
Menu
Contact 
Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061
Art Library Chat
Interlibrary Loan 
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Art & Art History 
Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.
Art Full Text
Indexing from 1984-present. Full text from 1997 - present. Over 200 international publications on art and art history are indexed monthly.
Art Index Retrospective
The retrospective version of Art Full Text. Indexing from 1929-1984. Updated biannually.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Indexing from 1973 - present. Citations and abstracts, not full text.
Index to Art Periodicals. Art Institute of Chicago, Ryerson Library. (Z5937 .C55 Art Library Reference) Indexes English and Foreign language art publications published in the late 1800's through the 1960's.
African American Culture 
Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.
Black Studies Center
A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more.
It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience,
International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
Black Thought and Culture
An electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major black leaders in North America.
Works by teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures form the corpus.
Ethnic News Watch
A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
International Index to Black Periodicals - Full Text
This searches the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) and The Marshall Index. IIBP includes current and retrospective
bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean,
with full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals. The Marshall Index is a guide to black periodicals from 1940-1946.
General Humanities 
Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
JSTOR
An archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas
studies, and many of the sciences.
MLA International
A major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. MLA International Bibliography is produced by the Modern
Language Association. Index to articles in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from several thousand journals and series published
worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies.
Project Muse
Provides access to the full text of more than 40 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics published
by The Johns Hopkins University Press.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
1890-1982. Provides access to articles chronicling the daily lives and the momentous events of America in the 20th century.
More Article Databases | How Do I Find Articles? | How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text? | How Do I Distinguish Different Types of Journals?
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/AfricanAmerArt/articles.html
This page was last updated Friday, February 27, 2009.
