On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
Old Well icon University Libraries banner
coast, beach

Contact  question icon

Jen Doty
Planning Librarian
Email
919-962-4770

Chat/IM

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the planning library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Carolina BLU   Campus delivery icon

Is the book you need at another library at UNC? Have it delivered to any library location on campus through Carolina BLU.

Browsing Areas book icon

GB 450-460: Coasts

GE 300-350: Environmental Management

HT 165.5-169.9: City Planning

QH 75-77: Nature Conservation, Landscape Protection

General Websites article icon

Coastalmanagement.com
This website, provided by an Australian coastal planning consulting firm, was designed "to help coastal managers find resources to help do their job more effectively, and to keep them up to date on the latest trends in coastal management worldwide."

Office of Ocean and Coastal Resource Management (NOAA)
This website provides information for coastal resource managers, planners, educators, scientists, and others interested in balancing the conservation and development of our nation's coastal, estuarine and ocean resources.

Ocean and Coastal Management in North Carolina
This website from NOAA provides information specific to the state of North Carolina, including resources for several state-wide coastal conservation and development initiatives.

State Websites

Alabama -- Alaska -- California -- Connecticut -- Delaware -- Florida -- Georgia -- Hawaii -- Illinois -- Indiana -- Louisiana -- Maine -- Maryland -- Massachusetts -- Michigan -- Minnesota -- Mississippi -- New Hampshire -- New Jersey -- New York -- North Carolina -- Ohio -- Oregon -- Pennsylvania -- Rhode Island -- South Carolina -- Texas -- Virginia -- Washington -- Wisconsin

Article Indexes and Databases

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Abstracts and citations drawn from thousands of sources including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications. Specific subjects covered include biotechnology, water resources, water pollution, bacteriology, toxicology, population, microbiology, ecology, risk assessment, health and safety science, and natural resources.

National Climatic Data Center Online Document Library
This online source includes databases that cover: Monthly Climatic Data for the World; Storm Data; Local Climatological Data, Edited; Climatological Data; Hourly Precipitation Data, Heating and Cooling Degree Day Data, Climate Maps of U.S., Climatography of the U.S., Climates of the World

JSTOR
JSTOR provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences.

More article indexes and databases
This is a link to a complete list of city and regional planning databases, indexes and research guides available at UNC-Chapel Hill.


More Article Databases |  How Do I Find Articles? | How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text?  | How Do I Distinguish Different Types of Journals?


 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/planning/subjectguides/coast.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, January 13, 2009.