On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Mask

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Bibliographies  

Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.

Oxford Art Online
Includes the Grove Art Online, an encyclopedia of art, with general introductions to a variety of related topics.

African Ethnonyms: Index to Art Producing Peoples of Africa
Art Reference and Davis Reference GN645 .B53 1996
An aid to navigating the numerous variants in tribal names and places. Includes country index.

The Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art: Worldview, Symbolism, and Culture in Africa, Oceania, and Native North America
Art Reference and Stone Center E98.A7 W49 2000
Actually an A-Z dictionary; includes a useful index.

Monographs on African Artists: An Annotated Bibliography (publicly available)
By Janet L. Stanley, National Museum of African Art Library, the Smithsonian Institution Libraries. Covers 20th and 21st century African artists.

Nigerian Artists: A Who's Who and Bibliography
Art Reference N7399.N5 K46 1993

St. James Guide to Black Artists
Art Reference and Stone Center Reference N40 .S78 1997
Primarily treats American artists, but more than 40 African artists are included, as well as additional artists from the Caribbean and other Diaspora countries, with nearly 400 artists overall.


Additional Sources  

Modern African Art: A Basic Reading List (publicly available)
By Janet L. Stanley, National Museum of African Art Library, the Smithsonian Institution Libraries.

Serials Guide to Ethnoart
Art Reference N5310.7 .B87 1990
Includes information on former titles, publisher, editorial focus, content features, and a relevancy rating on each of almost 700 individual serial titles related to the visual arts of Africa, Oceana and the Americas. Appendices list recommended titles in various categories.


 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/AfricanArt/background.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 05, 2010.