media (last updated: 08/25/2010)   [info]
 
Audiology Resources
Guide to databases, journals, books, media and other resources useful to those studying audiology. (last updated: 08/30/2011)   [info]
 
Bioinformatics@HSL
Designed to help researchers identify and access the major databases for bioinformatics research including sequencing, structure, analysis tools, literature databases and resources for genetic, genomic and proteomic data analysis. (last updated: 08/31/2010)   [info]
 
Blacks in Latin American and the Caribbean Research Resources
A research guide to Blacks in Latin American and the Caribbean (last updated: 05/09/2011)   [info]
 
Business Resources
A guide to business information resources at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 07/07/2010)   [info]
 
Chemistry Department Faculty Publications
Chemistry department faculty publications, organized by faculty, division, and year. (last updated: 12/31/1969)   [info]
 
Climate Change: Selected Resources
A guide to selected resources on climate change and global warming (last updated: 01/12/2012)   [info]
 
Clinical Reference
A guide for clinicians to databases, drug information, journals and books. (last updated: 09/07/2010)   [info]
 
Clothing and Dress: Sources and Tools for Research
A guide to resources for the culture and history of clothing and dress (last updated: 05/27/2011)   [info]
 
Coastal Zone Management Research Guide
A self-paced tutorial for researching coastal zone management at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 03/16/2010)   [info]
 
Comparative Literature: Selected Resources
A selective guide for research in comparative literature. (last updated: 02/04/2010)   [info]
 
Computer Science
A guide to resources for research in computer science at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (last updated: 07/08/2011)   [info]
 
Copyright Resources
A guide to UNC resources, U.S. Copyright Office publications and other links to answer copyright questions. (last updated: 05/20/2011)   [info]
 
Dentistry
This guide organizes selected databases, journals, electronic books and web sites useful for dental staff, students and faculty. (last updated: 08/31/2010)   [info]
 
Desegregation of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1930-1955
This bibliography is a guide to materials about the desegregation of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (last updated: 01/13/2011)   [info]
 
Dissertations and Theses in Libraries of UNC Chapel Hill
A guide to locating dissertations and these in the libraries at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and at other institutions worldwide (last updated: 03/01/2006)   [info]
 
E Reference Links: Government Information
Links to government information, by subject, on the internet. (last updated: 04/02/2008)   [info]
 
Earthquakes: Selected Resources
A guide to researching information on earthquakes at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (last updated: 01/12/2012)   [info]
 
Economic Development Research Guide
A guide to researching economic development at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 05/18/2011)   [info]
 
Economics
A guide to selected economics resources (last updated: 08/25/2010)   [info]
 
Education in North Carolina: A Pathfinder
This pathfinder is designed to assist in research on public education in North Carolina while using the North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (last updated: 02/16/2011)   [info]
 
English & American Literature: Selected Resources
A guide to literary research for English and American literature. (last updated: 09/27/2010)   [info]
 
Environmental Planning and Policy Research Guide
A guide to researching environmental planning and policy at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 05/18/2011)   [info]
 
Evidence Based Dentistry
The tutorial defines EBD and explains the process of asking a clinical question and gathering high quality evidence. It covers the Cochrane Collaboration, PubMed Clinical Queries, and setting up current awareness searches. (last updated: 09/09/2010)   [info]
 
Evidence Based Nursing Introduction
This guide serves as an introduction to principles, practice and resources for Evidence Based Nursing. (last updated: 09/07/2010)   [info]
 
Exam Prep Resources. USMLE.
Resources to study & practice for the USMLE, NAPLEX, NBDE, NCLEX, MCAT, PCAT & DAT (last updated: 09/23/2011)   [info]
 
Exercise and Sport Science: Library Resources for Research
Selection of databases and electronic books pertinent to Exercise and Sport Science. Includes how to plan a search and search tips. (last updated: 09/21/2010)   [info]
 
Film Review Resources
A selective guide to both electronic and print resources for finding film reviews. (last updated: 01/12/2009)   [info]
 
Finding Art Songs
A guide to locating art songs at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 06/18/2010)   [info]
 
Finding Bass Music in the Music Library
A guide to locating double bass music at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 04/13/2011)   [info]
 
Finding Book Reviews
A guide to finding book reviews (last updated: 11/07/2008)   [info]
 
Finding Case Studies
Guide to finding business case studies (last updated: 06/06/2011)   [info]
 
Finding Cello Music in the Music Library
A guide to locating cello music at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 08/20/2010)   [info]
 
Finding Clarinet Music in the Music Library
A guide to locating clarinet music in the Music Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 11/18/2009)   [info]
 
Finding Company Financial Information
A guide to finding company financial information (last updated: 11/10/2008)   [info]
 
Finding Flute Music in the Music Library
A guide to locating flute music in the Music Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 02/09/2010)   [info]
 
Finding Guitar Music in the Music Library
A guide to locating guitar music at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 02/17/2010)   [info]
 
Finding Medical & Health Images / Films
Guide to finding images for medical specialities and history of medicine. (last updated: 07/01/2011)   [info]
 
Finding Piano Music in the Music Library
A guide to locating piano music at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 11/09/2011)   [info]
 
Finding Primary Source Documents
This is a selective guide to finding primary source materials for historical research. (last updated: 09/25/2009)   [info]
 
Finding Saxophone Music in the Music Library
A guide to locating saxophone music at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 06/18/2010)   [info]
 
Finding Trumpet Music in the Music Library
A guide to locating trumpet music at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 07/21/2011)   [info]
 
Finding Videos on Aging
A guide to assist NC faculty in aging in finding videos for classroom use. (last updated: 05/09/2011)   [info]
 
Finding Violin Music in the Music Library
A guide to locating violin music at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 12/10/2010)   [info]
 
Geography Research Guide
This guide provides geographers with a starting point for research. It highlights resources available from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Library. (last updated: 03/12/2010)   [info]
 
Geology of National Parks
Print, electronic, and internet resources about the geology of US national parks (last updated: 01/12/2012)   [info]
 
Geology of North Carolina: Selected Resources
A guide to researching information on the geology of North Carolina at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 06/05/2009)   [info]
 
Geriatric Practice
Guide to portals, journals, books, video/dvds, and research for practitioners with geriatric populations. (last updated: 09/09/2010)   [info]
 
Guide to Locating Gerontology Materials in UNC-CH Libraries
A guide to researching basic information on gerontology at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (last updated: 05/09/2011)   [info]
 
Guide to Resources on Edible, Medicinal, Poisonous, or Injurous Plants and Mushrooms
A guide to selected print and online information sources on plants and mushrooms of medical significance. (last updated: 07/08/2011)   [info]
 
Guide to Resources on Endangered Species
A guide for finding research information on endangered species. (last updated: 07/08/2011)   [info]
 
Health Statistics
Guide to health statistics for North Carolina, United States and Global. (last updated: 08/31/2010)   [info]
 
Herbs Subject Guide
A guide to resources on herbs (last updated: 07/08/2011)   [info]
 
History of The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, a Study Guide
The guide lists reference materials on the University of North Carolina and its history. The arrangement of sources is from general to specific. (last updated: 05/13/2011)   [info]
 
Illuminated Manuscripts: Resources and Facsimiles
A guide to using our libraries to study illuminated manuscripts, and to accessing our manuscript facsimile collections. (last updated: 01/11/2012)   [info]
 
Images of Art: Locating & Citing
A guide to locating and citing images of art. (last updated: 02/06/2009)   [info]
 
Interdisciplinary Health Communication
resources for researching health communication (last updated: 08/25/2010)   [info]
 
Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine
A tutorial intended for any health care practitioner or student who needs a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence-Based Medicine. (last updated: 08/31/2010)   [info]
 
Introduction to Photoshop
A tutorial from the Health Sciences Library on how to use Adobe Photoshop 6, but with principles transferrable to other versions and areas of study. (last updated: 03/29/2011)   [info]
 
Introduction to Romance Languages Library Resources
Introduction to Romance Language Resources (last updated: 08/24/2010)   [info]
 
Introductory Astronomy
A guide to introductory astronomy resources at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (last updated: 07/08/2011)   [info]
 
Land Use Research Guide
A guide to researching land use planning at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 03/14/2011)   [info]
 
Latino/a Health for Health Care Providers
A guide to locating resources to health information about and for Latin-Americans at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (last updated: 08/31/2010)   [info]
 
Library Resources for Distance Education Students in Social Work
Library Resources for Distance Education Students in Social Work (last updated: 08/05/2011)   [info]
 
Locating Articles: Art & Art History
An introductory guide to locating citations (and full-text) for art, architecture, and archaeology research (last updated: 08/12/2009)   [info]
 
Mapping Census Data
A guide for those interested in mapping census data using a Geographic Information System (GIS). Provides a listing of pertinent resources available at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (last updated: 12/19/2008)   [info]
 
Materials Science
A guide to research resources for Materials Science at the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill (last updated: 07/08/2011)   [info]
 
Mathematics
A guide to resources for research in mathematics at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (last updated: 07/08/2011)   [info]
 
Media Directories
Contact information for newspapers, journals, and media companies (last updated: 08/17/2011)   [info]
 
Medical Coding
Resources for classification of diseases and mental disorders and procedural and diagnostic coding for healthcare providers seeking insurance reimbursement. Covers IDC, DSM, CPT, DRG, RBRVS, and SNOWMED. (last updated: 09/07/2010)   [info]
 
Medieval Studies: A Selective Guide To Resources
A selective guide for researching Medieval subjects. (last updated: 08/10/2009)   [info]
 
Middle East Studies
Guide for researching the countries, cultures, history, economics, and current events of the Middle East. (last updated: 05/18/2011)   [info]
 
Neurosciences Resources
Guide to databases, books, journals and media for this subject area. (last updated: 08/31/2010)   [info]
 
Newspapers in the UNC-Chapel Hill Collection
A guide to locating newspapers held by UNC-Chapel Hill and beyond. (last updated: 05/07/2010)   [info]
 
Nineteenth Century British Literature: A Selective Guide
A selective guide for the study of 19th century British Literature (last updated: 10/24/2008)   [info]
 
North Carolina Agriculture: A Research Guide
This guide is designed to assist researchers in investigating agriculture in North Carolina. It covers the pre-colonial era to the 20th century and contains subtopics such as women in agriculture, farmers' markets, and the State Fair. (last updated: 02/16/2011)   [info]
 
North Carolina News Online
Links to find NC news online and on microfilm at the University of North Carolina. (last updated: 08/17/2011)   [info]
 
Nursing
Guide for nursing students and faculty that covers key tools to use to find information. (last updated: 08/23/2010)   [info]
 
Nursing Information: Looking for Answers
An overview of key basic concepts and techniques for accessing health information designed to assist nursing students in developing the skills needed for evidence based practice. (last updated: 09/07/2010)   [info]
 
Ocracoke Island, North Carolina: A Research Guide
This guide is designed to facilitate access to information for individuals interested in Ocracoke Island, North Carolina. (last updated: 02/16/2011)   [info]
 
Online Reference Sources for Geological Sciences
A guide to online reference sources for the earth and geological sciences at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 08/23/2010)   [info]
 
Operations Research
A guide to resources in operations research at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (last updated: 07/08/2011)   [info]
 
Peace, War, and Defense Subject Guide
Researching Peace, War, and Defense (last updated: 05/18/2011)   [info]
 
Pharmacy
Guide to drug information databases, books, and journals. (last updated: 08/31/2010)   [info]
 
Physical Chemistry
A guide to physical chemistry resources available at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, as well as freely available internet resources. (last updated: 01/25/2011)   [info]
 
Physics
A guide to resources for research in physics at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (last updated: 07/08/2011)   [info]
 
Play Review Resources
A guide to locating reviews of plays in print and electronic resources available at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 11/19/2008)   [info]
 
Poetry Resources
Poetry Resources (last updated: 11/19/2008)   [info]
 
Private Company Research
A guide to researching private companies (last updated: 07/07/2010)   [info]
 
Provenance Research
An introductory guide to provenance research, the study of ownership of works of art (last updated: 08/10/2009)   [info]
 
Public Health
Guide gathers information sources for specific public health topics and links to guides for each department. (last updated: 09/07/2010)   [info]
 
Real Estate Development Research Guide
A guide to researching real estate development at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 05/18/2011)   [info]
 
Research an Artist
A guide to researching artists. (last updated: 02/06/2009)   [info]
 
Research Guide to Soviet History
Research Guide to Soviet History (last updated: 08/25/2011)   [info]
 
Researching the American South
This provides an overview of resources, both primary and secondary, useful for researching the history and culture of the American South. (last updated: 05/16/2011)   [info]
 
Resources for China Studies
A guide to library and web resources for China studies (last updated: 08/15/2011)   [info]
 
Resources for Chinese Cultural Revolution
A guide to library and web resources for Chinese Cultural Revolution (last updated: 12/31/1969)   [info]
 
Resources for Historical Research: Books and Articles
Resources for Historical Research: Books and Articles (last updated: 11/10/2011)   [info]
 
Resources for Korean Studies
This guide presents selected resources related to Korean studies (last updated: 08/24/2011)   [info]
 
Selected Resouces for Research in Political Science
A guide to political science research at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (last updated: 12/16/2008)   [info]
 
Selected Sociology Resources
A guide to research resources for sociology at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (last updated: 11/19/2008)   [info]
 
Selected Sources for North Carolina Socioeconomic Data and News
This is a guide to sources for (mostly county-level) socioeconomic data with an emphasis on North Carolina. (last updated: 02/15/2010)   [info]
 
Short Story Reviews and Criticism
A guide for finding criticism on individual short stories and on authors, and for locating short stories in anthologies and periodicals. (last updated: 02/04/2010)   [info]
 
Small Business and Entrepreneurship Resources
Selected resources for small business (last updated: 07/07/2010)   [info]
 
Social Work
A guide to resources for research in social work at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (last updated: 05/06/2011)   [info]
 
Spatial Data Online
A guide for locating spatial data on the Web. (last updated: 12/19/2008)   [info]
 
Spectroscopy
A guide to resources for locating IR and Raman, NMR, and UV-Vis spectra. (last updated: 02/03/2011)   [info]
 
Speech-Language Pathology
A guide to the databases, journals, books, media, professional associations, and government websites specific to this Allied Health Sciences discipline. (last updated: 03/29/2011)   [info]
 
Statistics
A guide to resources for research in statistics at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (last updated: 07/08/2011)   [info]
 
Stats Datafinder
A resource for finding statistics and data. (last updated: 05/09/2011)   [info]
 
Streaming Media
Streaming Media available at UNC. (last updated: 10/03/2011)   [info]
 
Streaming Media Resources
A guide to available streaming resources at University of North Carolina hapel Hill. (last updated: 12/09/2009)   [info]
 
Student Protest Movements Of The 1960s And 1970s At The University Of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
This guide identifies books, theses, and archival sources useful in the further study of student activism at UNC-Chapel Hill in the 1960s. (last updated: 02/16/2011)   [info]
 
Television News Archives Online
A guide to finding archived television news programs; some only for UNC CH community, but many free resources included. (last updated: 08/17/2011)   [info]
 
Test Instruments and Measures (HSL)
A guide to locating information on tests and measures used by psychologists and others. (last updated: 08/31/2010)   [info]
 
Tests, Surveys, Measures
A guide to researching information about tests, surveys, and measures at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (last updated: 01/15/2010)   [info]
 
Textile Mills, Mill Villages, And Mill Life In North Carolina: A Sociological Perspective
This finding aid is designed to assist in research on sociological aspects of textile mills, mill villages, and mill life in North Carolina. (last updated: 02/16/2011)   [info]
 
The Industrial History of North Carolina:
This research guide introduces researchers to a selection of the resources available on industrial history in the North Carolina Collection, Wilson Library. (last updated: 08/13/2008)   [info]
 
The Revolutionary Era In North Carolina: A Guide To Sources
This guide will assist researchers studying the Revolutionary era (1763-1789) in North Carolina using materials in the North Carolina Collection, located in Wilson Library. (last updated: 02/16/2011)   [info]
 
Transportation Research Guide
A guide to transportation research at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 05/18/2011)   [info]
 
Voice and Pronunciation Resources
Links to help with pronunciation and dialect (last updated: 08/17/2011)   [info]
 
Web Resources for Planning Students
A guide to various resources on the web for Planning students at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (last updated: 05/12/2009)   [info]
 
 

Website comments or questions: Library Web Team
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/guides/process_all.php
This page was last updated Friday, December 04, 2009.