child holding globe

Find info about...

ebrary sample article icon

Search more than 30,000 current e-books, take notes, and highlight right on the screen. [more info]

E-Journal Finder

Search all of UNC's databases for the journal you'd like to read.

Citing citing icon

Citing Information Tutorial

Citation Builder Logo

RefWorks Logo

E-tools for Countries article icon

Data & Statistics

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports and Profiles
Provides comprehensive reports on the latest economic, political, and market conditions in 200 countries worldwide [more info]

International Financial Statistics Online
International Financial Statistics is the standard source of international and country statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. Since 1948, this has provided users with data from 32,000 time series of major economic aggregates used in economic analysis. For most countries of the world, IFS Online provides current data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. [more info]

GMID Euromonitor (Global Market Information Database)
Contains world economic and demographic data, sales of consumer products, forecasts, consumer behavior and lifestyle statistics, and retail trade analysis [more info]

WDI Online (World Bank Group)
Offers statistics on over 550 development indicators from over 200 countries and 18 country groups, from 1960 to present. Covers national economies, population, natural resources, financial matters, and environmental variables [more info]

Data Services at Davis Library
Guides researchers in identifying, evaluating, and accessing numeric data

News Sources

LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to general, regional and international news; company news; legal and financial information, including SEC filings and stock reports [more info]

Global Newsbank
Includes translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government statements from over 1500 international sources [more info]

Factiva
One-stop source for full-text news, general business and industry articles, as well as information on companies and industries; provides headlines from top newspapers and cover stories from leading business magazines [more info]

Off-campus access available only to UNC Chapel Hill faculty, students, and staff.

Selected Websites for Countries  computer icon

Worldwide Governments on the WWW includes world government websites, national and regional institutions, representatives in foreign countries, political parties, and tourism information.

NationMaster.com compiles data from the CIA World Factbook, the UN and OECD. Enables users to do cross-country analysis and generate maps and graphs.

Selected Government Websites computer icon

U.S. Department of State Background Notes cover geography, people, history, government, economy, political conditions, defense, relations with the U.S., travel, and business.

U.S. Department of State Countries and Regions provides links to background information, U.S. embassies and consulates, foreign embassies in the U.S., and chiefs of state of foreign countries.

U.S. Department of Commerce's Country Commercial Guides (Export.gov) are texts of country commercial guides and reports. Free registration required.

U.S. Department of Energy's Country Analysis Briefs cover countries' energy sectors, including production and consumption, energy use patterns, energy industries, and carbon emissions.

More Resources for Countries  computer icon

Country Economic and Financial Info, a selective guide to resources for country economic and financial info. Includes sources for international news and statistics


More article databases |  How do I find articles? | How do I find an article if it's not full-text?

Ask us question icon

Rita W. Moss
Business/Economics Librarian
Davis Library
moss@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

David G. Ernsthausen
Research Support Librarian
Kenan-Flagler Business School
David_Ernsthausen@unc.edu
(919) 962-8749

Davis Reference Desk
(919)962-1151
AIM: DavisRefDesk

Set up a consultation

Chat with us computer icon

Chat requires JavaScript.

Hours | Privacy

More help information icon

Evaluating websites

Distinguish different types of journals

 

E-mail Reference questions to our e-mail reference service
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/reference/subjectguides/business/countries.html
This page was last updated Friday, August 15, 2008.