On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Mask

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Featured Resources 

Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.

Art Full Text
Indexing from 1984-present. Full text from 1997 - present. Over 200 international publications on art and art history are indexed monthly.

Africa-Wide: NiPAD
This database provides access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa, such as articles, books, newspapers, government documents, radio and TV broadcasts, pamphlets, maps, theses, and music recordings. Covers 19th century to present.

Monographs on African Artists: An Annotated Bibliography (publicly available)
Compiled by Janet L. Stanley, National Museum of African Art Library, the Smithsonian Institution Libraries. Covers 20th and 21st century African artists.


Locate Books 

Many books on African art are located in the N7380 section of the library collection.

   

Catalog | Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat

UNC Libraries' online catalog can be searched by author, title, subject, keyword, and call number. Here are a few examples:

Author search: Willett, Frank

Title search: Angaza Afrika: African art now

Subject search: african art

Keyword search: contemporary african art

Keyword search: kente cloth

Search Worldcat to see what books and other materials libraries around the country own related to African art. Request materials not owned by UNC Libraries via Interlibrary Services.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/AfricanArt/index.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 05, 2010.