
Menu
Contact 
Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061
Art Chat
Interlibrary Loan 
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Art & Art History 
Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.
Art Full Text
Indexing from 1984-present. Full text from 1997 - present. Over 200 international publications on art and art history are indexed monthly.
Art Index Retrospective
The retrospective version of Art Full Text. Indexing from 1929-1984. Updated biannually.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Indexing from 1973 - 2009. Citations and abstracts, not full text.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
For sites, monuments and buildings, such as Great Zimbabwe, Aksum, Djenne, etc. Covers 18th century to present.
African Culture 
Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.
Academic Search Premier
Covers popular and scholarly journal articles with many full-text articles.
Africa-Wide: NiPAD
This database provides access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa, such as articles, books, newspapers, government documents, radio and TV broadcasts, pamphlets, maps, theses, and music recordings. Covers 19th century to present.
International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text
Includes a number of relevant journals such as African Arts.
Quarterly Index to Africana Periodical Literature
Indexes over 300 selected periodicals that are aquired by the Library of Congress. 1991-present, updated quarterly.
Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database (publicly available)
1950's-present.
African Women's Bibliographic Database (publicly available)
1986-present.
General Humanities 
Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences.
MLA International
A major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. MLA International Bibliography is produced by the Modern Language Association. Index to articles in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies.
Project Muse
Provides access to the full text of more than 40 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics published by The Johns Hopkins University Press.
More Article Databases | How Do I Find Articles? | How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text? | How Do I Distinguish Different Types of Journals?
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/AfricanArt/articles.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 05, 2010.
