On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Christie's

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Online Resources 

Getty Provenance Index (publicly available)
A crucial database for the study of art collecting practices of past centuries. The databases contain indexed transcriptions of auction catalogs and archival inventories of western European works of art, as well as nearly 1,000,000 records from the late 16th century to the early 20th century.

SCIPIO (Sales Catalogs Index Project Input Online) (Available locally at Duke University Libraries)
Descriptive records of art auction and rare book catalogs for sales from the late sixteenth century to schedule auctions not yet held. Records include the dates and places of sales, the auction houses, sellers, institutional holdings, and titles of works. Updated daily with more than 740,000 records.

Resources in Print 

Art at Auction: A Bibliographical Listing of Nineteenth-Century Canadian Catalogues
Art Reference N8605.C2 F74 2000

Art Prices Current (1928-1973)
Library Storage N8670 .A7 - select the "Request this item" button on the right-hand side of the catalog record.
A record of sale prices at the principal London, Continental and American auction rooms, including Christie's, Manson & Woods, and Wilkinson & Hodge. There is an index to artists and engravers names.

Art Sales from Early in the Eighteenth Century to Early in the Twentieth Century
Art Reference N8675 .G7
In three volumes. Arranged alphabetically by artist then chronologically.

Encyclopedia of Modern Art Auction Prices
Art Reference N6447 .B47
Covers artists since the Impressionists. Gives title, date, dimensions, auction house, and price. In addition it gives a brief chronological summary of artist's career. Covers only artists who had at least one work auctioned for $2,000 or more.

Corpus of Paintings Sold in the Netherlands during the Nineteenth Century
Art Reference ND47 .C67 1998
The first volume contains results from 182 sales held in Amsterdam, Rotterdam, Leiden, The Hague, Delft, and other cities. Includes the results of substantial research on provenance and private collections.

Leonard's Price Index of Latin American Art At Auction
Art Reference N6502 .L46 1999
Covers the past three decades of sales results from all North American auction houses. Objects represent all media and periods. Contains more than 1,000 biographies and brief essays on Latin American art and artists in English. Includes illustrations.

Repertoire des catalogues de ventes
Art Reference N8650 .L8 v.1-4
Aggregates sales from several European auction houses, 1600-1925. Brief entries include date and location of sale, auction house, provenance information, and a selection of libraries in Europe and the U.S. that have the relevant auction catalog. Arranged chronologically by date of sale. Each volume has an index of names of collections.

See also past issues of the annual indexes listed in the Current and Recent Sales section of this guide


 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/ArtAuctions/retrospective.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, April 28, 2009.