On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Placeholder image

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

General Sources 

Chinese Art and Architecture: An Annotated List of Recent Works in Western Languages,
in Encyclopedia Smithsonian online (updated 1999).

Dictionary of Chinese and Japanese Art
N7340 .M867 1981 Art Lib Reference. Includes biographical entries.

Oxford Art Online
Includes the Grove Art Online, an encyclopedia of art, with general introductions to a variety of related topics.

Chinese Studies Resources (UNC)

Biographical Sources 

China Artbook
N7345.6 .C47 2007 Art Lib Reference. Includes biographical entries for 80 contemporary Chinese artists.

Dictionary of Chinese and Japanese Art
N7340 .M867 1981 Art Lib Reference. Includes biographical entries.

Dictionary of Ming biography, 1368-1644
DS753.5 .A84 1976 v.1-2 Davis Lib Reference

Eminent Chinese of the Ch'ing period (1644-1912
DS734 .U65 1970 Davis Lib

Modern Chinese artists: a biographical dictionary
N7348 .S85 2006 Art Lib Reference

Sung biographies
DS751.5 .S96 Davis Lib

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/China/ref.html
This page was last updated Thursday, January 20, 2011.