On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
Old Well icon University Libraries banner
Placeholder image

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Featured Resources 

Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.

Art Full Text
Indexing from 1984-present. Full text from 1997 - present. Over 200 international publications on art and art history are indexed monthly.

African American Visual Artists Database (publicly available) Includes images of art by artists of the African Diaspora and Africa who have lived, worked, studied or exhibited in the U.S., Canada, and the Caribbean. Artists are eligible for inclusion when they have been actively and professionally engaged in the production of works of art for a period of at least 4 years and are at least 21 years old. As of August 2008, the databse included nearly 11,000 artists.

St. James Guide to Black Artists. N40.S78 1997. ART REF Includes biographical information on nearly 400 black artists worldwide, but mostly American, including some from the 19th century. Includes biographical information, exhibition record and museum holdings, and bibliography. A very important and useful work published in conjunction with the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.

Women Artists of Color: a Bio-critical Sourcebook to 20th Century Artists in the Americas. N8354.W656 1999. ART REF. An excellent resource which includes African-American artists as well as Latino, Asian Pacific and Native American. Biographical essay and exhibition, collection lists and bibliography for about 25 artists.

Locate Books 

Many books on African-American art are located in the N6538 section of the library collection.

   

Catalog | Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat

UNC Libraries' online catalog can be searched by author, title, subject, keyword, and call number. Here are a few examples:

Author search: Driskell, David C.

Title search: black art ancestral legacy (omit initial article)

Subject search: african-american art

Keyword search: african american artists

Keyword search: romare bearden

Worldcat To see what books and other materials libraries around the country own related to African American Art, search the Worldcat database. Request materials not owned by UNC Libraries via Interlibrary Services.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/AfricanAmerArt/index.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, February 11, 2009.