On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
Old Well icon University Libraries banner
bell krater

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Heather Gendron
Art Librarian
hgendron@email.unc.edu
919-962-1061

Art Library Chat

Chat requires JavaScript. Send an email to the Art Library

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Featured Resources 

The Vase Room in the Sloane Art Library (ask at desk for room to be opened) houses the volumes of the Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum and the works of J.D Beazley. These will be one of your major resources for the study of vase painting, and must be used in the Vase room; they do not circulate. Nearly 250 out-of-print fascicules of the CVA were scanned and are available online via the Beazley Archive website.

Beazley Archive Web site for the major archive at Oxford; includes bibliographies, a dictionary, Beazley's drawings, pottery database, images and bibliography, and many important links.

Perseus Digital Library Another key Internet project with vast information, both text and image.

Locate Books 

   

Catalog | Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat

UNC Libraries' online catalog can be searched by author, title, subject, keyword, and call number. Here are a few examples:

Author search: Stelios Lydakes

Title search: Ancient Greek painting and its echoes in later art

Subject search: Painting, Greek

Keyword search: attic vases

Worldcat To see what books and other materials libraries around the country own related to Ancietn Painting, search the Worldcat database. Request materials not owned by UNC Libraries via Interlibrary Services.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/ClassicalPainting/index.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, September 01, 2009.