On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
Old Well icon University Libraries banner
cars

Contact  question icon

Jen Doty
Planning Librarian
Email
919-962-4770

Chat/IM

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the planning library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Carolina BLU   Campus delivery icon

Is the book you need at another library at UNC? Have it delivered to any library location on campus through Carolina BLU.

Web Sites

Carolina Transportation Program

Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center

Transportation Research Board

Travel Model Improvement Program

US Department of Transportation

Mecklenburg-Union Metropolitan Planning Organization

Regional Transit Blueprint Gateway

UNC's Highway Safety Research Center

Books book icon

Transit-Supportive Development in the United States: Experiences and Prospects. Cervero, Robert.
Planning Library - HE4451 .C474 1994

Still Stuck in Traffic: Coping with Peak-Hour Traffic Congestion. Downs, Anthony.
Planning Library or Davis Library - HE355.3.C64 D69 2004

The Automobile and the Environment: An International Perspective. Gakenheimer, Ralph, ed.
Davis Library or Law Library - HE305 .O73 1978

Forecasts in Urban Transportation Planning: Uses, Methods, and Dilemmas. Wachs, Martin.
Planning Library - HE4461 .W3237 1985

Transportation Planning. Shiftan Yoram, Kenneth Button, and Peter Nijkamp, eds.
Planning Library - HE193 .T6495 2007

Academic journals article icon

Journal of Intelligent Transportation Systems

Journal of the American Planning Association

Transportation Research Record (sometimes referred to by subtitle Journal of the Transportation Research Board)

Transportation Quarterly

Transportation Research [Part A]

More e-journals
This is a link to a list of city and regional planning e-journals available at UNC-Chapel Hill.

Article Indexes and Databases

National Transportation Library (NTL)
Repository of documents and databases related to transportation from public and private organizations around the country.

Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS)
The primary resource for transportation research, including reports, books, conference proceedings, and journal articles covering literature from the 1960s to the present.

Google Transportation Meta Search
A custom search engine created by transportation librarians that will search only selected quality transportation-related web sites, including state departments of transportation, local transit agencies, metropolitan planning organizations, and university transportation research institutes.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
A bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.

Academic Search Premier
Abstracts & references for articles from more than 1,500 scholarly, trade & general publications, & references for The NY Times.

Expanded Academic ASAP
Provides information from a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics.

More article indexes and databases
This is a link to a complete list of city and regional planning databases, indexes and research guides available at UNC-Chapel Hill.


More Article Databases |  How Do I Find Articles? | How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text?  | How Do I Distinguish Different Types of Journals?


 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/planning/subjectguides/trans.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, June 03, 2009.