On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
Old Well icon University Libraries banner
Sofonisba Anguissola

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Featured Resources 

Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.

Art Full Text
Indexing from 1984-present. Full text from 1997 - present. Over 200 international publications on art and art history are indexed monthly.

Getty's Union List of Artist Names (publicly available)
Each artist record includes biographical information, names (including given names, pseudonyms, variant spellings, married names, etc., with one name flagged as the preferred name), related artists, notes, and citations. Covers antiquity to the present; international in scope.

Oxford Art Online
This database is a digital collection of the Grove Dictionary of Art, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. The Grove Dictionay of Art is also available in print in the Art Library (Art Reference N31 .D5 1996).


Locate Books 

   

Catalog | Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat

UNC Libraries' online catalog can be searched by author, title, subject, keyword, and call number. Here are a few examples:

Author search: Leo Steinberg

Title search: Who's Who in American Art

Subject search: african american artists - biography

Keyword search: William Kentridge

Keyword search: Sofonisba Anguissola

For extra tips on navigating the catalog, see the Finding Books section of this guide.

Search Worldcat to see what books and other materials related to a particular artist are owned by libraries around the country. Request materials not owned by UNC Libraries via Interlibrary Services.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/ArtistResearch/index.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, August 12, 2009.