
Menu
Contact 
Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061
Art Library Chat
Interlibrary Loan 
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Locate Articles
Academic Search Premier
Abstracts & references for articles from more than 8,200 scholarly, trade & general publications. A very broad, interdisciplinary index linking to much full text.
L'Annèe Philologique on the Internet
L'Annèe is the current major international bibliography for classical studies. The University of Exeter has an online guide to searching L'Annèe: http://www.library.ex.ac.uk/guides/essentials/anneephil.pdf
Art Full Text
Indexing from 1984-present. Full text from 1997 - present. Over 200 international publicatinos on art and art history are indexed monthly. Especially useful for those who do not read foreign languages.
Art Index Retrospective
The retrospective version of Art Full Text. Indexing from 1929-1984. Updated biannually.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Indexing from 1973 - 2009. Over 2,500 periodicals, art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs are indexed quarterly.
Covers from late antiquity (4th c.) to present but should still be searched as it is the most important database for the history of art. Citations and abstracts, not full text.
Dyabola
Dyabola is a comprehensive international listing of material covering all areas of European and Near Eastern archaeology and philology from prehistory to the Byzantine era, published from 1956 through the present (update frequency varies). Complements L'Annèe but is somewhat challenging to use. UC Berkeley's guide to Dyabola is easy to follow: http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ARTH/dyabola.html
JSTOR
JSTOR provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences.
More Article Databases | How Do I Find Articles? | How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text? | How Do I Distinguish Different Types of Journals?
Key Journals
American Journal of Archaeology (AJA) Full run and current issues are available in print at Davis [CC1 .A6]. Retrospective holdings available online in JSTOR. Abstracts are available on the AJA website (http://www.ajaonline.org/).
Antiquity Issues are located in Davis [CC1 .A7] and online. Check the e-journals database for holdings information.
Archaeology Check the e-journals database for online holdings information. Older print issues are located in Davis [GN700 .A725]
Expedition Check the e-journals database for online holdings information. Older print issues are located in Davis [GN1 .E9]
Hesperia Available online through multiple vendors. Retrospective holdings are available in JSTOR.
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/ClassicalPainting/articles.html
This page was last updated Wednesday, May 05, 2010.
