University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo

American indian image

Contact  question icon

Alan Unsworth
General Reference Librarian
unsworth@unc.edu
(919) 962-1151
AIM: alaneunsworth

Davis Reference Desk
(919) 962-1151
AIM: DavisRefDesk

Chat requires JavaScript.
Alan is currently offline.

Article Databases  computer icon

Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.

Academic Search Premier
Covers popular and scholarly journal articles with many full-text articles. Academic Search Premier provides information from a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics. [more info]

America, History and Life
An index for North American history consisting of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and book reviews. America, History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. [more info]

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
Early Encounters documents the relationships among diverse peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. This collection allows scholars to see the effect of European cultures on Indians and equally to explore the Indians' contributions to the Europeans. The Indian perspective is recorded in a wide variety of sources, including oral accounts written down by Europeans at the time of contact and afterward, speeches, correspondence, and publications produced by Indians. The collection offers nearly 1,000 prints, drawings, paintings, maps, bibliographies, letters, photographs, and original facsimile pages. [more info]

Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. [more info]

View All American Indian Studies Databases | How Do I Find Articles?  | How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text?


Books book icon

book image Example of an academic book: catalog record for American Indian Constitutional Reform and the Rebuilding of Native Nations / ed. by Eric D. Lemont

Search the UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries' Catalog


One good strategy when you are searching the library catalog is to begin with a simple keyword search to identify one or more relevant books:

Keyword Search: American Indian Constitution

Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the item's Library of Congress (LC) Subject Headings and follow the subject heading links in the catalog to find other, similar books. The LC Subject Headings from the academic book example are listed below.

LC Subject Heading: Indians of North America -- Legal status, laws, etc.

LC Subject Heading: Indians of North America -- Politics and government.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/reference/subjectguides/american_indian_studies/index.html
This page was last updated Thursday, July 31, 2008.