
Menu
Contact 
Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061
Art Library Chat
Interlibrary Loan 
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Gateways to Art Image Websites
Art History: Image Resources
Maintained by Chris Witcombe, Art History Department, Sweet Briar College. Provides links to
art historical image sites, arranged by period.
Image Collections and Online Art
Created as part of Andrew Midkiff's "Mother of All Art History Link Pages," ICOA groups sites by subject and
place: Europe, the Americas, photography, etc. Currently maintained by Patrick Young, Art History Department, University of Michigan.
Major Museum, Library, and University Sites
Ackland Art Museum Collections Search
American Memory Project
American Memory is a digital record of the American experience that
includes 64 collections of photography and prints. Browse by topic,
time period, medium, place, or search the database using keywords
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT)
Art Images for College Teaching is the personal, non-profit project of art historian and visual resources curator
Allan T. Kohl. The images displayed were photographed on location by the author, who consents to their use in any
educational and non-commercial application. The collection ranges from classical to early twentieth-century art.
British Museum:
Collection Database
Currently includes objects from central, east, south and southeast Asia;
ancient Egypt and Sudan; Europe; ancient Greece and Rome; prehistory; the Museum's collection of two-dimensional art.
George Eastman House: Photography Collections Online
Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's website contains a large browseable
online collection of images.
Musei Vaticani
The Vatican Museums website includes sections where users can view
the collections online or take virtual "tours" of the different Vatican
museums. Includes information about the works and the ability to zoom in
on details.
National Portrait
Gallery (UK)
Out of the over 330,000 works of art in the National Portrait
Gallery, its online database contains information on 84,967 works
of art-44,595 of these records contain images. The database can be
searched by sitter, artist or portrait. The site also allows
browsing of the collection by groups and groupings of sitters
(http://www.npg.org.uk/live/pegroup.asp),
subjects and themes (http://www.npg.org.uk/live/petype.asp), and by A to Z listings
of individual sitters (http://www.npg.org.uk/live/search/a-z/sitA.asp) or artists
(http://www.npg.org.uk/live/search/a-z/artA.asp).
National Portrait Gallery(USA) Portrait Search
The Smithsonian's National Portrait Gallery is currently
incorporating digitized images into its NPG Portrait Search database.
Allows searching of over 12,000 records in the database. The NPG
website also allows searching of around 70,000 records in the
Catalog of American Portraits, which is a national survey of
American portraits in collections across the country. A database of
biographical information on 50,000 artists or sitters with links to
related works is also available.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
The Digital Gallery located on this site provides free and open access to over 640,000
images digitized from the New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts,
historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Smithsonian Images
Maintained by the Smithsonian Photographic Services Office,
Smithsonian Images provides access to digital contemporary and
historic images from the collections of the National Museum of
American History Bering Center, National Museum of Natural History,
and National Air and Space Museum.
SPIRO: UC Berkeley's Slide and Photograph Image Retrieval
VADS
An image database based at the Farnham Campus of the University for the Creative Arts (UK) that contains
over 100,000 images of design and the applied arts.
Image Search Engines, Photosharing, and Commercial Sites
Artnet
Artnet is an online gallery network for buying, selling, and researching
artwork online. With more than 150,000 works by over 25,000 artists
from around the globe, artnet includes thousands of full color images.
Search, browse alphabetically by artist, or explore galleries focusing
on specific genres of art.
Google Image Search
Google Image Search indexes millions of images on the web-it provides
a thumbnail of each image as well as the source website for that
image. This is another good way to find images easily, though image
quality does vary.
