placeholder image

Find info about...

ebrary sample article icon

Search more than 30,000 current e-books, take notes, and highlight right on the screen. [more info]

E-Journal Finder

Search all of UNC's databases for the journal you'd like to read.

Citing citing icon

Citing Information Tutorial

Citation Builder Logo

RefWorks Logo

Investment E-tools article icon

Investext Plus
Delivers full-text reports, complete with charts, photographs and graphics. Users may monitor industry trends, track company financials, and research merger and acquisition opportunities. [more info]

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
A comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Includes S&P's Industry Surveys and Global Industry Surveys, with peer company data and key ratios in Excel downloadable format [more info]

Factiva
One-stop source for full-text news, general business and industry articles, and information on companies and industries; provides front-page headlines from top newspapers and cover stories from leading business magazines [more info]

Morningstar Library Edition
Contains reports on 8,000 stocks and 12,000 mutual funds; Analyst Reports on 1,000 stocks and 2,000 mutual funds; and Morningstar ratings for stocks and funds. Includes tool for examining portfolios' strengths and weaknesses [more info]

Thomson ONE Banker
Provides company information by geographic area, analyst recommendation, index, sector, and investment style. Includes historical stock price data [more info]

Financial Reports

LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to annual reports from 1972 to present [more info]

Osiris
Contains information on over 43,000 companies from over 125 companies, including income statements, balance sheets, ratios, earnings estimates and stock data. Contains graphing capabilities and integral analysis software [more info]

EdgarScan enables users to search EDGAR-SEC filings and download data into Excel.

Annual Report Service provides online annual reports; users may also request free hard copies.

Off-campus access available only to UNC Chapel Hill faculty, students, and staff.

Selected Investment Websites computer icon

Inital Public Offerings

Hoovers Online IPO Central includes IPO news, filings, pricings, statistics, SEC document guide and beginner's guide to IPOs.

Yahoo! Finance IPOs includes calendar and best and worst performers.

Stocks, Bonds & Mutual Funds

Stock and Commodity Exchanges lists exchanges, including future, options, and derivatives. From Rutgers University Libraries

Yahoo! Historical Quotes provides historical quotes and dividend information. Coverage: 1960-present

Exchanges

New York Mercantile Exchange | Kansas City Board of Trade | Chicago Mercantile Exchange | Chicago Board Options Exchange | Chicago Board of Trade | Numa Directory of Futures & Options Exchanges | Stock and Commodity Exchanges

More Investment Resources computer icon

CRB Commodity Yearbook (print and CD-ROM) includes commodity futures and statistics. Location: Davis Library, Reference Desk (most current edition), HC14.C6

Datastream provides commodities, futures, options; real-time and time series; and financial and commodity futures market data from major international markets. Location: Davis Library, Reference; Kenan-Flagler Business School, Computer Lab

Tips for Researching Investments, a list of guides and tutorials for reading financial statements, making personal investments and understanding annual reports


More article databases |  How do I find articles? | How do I find an article if it's not full-text?

Ask us question icon

Rita W. Moss
Business/Economics Librarian
Davis Library
moss@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

David G. Ernsthausen
Research Support Librarian
Kenan-Flagler Business School
David_Ernsthausen@unc.edu
(919) 962-8749

Davis Reference Desk
(919)962-1151
AIM: DavisRefDesk

Set up a consultation

Chat with us computer icon

Chat requires JavaScript.

Hours | Privacy

More help information icon

Evaluating websites

Distinguish different types of journals

 

E-mail Reference questions to our e-mail reference service
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/reference/subjectguides/business/investment.html
This page was last updated Friday, August 24, 2007.