placeholder image

Find info about...

ebrary sample article icon

Search more than 30,000 current e-books, take notes, and highlight right on the screen. [more info]

E-Journal Finder

Search all of UNC's databases for the journal you'd like to read

Citing citing icon

Citing Information Tutorial

Citation Builder Logo

RefWorks Logo

E-tools for Industries article icon

Articles & Reports

Business Source Premier
Provides comprehensive access to full-text for over 8,800 journals; contains Datamonitor Reports and SWOT analyses Coverage: 1965-present [more info]

IBISWorld Industry Research
A comprehensive source of information and analysis on industries . [more info]

NetAdvantage
A comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Includes S&P's Industry Surveys and Global Industry Surveys, with peer company data and key ratios in Excel downloadable format [more info]

Financial Ratios

ThomsonONE Banker
Provides company descriptions, a deep range of financial information, and key fundamentals for U.S. and international corporations. Use the name/key lookup to find the company's designation. Click on "View Financials" on company report to see profitability, asset utilization, leverage and liquidity ratios. [more info]

Factiva
One-stop source for full-text news, general business and industry articles and general information on companies and industries. To get finanical statistics and reports (including key ratios) for particular companies, click on "company and Markets" then "company," and enter company name. [more info]

Basic Statistics

LexisNexis Statistical
Provides indexing and abstracts from American Statistics Index (ASI, 1973-present), Statistical Reference Index (SRI, 1980-present), and Index to International Statistics (IIS, 1983-present) [more info]

Off-campus access available only to UNC Chapel Hill faculty, students, and staff

Selected Websites for Industries computer icon

General Info

Current Industrial Reports provide monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Codes lists NAICS codes and titles.

Basic Statistics

County Business Patterns contains statistical data on economic activity at the local level (produced by U.S. Census Bureau).

Economy at a Glance provides data sets on the economy at national and local levels (produced by U.S. Department of Labor).

Economic Census profiles American business, from the national to the local level. Data available for 2002, 1997 and 1992.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. includes social, political and economic statistics of American industries.

More Resources for Industries computer icon

Print Resources, a list of key print resources for researching financial ratios. Includes descriptions and locations


More article databases |  How do I find articles? | How do I find an article if it's not full-text?

Ask us question icon

Rita W. Moss
Business/Economics Librarian
Davis Library
moss@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

David G. Ernsthausen
Research Support Librarian
Kenan-Flagler Business School
David_Ernsthausen@unc.edu
(919) 962-8749

Davis Reference Desk
(919)962-1151
AIM: DavisRefDesk

Set up a consultation

Chat with us computer icon

Chat requires JavaScript.

Hours | Privacy

More help information icon

Evaluating websites

Distinguish different types of journals

 

E-mail Reference questions to our e-mail reference service
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/reference/subjectguides/business/industries.html
This page was last updated Thursday, March 20, 2008.