On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Three Flags by Jasper Johns

Menu 

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Bibliographies

Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.

Oxford Art Online
This database is a digital collection of the Grove Dictionary of Art, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. The Grove Dictionay of Art is also available in print in the Art Library (Art Reference N31 .D5 1996).

Who's Who in American Art
Art Ready Reference N6536 .W5

Who Was Who in American Art: Compiled From the Original Thirty-Four Volumes of American Art Annual--Who's Who in Art, Biographies of American Artists Active From 1898-1947
Art N6512 .F26 1985

Jacobsen's Biographical Index of American Artists
Art Reference N6536 .J336 2002
Includes artists native to the United States or working in the United States from 1606 to 2002.

The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists
Art Reference N6505 .M59 2007
Also available as an e-book

American National Biography
Highlights the lives of over 18,000 persons who have been important and influential in the history of the United States, from the early days of European exploration to the present. Also available in print (Davis & UL CT213 .A68 1999).

There are several biographical dictionaries that focus on American artists from a particular state or of a particular heritage; you can find these in the Reference section of the Art Library within the N6505-N6538 call number range.

See also our Guide to Researching an Artist

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/AmericanArt/biographical.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 05, 2010.