On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Mask

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Research Centers, Museums, & Libraries 

Museums in the U.S. with Collections of African Art
A useful gateway site compiled by the National Museum of African Art's Library.

National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

American Museum of Natural History Anthropology Division
A large searchable collections database of 37,000 objects, many of which were brought to this country by missionaries, explorers and travelers. Searchable by culture, object, country, etc., with images.

Brooklyn Museum of Art, African Art
The Brooklyn Museum was one of the the First American museums to display African objects as art, and is one of the finest in the country, particularly in the art of Central Africa.

The Art Institute of Chicago, African Collection
A noteworthy collection of objects from West, Central and Southern Africa.

Field Museum of Natural History
Very important collection for Madagascar, also Angola, Cameroon, Benin, as well as collections from elsewhere in Africa. Searchable library catalog.

UCLA Fowler Museum of Cultural History
One of the largest and finest collections in the U.S., and one of the top 20 worldwide, for African objects, most notably Yoruba but others as well. A number of Fowler publications are held in the UNC Library system.

School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London
One of the most important centers for the study of Africa. Library catalog and numerous useful links. A major gateway site for Africana research.

SIRIS (Smithsonian Institution) Resarch Information System
The Warren M. Robbins Library at the National Museum of African Art, founded in 1971, is the major resource center in the United States for the research and study of the visual arts of Africa.

Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies at Northwestern University

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture

H-AfrArts: Expressive Cultures of Africa
A refereed, multi- and inter-disciplinary discussion focused on the expressive cultures of Africa and the African Diaspora.

Dak'Art Biennale de l'Art Africain Contemporain


 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/AfricanArt/res.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 05, 2010.