On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
The Floral Gift (c. 1863)




The Floral Gift: An Illuminated Souvenir (c. 1863)
Rare Book Collection
Wilson Library, UNC-CH
Click image for digital format available via Internet Archive.

Contact question icon

Tommy Nixon
Humanities Reference Librarian
tommy_nixon@unc.edu
919.962.1151

Davis Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.

IM us computer icon

davis IM sticker

L.C. Call Nos.

This Library of Congress classification system holds true for any library in the world using the LC system. For example, English language dictionaries will always be classed in the PEs, General literature in the PNs, British literature in the PRs & American literature in the PSs.

Map of Davis Reference

Use this Map to find books in Davis Reference.

Call No. Locations in Davis

Use this Location Guide to find books in Davis.

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

About This Subject Guide

This is a highly selective guide designed for researchers investigating Nineteenth-Century British Literature and closely related studies, such as Romantic, Victorian, and late Eighteenth-Century Literature. Menu headings (at left) lead to consolidated, detailed information on available print and e-resources. (Researchers of more general literary topics may wish to consult the English & American Literature Subject Guide, which is broader in scope.)

FEATURED RESOURCES

computer icon  E-RESOURCES  (Off-campus access to some e-resources is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.)

SECONDARY literature online:
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)
A major index for English language literatures, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. ABELL indexes monographs, periodical articles, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. Some full-text, online critical editions of primary texts are available at ABELL via LION (see below). ABELL has been issued annually, beginning in 1920.

PRIMARY texts online:   LION (Literature Online)
LION constitutes a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English language poetry, drama and prose. It is possible to search the full database, to search for authors individually or collectively, or to search by movement, time period, etc. It is also possible to search Individual Collections within LION (e.g., 19th Century Fiction).

book icon PRINT RESOURCES
Victorian Studies: A Research Guide (2nd ed.)
, by Sharon W. Propas. High Wycombe, England : Rivendale Press, c2006.
Davis Reference DA550 .P76 2006

What Jane Austen Ate and Charles Dickens Knew: From Fox Hunting to Whist: The Facts of Daily Life in Nineteenth-Century England by Daniel Pool. New York: Simon & Schuster, c1993.
Davis Reference PR468.S6 P66 1993; also, circulating copies in Davis and U.L.

Search the UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries' Catalog

   

Catalog | Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat


Researchers' FAQ:

FAQ question icon  How Do I Find Articles?  | How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text?

FAQ question icon  Where can I find art/images/illustrations from the 18th/19th century online (ARTstor, etc.) ?

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/19thc_brit_lit/index.html
This page was last updated Monday, October 27, 2008.