On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
Old Well icon University Libraries banner
Image from Flickr, lierne

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Image Databases 

Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.

ARTstor provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. The ARTstor Charter Collection is made up of approximately 300,000 images and associated catalog data. Search the general image gallery or browse one of several specialized image galleries.

AccuNet/AP Photo Archive contains over 500,000 current and historical photos from the Associated Press's print and negative library. Updated daily, this collection features notable figures and images from important events in the 20th century. Includes a few 19th century images as well.

CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online offers rights-cleared, high-quality art images for class projects, art history and studio art programs, course Web sites, lectures, presentations, and research resources.

Oxford Art Online provides access to the entire text of the Dictionary of Art (Grove, 1996, 34 volumes). The Grove contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the arts from prehistory to the present-painting, sculpture, architecture, etc. In addition to its illustrated articles, Grove offers links to excellent online image collections and a search engine that searches thousands of images on museum and gallery websites throughout the world.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is a definitive source of reference biographical information about persons who have had a significant impact on British history. The print edition is now available online, covering over 50,000 individuals. This database includes an image search component for over 10,000 images-an excellent source of images of portraits.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/ArtImages/index.html
This page was last updated Friday, February 06, 2009.