
Menu
Contact 
Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061
Art Library Chat
Interlibrary Loan 
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Locate Images
AccuNet/AP Photo Archive
1800's-present. A database of approximately 500,000 current and archived photos from the Associated Press's 50 million image print and negative library.
ARTstor
Provides curated collections of art images and associated data for non-commercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use.
The Charter Collection is made up of over 300,000 images. African American Studies in ArtStor (PDF)
African American Visual Artists Database Includes images of art by artists of the African Diaspora and Africa who have lived, worked, studied or exhibited in the U.S., Canada, and the Caribbean. Artists are eligible for inclusion when they have been actively and professionally engaged in the production of works of art for a period of at least 4 years and are at least 21 years old. As of August 2008, the databse included nearly 11,000 artists.
A guide to Locating & Citing Images
Digital images can also be found in the online collections featured in the Archives & Historic Newspapers and Research Centers, Museums and Libraries sections of this guide.
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/AfricanAmerArt/images.html
This page was last updated Saturday, January 31, 2009.
