On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Christie's

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Online Resources 

Most of these databases are fully searchable only with a subscription, but many do allow partial searches without one.

Artnet.com (Subscription accessed via Art Library computer; inquire at desk.)
Offers sale results for more than 2 million artworks sold through 500 auction houses in 28 countries from 1985 to the present, searchable by artist name, auction house, title, medium, size, price, execution date, and date of sale. Artnet.com also offers a database of more than 38,000 African art sales records from 1927 to the present. These records include works in various media sold internationally through more than 90 auction houses. Both databases are available on the internet by subscription.

Artfact.com (by subscription)
The Artfact website includes a section entitled Auction Features which includes information on auction houses, upcoming auctions, and a database of auction results available by subscription.

Gordon's Print Prices Online (by subscription)
Auction results from 1970 to the present for fine art, vintage photographs, and books and periodicals with original photographs. More than 1.6 million available records in all. Auction results for prints from 1985. See also Gordon's Print Price Annual and Gordon's Photography Price Annual below.

Artvalue.com
Includes Mayer's Guide, a database of 150,000 artists and over 45,000 sales from 950 auction houses 1987 to the present. The site may be used without a subscription, but users are given only minimal information upon entering a query. See also Mayer International Auction Records below

Annual Auction Sales Indexes 

Each issue covers auctions from the previous calendar year

Christie's Review of the Year
Art N8660.C5 A36 (1969-75; 1996-2000)
An annual review of the most important sales at the auction houses of Christie's in London and New York. Continues Christie's Review of the Season. See section on auction houses.

Davenport's Art Reference & Price Guide
Art Ready Reference N8670 .D384 (1999/2000; 2004)
Lists basic biographical and price information on over 250,000 artists. Also includes a signature directory containing over 1,000 signatures of artists before the twentieth century.

Gordon's Print Price Annual
Art NE85 .G67 (some holdings in the Ackland Print Room and in Storage; 1979-1998)
Also available on CD-ROM(1985-2007) - Art CD-ROM 5-7
The most authoritative and comprehensive source for international auctions of prints.

Gordon's Photography Price Annual International
Art Reference TR654 .G670 (2000)
Also available on CD-ROM (1985-present) - Art CD-ROM 5-11

Mayer International Auction Records
Library Storage N8670 .I58 (1995-1996) - select the "Request this item" button on the right-hand side of the catalog record.
Also available on CD-ROM (1994-1998; includes coverage from 1987) - Art CD-ROM 5-8
Over 60,000 sale results arranged alphabetically by artist within chapters devoted to painting, prints, drawings, sculpture and watercolors.

World Collectors Annuary
Art ND47 .W6 (1946-1997)
Covers the sale of paintings, pastels, drawings, gouaches and watercolors in all periods across a limited number of auction houses. Primarily U.S. and Western European houses are addressed, but includes other countries, such as Japan, Israel, Russia, and Sweden for some years.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/ArtAuctions/current.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 27, 2009.