On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Placeholder image

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Art History Databases 

Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff, unless otherwise noted.

Art Full Text
Indexing from 1984-present. Full text from 1997 - present. Over 200 international publications on art and art history are indexed monthly.

Art Index Retrospective
The retrospective version of Art Full Text. Indexing from 1929-1984. Updated biannually.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexing from 1741-present. the Avery Index now surveys more than 2,500 US and foreign journals. Three-fourths of these are not indexed in any other source. Avery covers the international scholarly and popular periodical literature related to architecture, landscape architecture, and interior design.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Indexing from 1973 - 2009.

Asian Studies Databases 

Bibliography of Asian Studies
Citations to articles published worldwide from 1971 for East, Southeast and South Asia. This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

China Academic Journals - Social Sciences and Humanities
Contains 1,700 journals indexed, mostly Chinese language, beginning with 1979.

More databases...

Humanities Databases 

Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA)
Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA) has been a major reference work for the conservation field; conservators have relied upon the diverse and specialized abstracts contained within the volumes of AATA to locate important information for research and practice.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.

Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

JSTOR
An archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences.

Project Muse
Provides access to the full text of more than 40 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics published by The Johns Hopkins University Press.

Journals on Chinese Art (English) 

This is a selected list of journals that UNC Libraries currently subscribe to.


Archives of Asian Art

Ars orientalis (online subscription)

Arts of Asia

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/China/articles.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 05, 2010.